Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.11.24 14:59 25°C Sunny Periods
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
en/press/2003.jpg
September
World premiere of epic opera 'Yao Ji' Oct 16-19 at HK Cultural Centre

***********************************************************



The original epic opera "Legend of Yao Ji", presented in a western operatic style, will stage its world premiere at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre from October 16 to 19, opening the "Legends of China" Festival.

The production, presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, brings together celebrated artists from the Mainland, Taiwan and Hong Kong.

"Legend of Yao Ji" is a spellbinding story of the ancient Chinese hero Da Yu and his mythical lover Yao Ji, where the folk tale of Da Yu's conquest of the Great Flood is interwoven with the legend of the Goddess Peak. Adding to the dramatic intensity of this romantic story of the celestial world is the ambition of the Dragon King of the ocean to unify the universe.

Chen Ning-chi, famed composer of Hong Kong, uses his richly ethnic music style, blending traditional and modern musical techniques, to depict the passionate love between an extraordinary couple. The libretto and lyrics are a collaboration between renowned verse dramatists Rupert Chan of Hong Kong and Pu Yue of Taiwan.

Barbara Fei, the advisor to the production, began her music studies on the piano with Professor Ding Shande. In 1950, she came to Hong Kong for vocal lessons with Professor Chao Mei-pa, and she went to France to refine her art in 1956. Since her return to Hong Kong in 1960, Fei has been invited to perform in New Zealand, the United States and other Asian cities. Fei is well-known for her contributions to many music activities. In 1964, she founded the Allegro Singers.

Producer/director Barbara Wang graduated from the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna in 1972. She obtained her Bachelor's Degree and Master's Degree in Opera Direction from the same university in 1985 and 1990 respectively. She has participated in over 25 opera productions in Vienna, Zurich and other European opera stages. Her Chinese heritage and European training influenced her to begin blending east with west in a number of operas, including the critically acclaimed The Savage Land(1993), The Magic Flute(1998) and Xi Shi, which premiered in Taipei in 2001.

Composer Chen Ning-chi graduated from the Central Conservatory of Music. A prolific and versatile creator of both Western and Chinese music, he won the Most Performed Original Local Serious Work Award of the Composers and Authors Society of Hong Kong in 1994 for his "Reminiscence at Chi Bi".

Librettist/lyricist Rupert Chan, who is also a writer and playwright, has translated over 30 operas from French, Italian and English into Cantonese. In 1990, he received the Playwright of the Year Award from the Hong Kong Artists' Guild. He and composer Chan Wing-wah won the Most Performed Original Local Serious Work Award for "Nine Regions Singing As One", written for the 1997 Hong Kong Reunification.

The other librettist/lyricist is Pu Yue. An award-winning writer, she has produced lyrics for many famous Chinese composers and was the librettist for the opera "Xi Shi", by Barbara Wang, who is the producer/director of "Yao Ji".

The original score will be performed by the Hong Kong Sinfonietta under the baton of Chiu Chun-chiang. Vocalists include Lu Chiung-jung (soprano) as Yao Ji, Mariolin Xu (tenor) as Da Yu, Yuan Chenye (baritone) as the Dragon King, Liu Yueming (bass) as the Emperor of Heaven, and Liu Haitao (mezzo-soprano) as Queen Mother of the West.

Also taking part are the chorus and dancers from the China Opera and Dance Drama Theatre.

From Germany, Peter Sykora and Friedewalt Degen are in charge of set and costumes and lighting respectively.

The orchestra for the production, the Hong Kong Sinfonietta, was founded in 1990 by a group of young musicians and now has a roster of 58 players. Over the years, the orchestra has collaborated with an illustrious array of artists and groups and taken part in many major festivals.

The China Opera and Dance Drama Theatre is the state theatre for performances of operas and dance dramas, consisting of two performing troupes and two orchestras. It has staged approximately 100 operas and dance dramas since its establishment in 1950, when it was called the Beijing People's Art Theatre.

"Legend of Yao Ji" will be staged at 7:30pm from October 16 to 19 at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Grand Theatre. The programme is presented in Putonghua with Chinese and English surtitles. Tickets priced at $450, $360, $240 and $120 are available at all URBTIX outlets.

Half-price tickets are offered to senior citizens, full-time students, people with disabilities and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Recipients. For group bookings and packages, discounts of up to 20% apply.

The world premiere of "Legend of Yao Ji" is sponsored by: The Hong Kong Austrian Association Limited, Outblaze Limited, Typhoon Games (Hong Kong) Ltd, Mr & Mrs Yat Siu, and Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong.

Telephone reservations can be made on 2734 9009. For credit card telephone bookings, call 2111 5999. Internet bookings can be made at www.urbtix.gov.hk

Programme details can be found in the brochures obtainable at URBTIX outlets or at www.legendsofchina.gov.hk

For programme enquiries, call 2370 1044.

