Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.12.19 18:53 14°C Light RainCold Weather Warning
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
en/press/2003.jpg
December
Beautification scheme transforms vacant lots into gardens
********************************************************


How do you turn a vacant lot into a lush and colourful garden?

The answer is the Beautification of Vacant Government Land Scheme administered by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD).

To enhance city greening, improve the environment and make better use of land resources, the LCSD started the scheme in 2001. Since then, over 27,000 trees and about 600,000 shrubs have been planted on 40 pieces of vacant Government land, creating islands of green amid the concrete jungle.

"We plant flowering trees such as Queen Crape Myrtle, African Tulip Tree, Flame of the Forest and Golden-shower and shrubs that flower in all seasons, such as Chinese Ixora, Chinese Hibiscus and Allamanda, and surround them with green lawn," an LCSD spokesperson explained.

"When selecting plants for a piece of land, we will consider the features, characteristics and shape of the plants to ensure that the transformation occurs in a natural way."

The vacant land on Man Tung Road near Caribbean Coast in Tung Chung, Lantau Island, is a good example. To make the best use of this big plot, more grass was grown to give it an even more spacious feel. Decorative flowering climbers and ground covers were added to make the lawn more interesting. The beautification project transformed the land from a weedy ground into a scenic garden.

Greening work in the urban area must make full use of scarce available space. For example, the vacant land on Hoi Tai Street near Canossa School (Hong Kong) in Quarry Bay is a long, narrow strip squeezed between the school and the roadside. Rows of flowering trees and shrubs have helped to make it more tidy and pleasant.

"Before the Beautification Scheme, most vacant lands were just weeds and mud. The LCSD changed them into pleasant and tidy gardens that add beauty to the environment, and eliminate mosquito breeding grounds in the process. The project has won the support and praise of residents of the various districts," the spokesman added.

The vacant lands involved - defined as those to which no development plans apply in the next three years - are scattered throughout Hong Kong Island, Kowloon and the New Territories. Most are located in town centres and places with heavy pedestrian traffic, such as waterfront plazas.

In 2002/03, the LCSD converted 25 pieces of vacant Government land into gardens in 10 districts. The total area affected - 11 hectares - is almost the size of two Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens! For 2003/04, the department is at work transforming 16 pieces of vacant land in 10 districts, a total area of three hectares.

Ends/Thursday, December 25, 2003
NNNN

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.31 03:04 25°C 天色大致良好
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
b5/press/2003.jpg
十二月
城市空地大變身 綠色空間處處逢
***************


一片雜草叢生的荒地,如何搖身一變成為郁郁蔥蔥、五彩繽紛的花園?

康樂及文化事務署(康文署)的「綠化空置政府土地計劃」為全港的空置荒地,進行美化計劃。

為加強城市綠化、改善環境及善用土地資源,康文署由二○○一年開始推行,在兩年時間內,綠化了四十幅政府空地,種植超過二萬七千株樹木及約六十萬棵灌木,為香港這個「石屎森林」創造了不少宜人的綠色空間。

康文署發言人今日(十二月二十五日)說:「綠化空地的理念主要是種植一些開花的喬木,如大花紫薇、火焰木、鳳凰木和豬腸豆等,和四時開花的灌木,如龍船花、大紅花及黃蟬等,輔以草坪襯托,來美化空置土地。」

「在選擇植物時,也頗有講究,會考慮其特性、形態和習性,及附近場地的環境,為求營造一個自然和舒適的環境。」

東涌文東路近映灣園外空地便是一個很好的例子。由於土地面積較大,所以有比較多的草坪,使環境空間更廣闊。同時,在適當的位置,會加種一些攀爬性和鋪地性的開花植物,增加其趣味性。經綠化後,該處空地已由雜草叢生的的荒地變成景致幽雅的花園。

而綠化市區的空置土地,則要充分利用有限的空間,如鰂魚涌海堤街近香港嘉諾撒小學空地,是在行人道及學校之間的一片又窄又長的土地,種植行列分明的開花喬木和灌木,可使人有一個整齊和舒適的感覺。

發言人補充:「大部份的空置土地,在美化前一般都是雜草叢生或爛地一片;在綠化後,環境會變得舒適,既可減少蚊蟲的滋生,又可美化社區,因此受到市民的歡迎及讚賞。」

綠化的空置土地分佈香港、九龍及新界,是在三年內未有計劃發展的政府空置土地,多為市中心行人多的地點如海旁廣場等。在二○○二
【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群