Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.30 02:54 29°C Mainly FineVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: December
 
Public safety is LCSD's prime concern
*************************************

Public safety is the prime consideration of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) in considering requests to erect temporary structures in its venues to facilitate public gatherings, an LCSD spokesman said today (December 11).

Hence, it has been the established policy of LCSD to require hirers of its venues for non-designated uses to take out third party liability insurance and provide certification of structural safety to cover the erection of temporary structures, according to the spokesman.

The Hong Kong People¡¦s Alliance on World Trade Organization (HKPAWTO) has earlier requested to erect tall temporary structures inside Victoria Park for its MC6 related public activities.

¡§Due to the prime consideration of public safety, we have been actively liaising with HKPAWTO in the past few weeks to address the public safety requirements.

¡§After repeated negotiations with HKPAWTO, they have finally agreed to take the following measures to reduce the risk to the minimum: The height of the public address system towers will be lowered and the towers will be fenced off with stationed marshals monitoring the structures. The structured backdrop for the stage will be replaced by a banner. Sculptures will be laid down horizontally on the ground.

¡§HKPAWTO has also just advised that the Danish sculptor has acquired a third party liability insurance policy for the sculptures. Upon verification of the scope of the insurance policy and certification of the structural stability of the sculptures, approval may be given for these sculptures to be erected upright. Given the circumstances and the measures taken by HKPAWTO, we consider that the public safety angle has been addressed,¡¨ the spokesman concluded.


Ends/Sunday, December 11, 2005
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 11 December, 2005

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.12.19 17:32 14°C 微雨寒冷天氣警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2005.jpg
十二月
公眾安全為康文署首要考慮
************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)發言人今日(十二月十一日)表示,署方處理在轄下場地公眾集會豎立臨時構築物的申請時,公眾安全是首要的考慮因素。

  發言人指出,康文署的既定政策是要求租用該署場地作非指定用途的機構購買公眾責任保險,及提供證明豎立該等臨時構築物安全的文件。

  民間監察世貿聯盟較早前要求在維多利亞公園(維園)內,就它主辦有關世貿會議的公眾集會豎立大型臨時構築物。

  發言人說﹕「由於保障公眾安全是我們的首要考慮,過去多星期以來,我們一直與民間監察世貿聯盟保持緊密聯繫,以滿足公眾安全方面的要求。」

  發言人續說﹕「經過不斷的磋商,民間監察世貿聯盟最終同意採取以下措施以盡量減低風險﹕減低音響系統台架的高度,以屏障圍起這些台架,及以糾察駐守,以監察情況。此外,又會以背幕取代舞台背景版,而雕塑則平放於地上。」

  發言人說:「民間監察世貿聯盟剛向我們表示,丹麥雕塑家已為其雕塑購買公眾責任保險,一俟證實保單範圍及雕塑結構安全,我們或會准許主辦單位豎立雕塑。鑑於現時的情況及民間監察世貿聯盟所採取的措施,我們認為公眾安全問題已得到處理。」




二○○五年十二月十一日(星期日)
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群