Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2015.07.05 14:06 31°C Sunny PeriodsVery Hot Weather Warning
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Multimedia Information - The Mobile App of Multimedia Information System
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
Chamber music concert "Silver, Strings and Ivory"

A host of musicians including Donna Orbovich (flute), Dennis Kim (violin), Zhao Yu (viola), Richard Bamping (cello) and Warren Lee (piano) will harmonise for the chamber music concert "Silver, Strings and Ivory" at 8pm on May 10 (Tuesday) at the Theatre, Hong Kong City Hall.

The programme includes Mozart's "Flute Quartet in D, K. 285", K. Williams' "Quiet Shadows for Solo Flute", Copland's "Duo for Flute and Piano", Martinu's "Trio for Flute, Cello and Piano" and Doppler's "Andante and Rhondo".

Donna Orbovich is the current Assistant Principal Flutist with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra. She has performed with Duluth Symphony Orchestra, the Des Moines Metro Opera Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, Houston Symphony and Lincoln Symphony.

Dennis Kim, one of the youngest concertmasters in the world, is Concertmaster of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, Master in Music from Yale School of Music, and the recipient of Stuart Walker Memorial Award which recognised the most outstanding violist in the graduating class at Yale.

Zhao Yu is a violist of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra. He was a former member of the Aspen Chamber Orchestra, Akron Symphony, Oberlin Orchestra and the Galliard Strings Quartet, and was the viola principal of Honolulu Symphony.

Richard Bamping, the current Principal Cellist of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra since 1993, plays a rare Piatellini cello from Florence which was made in 1790. He served for four years as Principal Cellist with the London Soloists' Chamber Orchestra and the First Pacific Music Festival in Japan chosen by Leonard Bernstein in 1992.

Warren Lee has appeared both as a piano soloist and chamber musician in festivals such as the Ivo Pogorelich Festival in Germany and Taos Chamber Music Festival in the United States.

The concert is presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. Tickets priced at $130 and $90 are now available at all URBTIX outlets. Half-price concessions will be granted to senior citizens, people with disabilities, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients.

For programme enquiries, call 2268 7321; for ticketing enquiries and reservations, call 2734 9009; for credit card telephone bookings, call 2111 5999; for internet bookings, visit ; for more information, visit .

Ends/Monday, April 11, 2005

[News Archive][Back to Top]
Quality Services for Quality Life