End/Wednesday, September 17, 2003

NNNN
[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
刊物及新聞公報2014.04.21 20:30 23°C 多雲
 
* 刊物及新聞公報 *
*
* 主頁 *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* 公用表格 *
* *
* *
* *
* 招聘 *
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
無障礙網頁守則
新聞公報

圖: 新聞稿圖 : 九月
  兩岸三地華人藝術精英傾力演出原創歌劇《瑤姬傳奇》

************************

 

  原創中國神話歌劇《瑤姬傳奇》,將以西洋歌劇形式,演繹一個淒美動人、蕩氣迴腸的神話故事。該劇將於十月十六至十九日在香港文化中心作世界首演,同時為「中國傳奇」藝術節揭開序幕。

  原創歌劇《瑤姬傳奇》由康樂及文化事務署主辦,雲集兩岸三地華人藝術精英傾力演出,是一個跨越地域界線的全新作品。

  《瑤姬傳奇》講述仙女瑤姬與凡間男子大禹相戀的中國神話。以上古大禹治水為經,巫山神女峰為緯,交織出一段浪漫的戀愛故事,並穿插海龍王統一宇宙的野心,組成全劇的矛盾衝突。

  香港著名作曲家陳能濟以強烈的民族音樂風格,描繪出一對非常男女超越階級的熱戀。而香港及台灣享負盛名的劇作家陳鈞潤與樸月則攜手合作為《瑤姬傳奇》編劇和填詞。

  《瑤姬傳奇》的顧問為費明儀,她早年習琴,啟蒙老師為丁善德教授,稍後進入南京國立音樂學院,隨易開基教授主修鋼琴。1950年在香港專習聲樂,並於1956年赴法國深造。1960年學成返港,從事聲樂教學,並應邀到新西蘭、美國及亞洲各大城市演唱。1964年成立明儀合唱團,積極推動香港音樂事業。

  監製/導演王斯本於1972年畢業於國立維也納音樂暨表演藝術大學,主修聲樂、德國藝術歌曲及神曲,以及歌劇表演,並於1985年及1990年分別修畢歌劇導演學士課程及碩士課程。她曾於歐洲著名的維也納國立歌劇院、蘇黎世歌劇院工作,並在歐洲各地參與製作二十多齣經典歌劇。1993年於台北導演第一齣中國歌劇《原野》,開始致力融合東西元素;1998年導演莫扎特歌劇《魔笛》,更成功加入中國元素;2001年導演原創中國歌劇《西施》,於台北世界首演,對融合東西表演藝術作更大膽的嘗試,獲得觀眾熱烈的回響。

  作曲陳能濟畢業於中央音樂學院,作品糅合傳統與現代的音樂技巧,技法自然流暢,備受讚賞。他的中西音樂作品豐富,其中鋼琴曲《赤壁懷古》更於1994年獲香港作曲家及作詞家協會頒發本地正統音樂最廣泛演出獎。

  劇本/填詞陳鈞潤為業餘作家、翻譯、編劇及填詞人,1990年獲香港藝術家聯盟頒發劇作家年獎,曾翻譯法、意、英歌劇三十餘齣,以及為本港各職業及業餘話劇團翻譯及改編超過三十餘齣話劇。1997年憑香港回歸千人大合唱《九州同頌》,榮獲香港作曲家及作詞家協會頒發本地正統音樂最廣泛演出獎。

  劇本/填詞樸月自幼喜愛文史,曾出版散文集、歷史小說、兒童戲劇故事、傳記小說、詩詞名句賞析等,1991年憑歷史小說《西風獨自涼》獲中國文藝協會小說創作獎。她創作的歌劇劇本《西施》大獲好評。

  現任布拉格國家歌劇院指揮邱君強,將率領香港小交響樂團為歌劇《瑤姬傳奇》現場伴奏,參與演出的強勁陣容包括:女高音盧瓊蓉(飾瑤姬)、男高音徐林強(飾大禹)、男中音袁晨野(飾海龍王)、男低音劉月明(飾天帝)、女中音劉海桃(飾西王母),以及中國歌劇舞劇院的合唱團和舞蹈團。

  此外,來自德國的設計大師彼得.施克勞和弗列得瓦.德耿,將分別負責舞台及服裝和燈光設計,為觀眾帶來嶄新的視覺享受。

  香港小交響樂團於1990年由一群青年音樂家成立,發展至今已成為職業樂團。十多年來,樂團曾與國際知名音樂家及藝團合作,亦曾參與多個重要音樂節。

  中國歌劇舞劇院是創作與演出中國民族歌劇、民族舞劇的國家級劇院,由兩個演出團(歌劇團和舞劇團)及兩個樂團(民族樂團和管弦樂團)組成。劇院前身為北京人民藝術劇院,建立於1950年,成立至今,曾演出過多齣著名歌劇及舞劇。

  原創中國神話歌劇《瑤姬傳奇》將於十月十六至十九日(星期四至日)晚上七時三十分在香港文化中心大劇院舉行。節目以普通話演出,附中英文字幕;票價分四百五十元、三百六十元、二百四十元及一百二十元四種,門票於各城市電腦售票處發售。

  高齡人士、殘疾人士、全日制學生及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士可獲半價優惠。團體訂票及套票優惠高達八折。

  《瑤姬傳奇》世界首演贊助商包括The Hong Kong Austrian Association Limited, Outblaze Limited, Typhoon Games (Hong Kong)Ltd, Mr & Mrs Yat Siu, Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong。

  電話訂票:2734 9009;信用卡電話訂票:2111 5999。市民亦可使用網上訂票服務,網址為www.urbtix.gov.hk

  「中國傳奇」節目手冊現於各城市電腦售票處派發;或瀏覽網址:www.legendsofchina.gov.hk

  節目查詢可電:2370 1044。



二○○三年九月十七日(星期三)
 
  【昔日新聞公報】 【返回頁首】  

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群
2003| 重要告示 修訂日期 : 2003年9月17日