Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Publication and Press Releases

2014.08.30 02:08 29°C Mainly FineVery Hot Weather Warning
Publication and Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
en/press/2004.jpg
September
Beautiful films from Russian film master Tarkovsky
**************************************************


The quality of light on water droplets, the ripples on the ground, the play of evening shadows on stone wall... Andrei Tarkovsky - the acclaimed master of Soviet cinema - captivates audiences with poetic images not only of lingering beauty but also reflections of heart and vibrations of human spirituality.

Seven distinguished titles, including "Ivan's Childhood", "Solaris", "The Mirror" and "Nostalgia" will be showcased at the Cinema of the Hong Kong Film Archive from October 15 to 17 and at the Lecture Hall of the Hong Kong Science Museum from October 25 to 31.

Presented by the Film Programmes Office of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department and curated by Mr Law Wai-ming, the "Repertory Cinema 2004" introduces the world's film classics to local audiences. Tarkovsky is the second director in focus after Lina Wertmuller. Works of Kenji Mizoguchi, from Japan, will be featured in December.

A seminar entitled "Journey of a Saint - Andrei Tarkovsky's Films", to be conducted in Cantonese, is scheduled for October 31 at 4.30pm at the Lecture Hall of the Science Museum.

Tarkovsky's growing up was studded with hurdles. His parents were divorced, his mother had to sell his grandmother's jewellery and walk for several days in freezing winter to barter for food.

When Tarkovsky grew up and entered the film industry, the leaders never stopped making things difficult. He was under scathing criticism and his creative career was checkered. After "Andrei Rublev" and "The Mirror", Tarkovsky did not make a film for five years.

Tarkovky was the most important director in modern Russia. While the Soviet Union cinema was embracing social realism, Tarkovsky's films echoed the works of Ingmar Bergman, Federico Fellini and Michelangelo Antonioni but with sentiments that are uniquely Russian. Each of his films has its own dreamlike coherence, emphasising the power of the soul and the importance of self-enhancement.

Plot is not important in his film. The story lies in the journey. It is the accidental and sudden events taking place during the journey that stir. Filters are skilfully used to paint a melancholic mood and sets with layered texture serve to create nightmarish images. The vastness of his cinema, the artistry of the composition and compassion in Tarkovsky's works depict a spiritual nostalgia and the meaning of existence.

The opening film, "Ivan's Childhood"(1962), is Tarkovsky's first film. It features an orphan who works as the agent for the Soviet partisans against the Nazis. The film was originally someone's else work. Tarkovsky rewrote the script to make it a stunning film with haunting and poetic images. It received the Golden Lion Award at the Venice Film Festival and the Grand Prize at the San Francisco Film Festival in 1962.

"Andrei Rublev" (1966) was acclaimed as the most profound and most moving historical film on the Russian screen. War and separation destroyed the mood of creation for a famous painter-monk, until the enthusiasm of a young bell-maker stirred him to work wonders once again. The film garnered prizes in various festivals including the award of International Critic Prize at the Cannes International Film Festival in 1969.

"Solaris" (1972) is an extraordinary film of great sensitivity on love, conscience and reconciliation. A cosmonaut is assigned to investigate the strange transmissions from the space station, but resulting in a spiritual introspective journey. It was the mystery of life after death in Stanislaw Lem's novel that interested Tarkovsky. The film won the Grand Jury Prize at the Cannes International Film Festival in 1972.

With beautiful, moving images, "The Mirror" (1974) is a haunting masterpiece that scrutinises Tarkovsky's traumatic childhood experience and his troubled and broken adult life.

Not to be missed is "Stalker" (1979), a visually stunning film on the path of the professor and writer who go to the coveted room where any wish can come true. In search of soul from heaven to below, not all may attain enlightenment, yet all must have faith.

When Tarkovsky shot "Nostalgia" (1983) in Italy, it was clear that he was leaving his country. It is a magnificent beautiful movie on the mystical journey of a Russian poet who goes to Italy on a research mission. Tarkovsky's signature style is marked by bleak images, soul exploring, and a desire for self- advancement and social betterment. The film won the Grand Prix for Creative Filmmaking at the Cannes International Film Festival in 1983.

Tarkovsky announced his exile after making "Nostalgia". His health deteriorated during the shooting of "The Sacrifice" (1986) which became his last offering to the world with repeated themes on the importance of faith. The film won The Best Artistic Contribution at the Cannes International Film Festival, the Special Jury Grand Prix at the Cannes International Film Festival in 1986, and also the Best Foreign-Language Film at the British Academy Awards in 1987.

All films are in Russian with Chinese and English subtitles, except "Nostalgia" which will have only English subtitles.

Tickets priced at $50 are available at URBTIX outlets. Half-price tickets are available for senior citizens, people with disabilities, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. There will be a 10% discount for each purchase of six to 10 tickets and a 20% discount for each purchase of 11 or more tickets.

For programme information, call 2734 2900 or visit http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/fp . Reservations can be made by phone on 2734 9009 or on the Internet at http://www.urbtix.hk .

