Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.26 07:09 28°C Sunny Intervals with Showers
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: November
 
East-West fusion dance pieces "city:zen" and "Exit No Exit"
******************************************************

An eye-opening collaboration between British-Indian choreographer Shobana Jeyasingh and local choreographer Mui Cheuk-yin brings together top talents from the Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company (UK) and the City Contemporary Dance Company, presenting a world premiere "city:zen", a thought-provoking exploration of East-West fusion.

Completing the show is Shobana's signature piece "Exit No Exit". Blending Indian classical dance with contemporary dance style, it is set in a visually stunning dimension, characterised by multimedia images and a computerised score by iconic composer Michael Nyman.

"city:zen" and "Exit No Exit", performed in one show, is one of the programmes of the New Vision Arts Festival presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. It will be staged at 8pm tomorrow (November 10), Saturday and Sunday (November 11 to 12) at Hong Kong Cultural Centre Studio Theatre.

"city:zen", a commissioned programme of the festival, is a Chinese/Indian crossover narrative that showcases two distinctive styles and identities bound together by a shared passion for honesty and power.

Home-grown talent Mui Cheuk-yin and London-based Shobana Jeyasingh see two sets of dancers creating and rehearsing simultaneously in two different locations. Renowned for their articulate use of trans-cultural body language, each award-winning choreographer will draw from their unique vocabulary to produce an unprecedented dance work.

In "Exit No Exit", signature piece of avant-garde choreographer Shobana Jeyasingh, a central character, propelled by furious energy, seems unable to escape the boundaries of a beautiful world bathed in rich, watery colours and reflected in Michael Nyman's lyrical score played live on bass clarinet.

The Guardian described "Jeyasingh's dance jangles with an urgent and infectious city energy"; Evening Standard appraised the dance work as "Choreographically ingenious and visually stunning".

Born in Chennai, India and now living in London, Shobanna Jeyasingh has produced numerous dance works for stage, theatre and television. She was awarded a London Dance and Performance award in 1988, received three Digital Dance Awards and, in 1993, an Arts Council Women in the Arts Project award in acknowledgement of her valuable contribution to the arts over the past decade.

Mui Cheuk-yin became an independent choreographer/ dancer/ teacher in the 1990s. Under the auspices of Asian Cultural Council, she took part in the International Choreographer's Programme at the American Dance Festival. Mui is an internationally renowned solo artist and has been invited to many international arts festivals. She was named the "Dance Ambassador" (2000) and awarded the "Hong Kong Dance Awards 2001" by the Hong Kong Dance Alliance.

Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company, founded by Shobana in 1988, has received numerous awards, including Digital Dance Awards and London Dance and Performance award. The Company tours throughout Britain and has visited major European and North American festivals.

City Contemporary Dance Company, founded by Willy Tsao in 1979, has since become Hong Kong's most active promoter of modern dance and contemporary culture. The company has toured over 30 major international cities.

Tickets for "city:zen" and "Exit No Exit", priced at $240 and $120 are available at URBTIX outlets. Half-price tickets are available for full-time students, senior citizens, people with disabilities and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. Group booking discounts are up to 20% off.

A post-performance talk will be given on Saturday (November 11).

For programme enquiries, call 2370 1044.

Ends/Thursday, November 9, 2006
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 9 November, 2006

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.31 12:17 27°C 間有陽光
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2006.jpg
十一月
舞作《迷走雙城》《出走沒路》探索東西文化挑戰視聽感官
**************************

  英國印裔著名編舞家修芭娜•嘉亞辛(Shobana Jeyasingh)與本地編舞家梅卓燕首度合作編舞,並由英國修芭娜•嘉亞辛舞團和香港的城市當代舞蹈團同台演出,進行一次東西文化脈絡的藝術探索,帶來世界首演的《迷走雙城》。

  同場另一齣修芭娜•嘉亞辛的代表作《出走沒路》,將印度傳統和英國當代舞蹈共冶一爐,加上著名音樂家米高•尼文的新編現場音樂,構成一齣挑戰視聽感官極限的舞蹈傑作。

  《迷走雙城》及《出走沒路》為「新視野藝術節」節目之一,由康樂及文化事務署(康文署)主辦,於十一月十至十二日(星期五至日)晚上八時,在香港文化中心劇場舉行。

  《迷走雙城》是康文署委約創作的節目;在香港成長的本地編舞家梅卓燕,與以倫敦為家的修芭娜•嘉亞辛同樣擅於以東方身體衝擊西方文化,兩位編舞家為《迷走雙城》創出新的製作模式和編舞大法──兩地同步排練,先耍盡自己看家本領,為兩個繽紛城市編造雙城記,再遙距控制互相演繹再翻編,看似是舞台上競技較量,實則卻是以最真誠的自我舞蹈身份,互相引證出一條對照兩位編舞家心路歷程的雙「情」路。

  至於修芭娜•嘉亞辛的代表作《出走沒路》,則一如名字般充滿緊湊張力,舞者快速進出舞台,漸變成層次極端多重的互相抗衡困獸鬥,配以米高•尼文的現場音樂,加上仿如激光閃爍的錄像投射與舞者凌厲矯健的身手,帶領觀眾走進想像無限的視聽境界。

  《衛報》形容「嘉亞辛的舞作迸發一種刻不容緩、極具感染力的城市能量」;《標準晚報》讚賞她的「編舞創新,視覺震撼」。

  修芭娜•嘉亞辛生於印度珍奈,現居於倫敦,曾替舞台、話劇及電視製作了無數舞蹈,歷年來贏過不少獎項,自1988年贏得倫敦舞蹈與表演獎以來,已三度獲頒數碼舞蹈獎,1993年成為藝術局「婦女參與藝術計劃」獎項的得主,表揚她在過去十年對藝術的貢獻,1995年獲英國政府頒授員佐勳章,表揚她在舞蹈方面所作的服務。

  梅卓燕於1990年成為獨立舞蹈工作者,曾獲亞洲文化協會資助赴紐約學習,接觸即興及後現代舞蹈技巧,並獲邀參加美國舞蹈節國際編舞營。回港後為香港舞蹈團及城市當代舞蹈團編舞,近年以獨舞家身份應邀赴比利時、里斯本、倫敦、柏林、巴黎、紐約等城市藝術節表演獨舞創作,她於2000及2001年連續兩年獲香港舞蹈聯盟頒發「舞蹈年獎」,以表揚她在海外作為香港文化大使的貢獻。

  修芭娜•嘉亞辛舞團自1988年由修芭娜•嘉亞辛創立以來,曾獲頒多個獎項,包括數碼舞蹈獎、倫敦舞蹈與表演獎。多年來,舞團已走遍英國演出,舞蹤且及歐洲和北美的大型藝術節。

  城市當代舞蹈團於1979年由現任行政總裁暨藝術總監曹誠淵創辦,是香港首個全職專業現代舞團,以體現香港當代文化及推動現代舞蹈發展為宗旨。舞團先後代表香港在美洲、歐洲、澳洲及亞洲共三十多個主要城市進行巡迴演出,備受國際藝壇重視。

  《迷走雙城》及《出走沒路》票價分二百四十元及一百二十元,門票於各城市電腦售票處發售。全日制學生、高齡人士、殘疾人士及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士可獲半價優惠。團體訂票優惠高達八折。

  十一月十一日演出後設有演後藝人談。

  節目查詢可致電23701044



二○○六年十一月九日(星期四)
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群