Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2015.07.02 16:17 32°C Sunny PeriodsVery Hot Weather Warning
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Multimedia Information - The Mobile App of Multimedia Information System
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
"Harp Duo by Ieuan Jones and Yusuke Yamazaki" coming to HK

"Harp Duo by Ieuan Jones and Yusuke Yamazaki" will be staged on October 18 (Monday) at the Hong Kong City Hall. The recital is presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department.

At the performance, Jones and Yamazaki will perform melodies including Bach's "Concerto in C Minor" (BWV 1060), Mozart's "Larghetto and Allegro in E-flat", Poulenc's "Elgie", Schubert's "Serenade" which are arranged by Ieuan Jones for harp duo, as well as Thomas' "Carmen" and "Souvenir du Nord".

Ieuan Jones is changing our perceptions of the harp. In his hands, this instrument gains a new authority, becoming a medium for passionate, energetic expression. His flair is founded upon a solid basis of technique. Jones tours the world regularly with his harp; he has performed in more than 25 countries, given concerto appearances with some of the world's leading orchestras and has many recordings to his credit. At home in Britain he appears at all of the major venues including Royal Albert Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Queens Hall and Wigmore Hall.

Born in Tokyo in 1961, Yusuke Yamazaki first studied the harp with Josef Molnar. Later he studied under the tutelage of Ayako Shinozaki and Sumire Kuwajima. Yamazaki then furthered his studies in France with Lily Laskine and Chantal Mathieu. In 1998 he gave his premiere performance of the Second Sonata for Flute and Harp of Damase in Tokyo and the Salle Gaveau in Paris. As a soloist, he has performed with the Sapporo Symphony Orchestra, the Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra and the Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra. Earlier this year, he performed Handel's Concerto for Harp and Debussy's Danse Sacre et Danse Profane with the Tokyo Vivaldi Ensemble.

Concert tickets priced at $200 and $100 are now available at all URBTIX outlets. Half-price concessions will be granted to senior citizens, people with disabilities, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients.

For programme enquiries, call 2268 7321; for ticketing enquiries and reservations, call 2734 9009; for credit card telephone bookings, call 2111 5999; for internet bookings, visit ; for more information, visit .

Ends/Monday, September 6, 2004
[News Archive][Back to Top]
Quality Services for Quality Life