Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.21 15:12 30°C Sunny Periods
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
en/press/2006.jpg
October
LCSD apologises to guardians of participants in slogan competition
******************************************************

The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) has written to the guardians of participants in the 2009 East Asian Games Slogan Competition apologising for a situation in which some particulars of individual guardians were at one time accessible through searches on the Internet.

The department ran the 2009 East Asian Games Slogan Competition from October 19 to November 30, 2005. To make it convenient for participants to submit their slogans, the department engaged a computer service contractor to design and provide a computer program for submission of entries through the Internet. To allow participants to change their contact information, the department on November 15 added onto the relevant website a program for editing of personal data. By keying in their Identity Card numbers and entry reference numbers, participants could log in to their respective personal data pages and make changes.

For the purpose of verifying participants' eligibility and contacting them, participants in the competition were required to provide personal particulars including name, date of birth, Identity Card number, contact telephone number, correspondence address and email address. Since the creation of the slogans involved copyrights, participants under the age of 18 were required to provide the particulars of their guardians in addition to their own.

The department was first informed on May 6 this year that if the guardians particulars (or part of the particulars) submitted by some of the participants were entered by someone surfing the Internet for searching through Google's search engine, the search results might include the guardians' name, date of birth and Identity Card number, while other data submitted in connection with the competition would not be displayed.

Upon receiving this information, the department immediately asked Google to remove all the relevant data from its search engine. The removal was completed on May 8. Afterwards the department ascertained that the concerned data could no longer be searched for and viewed through Google's search engine. The department also tried searching for the data through other widely used search engines and found nothing.

"The department has contacted Google and asked it to check its records to ascertain whether the concerned data had been viewed, and, if so, how many times. We have received no response so far," a department spokesman said.

"As we have yet to receive a response, we decided to inform those who have possibly been affected."

"We apologise sincerely for the incident," the spokesman said.

"According to information we now have, out of the 3,424 guardians concerned, two guardians' Chinese name, date of birth and Identity Card number have been viewed through Google, as were two other guardians' Chinese and English name and date of birth. We have no information that the other 3,000 or so guardians' data submitted in connection with the competition have been viewed through this channel. However, as a prudent measure, we also informed them about the incident at the same time.

"We have also studied the incident with the Police. In the Police's opinion, the possibility of the data involved in this incident to be used for illegal purposes is not high. Nevertheless, we suggest that those who may have been affected should seek help from the Police if they suspect that their personal data have been used for illegal purposes," he said.

After learning about the incident, the department thoroughly examined all its computer systems that handled personal data and ascertained that there were no similar data security problems.


Ends/Wednesday, October 4, 2006
NNNN

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.09.01 16:08 32°C 間有陽光酷熱天氣警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2006.jpg
十月
康文署致函向東亞運動會口號創作比賽參賽者監護人致歉
*************************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)日前發信予「2009東亞運動會口號創作比賽」參賽者的監護人,就個別監護人的資料曾一度可在互聯網上被搜尋得到一事,向他們致歉。

  康文署於2005年10月19日至11月30日舉行2009東亞運動會口號創作比賽。為方便參賽者提交參賽作品,署方聘請電腦公司設計及提供電腦程式,讓參賽者可透過互聯網提交參賽口號。為方便參賽者更改聯絡資料,署方於2005年11月15日在有關網頁中加入更改個人資料程式。參賽者在輸入其身份證號碼及參賽編號後,便可登入其個人資料版面,進行更改。

  康文署為核實參賽者的參賽資格及聯絡之需要,參賽者須提供其個人資料,包括姓名、出生日期、身份證號碼、聯絡電話號碼及地址和電郵地址。由於創作涉及版權,年齡未滿18歲的參賽者除須提供本人資料外,亦須提供其監護人的資料。

  康文署在今年5月6日首獲通知,在透過Google搜尋器瀏覽互聯網時,如輸入部份參賽者已提交的監護人資料(或有關資料的部份),搜尋器列出的結果中可能包括參賽者監護人的姓名、出生日期及身份證號碼,但其他遞交的參賽資料則不會被列出。

  康文署在接獲通知後即時採取行動,要求Google在其搜尋器中移除有關資料,該移除工作已於5月8日完成。 此後康文署發現再不能透過Google搜尋器搜尋到該些資料。康文署亦嘗試以其他流行搜尋器搜尋該些資料,並沒有任何發現。

  康文署發言人說:「本署已聯絡Google要求翻查其紀錄以確定有關資料有否被人瀏覽,以及曾被瀏覽的次數,藉此確定其影響,至今我們仍未收到答覆。」

  「因此,我們決定不再等待Google的回覆,而把有關情況通知可能受影響的人士。」

  「署方就此事件衷心表示歉意。」

  「據我們現時所能掌握到的資料,所涉及的3,424名監護人中,有兩名參賽者監護人的中文姓名、出生日期、及身分證號碼及另外兩名參賽者監護人的中英文姓名及出生日期曾透過Google被瀏覽。至於其他三千多名監護人,我們沒有任何資料顯示他們的參賽資料曾被人透過Google瀏覽過。無論如何,為審慎處理是次事件,我們亦將有關情況一併通知了他們。」

  「我們亦曾與警方研究。警方認為是次事件所牽涉的資料被用作不法用途的可能性不高,但我們仍向有可能受影響的人士建議,如他們懷疑個人資料因是次事件而被用作不法用途,他們應向警方尋求協助。」

  署方在知悉事件後已全面檢查署內現行所有處理個人資料的電腦系統,確定並沒有出現類似的資料保安問題。



二○○六年十月四日(星期三)
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群