Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.29 22:46 29°C Mainly FineVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: October
 
LCSD's Response to the Opinion of a Concern Group on Water Quality of Public Swimming Pools
*****************************************************

The following is a statement issued by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) in response to the opinion of a concern group on the water quality of public swimming pools:

The Department endeavours to provide a clean and hygienic swimming pool environment for the enjoyment of the public. In establishing the parameters in monitoring water quality of public swimming pools, the Department has made reference to the ¡§Guidelines for Safe Recreational-Water Environments: Swimming pools, spas and similar recreational-water environments¡¨issued by the World Health Organization (WHO) and in consultation with the Department of Health.

Acting on the guidelines, the Department strictly and regularly monitors the turbidity, bacterial content, free residual chlorine level and pH value of the pool water.

The Department tests the combined chlorine level of the pool water annually. Past results showed that the content has been less than 0.1 parts per million (ppm). According to the ¡§Guidelines for Safe Recreational-Water Environments: Swimming pools, spas and similar recreational-water environments¡¨issued by the WHO, Trihalomethane (THM) or Chloroform is not one of the parameters to be monitored. The content of this chemical found in pool water is extremely low. It will also be disintegrated in the disinfection process.

The Department has been monitoring the Oxidation and Reduction Potential (ORP) of the pool sterilization system and maintaining the level between 750 to 800 millivolts to ensure the efficiency of the system. In accordance with the Swimming Pools Regulation, the turbidity of pool water is kept at 5NTU or below and the standard is monitored weekly. The free residual chlorine level adopted for the public swimming pools meets the standards recommended by the¡§Guidelines for Safe Recreational-Water Environments: Swimming pools, spas and similar recreational-water environments¡¨issued by WHO and it is monitored on hourly basis.

To enhance the management of public swimming pools, the Department has set up an interdepartmental body - the Steering Committee on the Management of Public Swimming Pools in November last year. Representatives from Department of Health, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, Architectural Services Department, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and Agricultural, Fisheries and Conservation Department serve as members of the committee. Two experts: Professor Yuen Kwok-yung, Head of the Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Medicine of the University of Hong Kong, and Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong, Council Member of the Hong Kong Institute of Engineers, serve as advisers. The committee aims to monitor the pool water quality, environmental hygiene and cleanliness, as well as the usage of the facilities.

In accordance to the recommendations made by the Steering Committee, the Department has implemented a series of proactive measures to upgrade the hygiene and cleanliness of public swimming pools, as well as to step up the monitoring of pool water quality.

These measures include strictly conducting daily cleansing operations and carrying out thorough cleansing weekly, increasing the frequency of tests on bacterial content and turbidity on a weekly basis.

A set of rules and regulations has also been introduced for using public swimming pools. Staff are reminded to conduct thorough patrolling at the pools and the surrounding areas. Special attention is paid to potential mosquitoes breeding grounds.

Besides, publicity and education efforts have been stepped up to urge the public to observe the rules for keeping swimming pools clean. Before entering the pool deck, swimmers are reminded to take a shower to clean their bodies thoroughly in the changing rooms, and walk through the shower bath and footbath. They are advised not to swim after a full meal and should use the toilet facilities if necessary before swimming.

In order to increase the degree of transparency and allow people to know more about the water quality and hygiene level, notices have been put up at the entrance of every public swimming pool showing details of the respective water sample tests. The public may also browse the Department's website at http://www.lcsd.gov.hk for the information.

An opinion survey conducted from June to August this year at 36 swimming pools managed by the Department revealed that over 70 percent of some 7,400 randomly selected respondents were satisfied with the pool water quality and the overall cleanliness of the pools. They also agreed that measures implemented by the Department are effective in upgrading the standard of hygiene and cleanliness. More than 60 percent of the respondents believed that the hygiene conditions of the pools had improved when compared with that of last swimming season.

Ends/Thursday, October 20, 2005
NNNN
 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 20 October, 2005

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.08.22 06:08 27°C 間有陽光幾陣驟雨
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2005.jpg
十月
康文署回應關注組織對公眾游泳池水質的意見
********************

  對於一關注組織對康樂及文化事務署(康文署)公眾游泳池水質的意見,康文署有以下的回應﹕

  本署致力為市民提供一個清潔壎耵漯a池環境,以享受暢泳的樂趣。本署轄下公眾泳池的池水水質監測參數是參考「世界壎芠梒(WHO) ── 有關游泳池、浴場及其他水上消閒場地的水質安全指引」,並經徵詢壎芵p的專業意見後而訂定。

  根據這些指引,本署定期緊密監察泳池池水的混濁度、細菌量、剩餘氯及酸鹼度等的參數。

  本署每年會檢驗公眾泳池池水內的氯化物含量,檢驗結果顯示一般均不超過百萬分之零點一。根據「世界壎芠梒揭傢鶼慦a池、浴場及其他水上消閒場地的水質安全指引」,三鹵甲烷/哥羅芳並不是必須監控的化學物質參數。這些物質在公眾泳池池水內的含量極微,並會在消毒過程中被臭氧分解。

  現時本署轄下公眾泳池每小時均有監察池水消毒系統的氧化還原電位讀數,並會確保該讀數維持在750毫伏特至800毫伏特之間,以保持系統的消毒能力。根據現時泳池規例,池水的混濁度應保持在5NTU或以下。本署亦每周監察公眾泳池的池水混濁度。現時公眾泳池剩餘氯的標準是合乎世界壎芠梒斐N消閒場地池水所建議的標準,我們並會每小時作出監察。

  為進一步加強泳池的管理,本署於去年十一月成立一個跨部門的管理公眾泳池的督導委員會(督導委員會),成員有壎芵p、機電工程署、建築署、食物環境壎芵p與漁農自然護理署的代表及兩名專家顧問,包括香港大學醫學院微生物學系系主任袁國勇教授和香港工程師學會理事張志剛先生,以跟進監察泳池水質、環境壎秅帠]施清潔、公眾泳池使用情況等工作。

  根據督導委員會的建議,本署已積極採取一系列措施,提升轄下公眾游泳池的清潔壎秅竷酋M加強池水的水質監察。

  這些措施包括每日在所有公眾泳池嚴格執行清潔工作,並每周進行徹底大清潔,又增加了檢驗池水水質的次數,將檢驗泳池的總細菌含量、剩餘氯氣量、酸鹼度及清澈度等的檢定次數提升至每周一次。

  本署亦制訂泳池清潔守則,提醒職員要全面巡視公眾泳池及其周邊環境,並特別留意蚊蟲容易滋生的地方。

  本署亦透過連串的宣傳和教育工作,呼籲泳客要與本署共同保持泳池的清潔壎矷A泳客必須先在更衣室淋浴,徹底清潔全身,並經過水簾和洗腳池,方可進入池面。泳客在下水前,應避免吃得過飽;如有需要,應先使用洗手間。

  為提高泳池壎耵熙z明度,本署已在各個公眾游泳池張貼告示,公布有關泳池池水的水質報告,讓泳客了解池水水質的資料及壎秅竷迭A而有關的水質報告亦同時間上載本署網頁( http://www.lcsd.gov.hk ),供市民參考。

  事實上,本署於六月至八月期間在轄下三十六個泳池進行公眾泳池意見調查,成功隨機抽樣訪問了接近七千四百名泳客,當中超過七成的被訪者滿意池水水質和泳池的整體清潔情況,並認為本署的措施能夠有效提升泳池清潔壎秅竷迭F另外,逾六成人認為泳池的整體清潔壎舠〞p明顯比上一個泳季改善。



二○○五年十月二十日(星期四)
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群