Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.04.24 17:37 22°C Light Rain
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: July
 
Stanley Main Beach temporarily closed
*************************************

The Leisure and Cultural Services Department has temporarily closed Stanley Main Beach following the discovery of a small shark carcass outside the shark prevention net today (July 11). The shark flag and red flag have been hoisted and swimmers are requested not to swim in that beach.

The department's contractor responsible for checking the shark prevention net found the dead shark entangled outside the shark prevention net during a routine inspection this morning. The shark prevention net is intact. Lifeguards immediately asked swimmers at the beach to leave the water.

The department has requested the Government Flying Service to conduct searches, and asked the Marine Police to pay particular attention to possible shark presence during vessel patrols. Sonar has been used to scan the swimming zone bounded by the shark prevention net to check if there are big fish within the swimming zone. The beach will be reopened after it is confirmed that no big fish is in the swimming zone bounded by the shark prevention net. Swimmers are yet reminded to swim inside the swimming zone when the beach is reopened.

Shark flags have also been hoisted at the other nine gazetted beaches managed by the department in the Southern District to warn swimmers, who are also reminded to swim within the swimming zone bounded by the shark prevention net. The nine beaches are Deep Water Bay Beach, Repulse Bay Beach, Middle Bay Beach, South Bay Beach, Chung Hom Kok Beach, St.Stephen's Beach, Big Wave Bay Beach, Shek O Beach and Turtle Cove Beach. Staff of the beaches in the New Territories have also been reminded to stay alert.

The shark prevention nets have been effective since their installation at gazetted beaches. The department will post notices and continue to make regular broadcasts of water sports safety messages at gazetted beaches to remind swimmers to swim within the swimming zones bounded by the shark prevention nets.

Following the sighting of sharks in Sai Kung by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, water sports activities at the Stanley Main Beach Water Sports Centre, St. Stephen's Beach Water Sports Centre, the Jockey Club Wong Shek Water Sports Centre and Tai Mei Tuk Water Sports Centre of the department have been suspended.

Ends/Wednesday, July 11, 2007
NNNN
 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 11 July, 2007

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.12.18 12:08 15°C 多雲紅色火災危險警告寒冷天氣警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2007.jpg
七月
康文署暫時封閉赤柱正灘
***********

  由於今日(七月十一日)在赤柱正灘泳灘的防鯊網外發現一條幼鯊的屍體,康樂及文化事務署(康文署)暫時封閉該泳灘,並懸掛鯊魚旗和紅旗,提醒市民勿在該泳灘游泳。

  為康文署檢查防鯊網保養工作的獨立承辦商今日上午在赤柱正灘泳灘進行例行檢查時,發現一條死去的幼鯊被阻隔於防鯊網外,而防鯊網是完整的。當值救生員接獲通知後即時要求泳客上水,並要求岸上的泳客不要下水,以策安全。

  署方隨即通知飛行服務隊進行搜索,並通知水警在海面巡邏時加以留意。署方亦安排以聲納探測整個防鯊網內的泳區,確保泳區內沒有大魚或疑為大魚的生物。在確定泳區內沒有疑為大魚的生物後,泳灘將會重開,但泳灘重開後游泳人士應繼續留在防鯊網範圍內游泳。

  康文署亦已在南區其餘九個有救生服務的泳灘懸掛鯊魚旗,提醒市民在該等泳灘附近發現鯊蹤,呼籲泳客游泳時要留在防鯊網範圍內。該九個泳灘是深水灣泳灘、淺水灣泳灘、中灣泳灘、南灣泳灘、舂坎角泳灘、聖士提反灣泳灘、大浪灣泳灘、石澳泳灘和龜背灣泳灘。而其他在新界的泳灘,亦已加強戒備。

  自從本港泳灘安裝防鯊網以來,防鯊網一直運作有效。本署會繼續經常於泳灘作出廣播,並張貼告示,呼籲泳客於防鯊網範圍內游泳,以策安全。

  自漁農自然護理署在西貢附近發現鯊魚蹤跡後,康文署已暫停轄下賽馬會黃石水上活動中心、大美篤水上活動中心、赤柱正灘水上活動中心及聖士提反灣水上活動中心的水上活動。




二○○七年七月十一日(星期三)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群