Ends/Wednesday, September 22, 2004
NNNN
[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.09.03 07:59 28°C 陽光充沛酷熱天氣警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2004.jpg
九月
震撼人心的詩意影像 回顧電影詩人塔可夫斯基七齣經典電影
***************************


  一陣風吹過來……然後,又吹去;遙遠的雨滴敲打的不止是落葉,還有人的心。電影詩人安德烈•塔可夫斯基(Andrei Tarkovsky)的作品,不論影像的結構或節奏,都充滿蚇@濃的詩意及崇高的美學,緩緩的自然景像充滿質感,觀眾往往為其恢宏的鏡頭所強調的心靈力量所震懾。

  他的七齣作品,包括《伊凡的童年》、《星球梭那里斯》、《鏡子》及《懷鄉》等,將於十月十五至十七日在香港電影資料館電影院,及十月廿五至三十一日在香港科學館演講廳放映。

  十月三十一日下午四時三十分,湯禎兆、朗天、羅維明將在科學館演講廳與眾解構塔可夫斯基的電影。座談會以粵語進行,免費入場。

  由康樂及文化事務署電影節目辦事處主辦,羅維明策劃的「大師風格─世界電影經典回顧」專題放映,搜羅了三位電影大師的作品。除了塔可夫斯基及剛於八月份放映的華穆拉專題放映外,十二月份還有日本的溝口健二(Kenji Mizoguchi)的精彩電影。

  塔可夫斯基的成長過程可謂泥濘滿途。他的父母很早離異,母親帶茖潃茪p孩在戰爭的艱困歲月中成長。要變賣祖母的珠寶過日,冬天更試過走好幾天路去換糧。到長大後拍片,從《伊凡的童年》開始,他每一部戲都給領導刁難,甚至給點名痛斥污衊祖國。拍畢《安德烈•盧布耶夫》和《鏡子》後,他足足有五年沒有拍片,到山窮水盡之時,更要寫信向電影廠哀求。

  他可說是俄羅斯近代最重要的導演。當年的蘇維埃信奉社會寫實,但他的電影已與瑞典的褒曼、意大利的費里尼及安東尼奧尼相和應。每部影片都強調心靈的力量,自我提昇的重要,幾乎每部電影也加入了詩化的獨白,並以電影探討人生及道德等問題。

  塔可夫斯基的電影不是以情節取勝,歷程便已是令人心悸的故事。電影講述的往往是生命中某一刻的難忘感受,中間不斷偶現和突發的事物最挑動人心。斑爛的佈景塑造夢魘的景像,出色的濾鏡製造沉鬱的畫面,蒙太奇的片段更是心意的掩映,感覺的顫動,緩緩的鏡頭移動像輕撫,像細語呢喃,往返在教人心悸的涉歷,盪漾蚍~傷與溫柔,像一首又一首的詩。

  開幕電影《伊凡的童年》(Ivan's Childhood,1962)是他的處女作。電影講述伊凡在戰爭的洗禮下變成孤兒,他堅持為聯軍擔任偵察兵,並深入敵軍陣營……影片原先是他人製作,但拍了一半被叫停。電影學院教授力薦塔可夫斯基,他卻把劇本徹底改寫,全片重拍,結果石破天驚,映像詩情畫意,美不勝收,世界影壇驚為天人,大小影展到處得獎,包括1962年的威尼斯影展金獅獎及三藩市影展大獎。

  《伊凡的童年》剛拍完,塔可夫斯基便火速完成《安德烈•盧布耶夫》(Andrei Rublev,1966)的劇本。這部被喻為史詩作品,猶如夫子自道,預言他艱辛的創作路。影片描述俄羅斯15世紀著名畫僧盧布邵夫,遍歷戰亂生死離散後無心創作,幸被鑄鐘少年的熱情打動重拾畫筆,畫下驕人力作。影片奪得1969年康城影展國際影評大獎。

  榮獲1972年康城影展評審團大獎的《星球梭那里斯》(Solaris,1972),是塔可夫斯基融合哲學與科幻的顛峰作品。控制塔接連收到太空站發出奇怪訊號,太空人前往調查,卻進入心靈治療之旅,在異境中重新回省自己。塔可夫斯基實質無心科幻,關心的只是原著中那不斷循環的方死方生的神秘感。

  鏡花水月舊時事,有心才重要。《鏡子》(The Mirror,1974)可說是塔可夫斯基的生平寫照,把隱閉多年的心事拍出來,以震撼的影像展現破碎的童年經歷及成長歲月的各種憂愁與驚惶。

  芸芸作品中,《潛行者》(Stalker,1979)是他對宗教及人生的探索最清晰及為人了解的作品。潛行者帶領科學家與作家進入可予人任何希望的「禁區」,但二人卻害怕失去現有一切而止步。透過激盪人心的影像,顯示了在物質的洪流中,人雖得到豐盛生活,卻埋葬了純潔的心。

  塔可夫斯基在意大利拍《懷鄉》(Nostalgia,1983)時,去國的心意彰然。藉蚅玻p作家到意大利尋訪流亡海外的音樂大師往事,表達了流落異地者對故鄉、家人及國家之思念情懷。影片獲得1983年康城影展電影創意大獎。

  拍完《懷鄉》後,塔可夫斯基就宣布離國流亡。在拍《犧牲》(The Sacrifice,1986)時,他的病情已經惡化,完成電影後不久就辭世,成為他的絕響之作。影片描述面臨毀滅性的災難,父親毅然犧牲一切以拯救家人,重申人類懂得自我提昇的不移信念。影片榮獲1986年康城影展最佳藝術貢獻獎、特別評審團大獎及1987年英國金像獎最佳外語片。

  除《懷鄉》只附英文字幕外,所有影片均為俄語對白,設中、英文字幕。

  節目門票現於各城市電腦售票處發售,票價五十元,另設高齡、殘疾人士、全日制學生及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士半價優惠。每次購買六至十張門票,可獲九折優惠;十一張或以上則可獲八折優惠。訂票熱線:二七三四 九○○九;網上訂票: http://www.urbtix.hk

  查詢電話:二七三四 二九○○,網址: http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/fp



二○○四年九月二十二日(星期三)
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群