Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.25 12:34 26°C Cloudy
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
en/press/2007.jpg
February
Third generation artificial turf pitches cater for public demand and soccer development
***************************************************

The Leisure and Cultural Services Department has opened up five third generation artificial turf soccer pitches to meet the keen demand for soccer pitches and tie in with the development of soccer in Hong Kong.

Acting Assistant Director of Leisure and Cultural Services (Leisure Services) Mr Richard Wong said that the third generation artificial turf soccer pitches were well received by the public and more such pitches would be provided by the department.

The five third generation artificial turf soccer pitches are located in Happy Valley Recreation Ground, Wong Chuk Hang Recreation Ground, Morse Park and Kowloon Tsai Park. They were all converted from natural grass soccer pitches and have come into use during this month and last month.

Mr Wong said the department had plans to convert some of the existing natural grass soccer pitches into the third generation artificial turf soccer pitches in phases. The third generation artificial turf would also be used at other new venues in future, he said.

"The third generation artificial turf soccer pitches will help cater for the demand for soccer pitches and the development of the sport. The number of sessions offered by an artificial turf pitch is about four times more than that offered by a natural grass pitch. It is because the artificial turf pitches are not affected by weather, and they wear better than natural turf."

The growth of natural grass was vulnerable to external factors such as climate, sunshine, and rainfall. A natural grass soccer pitch would suffer from wear and tear in varying degrees each time it was used and the maximum number of sessions offered by each natural grass soccer pitch was only about 60 per month. An artificial turf soccer pitch would not be affected by weather and the number of sessions offered was up to 270 per month.

"When compared to a natural grass pitch, the maintenance cost for an artificial turf pitch is lower. It is also more environmental friendly as no insecticide, herbicide or chemical fertiliser is used," Mr Wong said.

A third generation artificial turf soccer pitch consists of a special fibre base planted with artificial turf and filled with sand and rubber granules. It is also similar to natural grass in terms of texture, ball bounce and speed. It is suitable for use in soccer games, and conforms to the FIFA standards on artificial turf. It is used for soccer training and games in some European countries.

The department built the third generation artificial turf pitches in consultation with the Hong Kong Football Association to meet the requirements for soccer development and training.

There are 11 third generation artificial turf soccer pitches managed by the department. The first one in use was pitch No. 1 in Kowloon Tsai Park which was opened in May, 2003. The usage rate is around 90% in average and 100% during peak hours.

Mr Wong said the department was considering converting seven natural grass pitches into the third generation artificial turf pitches and works were expected to begin by the end of the year.

Ends/Saturday, February 24, 2007
NNNN
[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.11.22 03:01 21°C 大致多雲
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2007.jpg
二月
第三代人造草地足球場滿足需求配合足運發展
********************

  為滿足市民對草地足球場的殷切需求,同時配合足球運動發展,康樂及文化事務署(康文署)最近開放五個第三代人造草地足球場供市民使用。

  康文署署理助理署長(康樂事務)黃達明表示,鑑於市民對使用第三代人造草地足球場的反應理想,康文署將陸續提供更多第三代人造草足球場。

  五個新投入服務的第三代人造草地足球場分別位於跑馬地遊樂場、黃竹坑遊樂場、摩士公園和九龍仔公園,全部由天然草地足球場改建而成,分別於上月底和本月開放供市民使用。

  黃達明表示,康文署已計劃逐步將部分現有的天然草地球場改建成第三代人造草地足球場,並會在新落成的場地中提供更多的這種人造草地足球場。

  他說:「第三代人造草地足球場更能切合市民對草地足球場的需求和足球運動發展的需要。由於它不受天氣影響,加上耗損較少,每月可供使用的節數比天然草地足球場多出四倍。」

  黃達明闡釋,天然草的生長易受客觀因素如天氣、日照和降雨量等影響,加上使用後會造成耗損,故現時每個天然草足球場每月最多只可以開放約六十節,以維持草地的質素。相對人造草地足球場因不受天氣影響,每月可用場數多達二百七十節。

  他說:「相對於真草足球場,人造草地足球場的損耗較少,故維修費用更便宜;加上無須使用殺蟲劑、除草劑或化學肥,故更為環保。」

  第三代人造草地是把人造草植入特別纖維基底,並加入沙粒和橡膠粒,不論在質感、足球回彈和速度方面都與天然草很接近。這種人造草皮十分適合足球運動,並符合國際足協人造草地足球場的標準,不少歐洲國家都開始使用作為足球訓練和比賽場地。

  康文署經諮詢香港足球總會的意見,建造第三代人造草地足球場,確保符合足球運動發展和訓練的需要。

  現時康文署在全港共有十一個第三代人造草地足球場。首個改建的第三代人造草地足球場為九龍仔公園一號球場,於二○○三年五月開放使用,現時平均使用率接近九成,繁忙時間更高達百分之一百。

  黃達明說,康文署正計劃改建七個天然草地足球場,工程預計於年底陸續展開。



二○○七年二月二十四日(星期六)
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群