Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.21 17:01 29°C Sunny Periods
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2013
February
HK Film Archive's "Morning Matinee" to feature invincible landlady To Sam-ku
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     Cantonese cinema comedian To Sam-ku (1895-1983) was best known for her signature fearsome landlady persona and her roles as the greedy mother or a brothel madam. This year marks 30 years since To's passing. As a tribute to the outstanding and professional actress, the Hong Kong Film Archive (HKFA)'s "Morning Matinee" will screen five of her films at 11am on Friday mornings in March.

     Following the comedian series of "Ko Lo-chuen and Old Master Cute" and "Fatties v.s. Skinnies" in the past few months, the third comedian series, "Tribute to To Sam-ku - the Invincible Landlady in Cantonese Cinema", will be screened on March 1, 8, 15, 22 and 29. The films comprise "Beautiful Woman, Beautiful Car" (1952), featuring To being self-indulgent with a new fortune; "Madam Mei" (1956), in which To plays the wicked brothel madam; "The Eagle Knight and the Crimson Girl" (1960), with Leung Sing-po and To as the hilarious couple; and "The Venture of an Opera Fan" (1962) and "Pigeon Cage" (1964), with To in her typical role as the greedy landlady.

     To Sam-ku (real name: To Ying) was originally an opera performer and widely known in Southeast Asia. She acted in over 500 films between 1936 and 1978 and has always been remembered for her uncompromising attitude as the landlady who hunts tenants down for rent as well as her avaricious broad smile when the money is in her hands.

     In "Beautiful Woman, Beautiful Car", To and Yee Chau-shui are the impoverished married couple who win a horse race bet and become millionaires overnight. To becomes excessively self-indulgent in her new fortune but embarrasses herself in restaurants, breaks dresses several sizes too small and even becomes a laughing stock by participating in a beauty pageant.

     She is at her most wicked in "Madam Mei", playing the greedy brothel madam who could not care less about her girls as long as they bring her profit. In "The Eagle Knight and the Crimson Girl", she plays the fearsome wife to comedian Leung Sing-po, and both of them easily steal the show with their hilarious performances.

     In "The Venture of an Opera Fan", To is the greedy landlady who is caught in the middle when waiter Sun Ma Si-tsang and dim sum girl Lam Fung try to impress her to win her favouritism in a petty feud over singing styles. In her signature role as the money-hungry landlady in the comedy "Pigeon Cage", she keeps hunting down Tang Bik-wan, Woo Fung and Ha Ping for rent, but, as usual, her bark is always scarier than her bite.

     All the above screenings are in Cantonese without subtitles. The programme is guest-curated by film researcher Yuen Tsz-ying.
      
     Tickets priced at $20 are available at all URBTIX outlets. Half-price concessionary tickets are available for senior citizens aged 60 and above, people with disabilities and their minders, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. Credit card bookings can be made on 2111 5999, or on the Internet at www.urbtix.hk .

     Detailed programme information can be found in "ProFolio 66", distributed at all performing venues of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. For enquiries, please call 2739 2139 or 2734 2900, or browse the webpage at www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/english/2011mm/2011mm_film.html .

Ends/Friday, February 8, 2013
Issued at HKT 15:03

NNNN

E025CCD6489A43308A01CCEBAC54088C_B.JPG

A film still from "Beautiful Woman, Beautiful Car" (1952).

CD065A5EF1374B01B2BD9ED747CEDE96_B.JPG

A film still from "Madam Mei" (1956).

9DB55506125B40678D16842F88FF38A8_B.JPG

A film still from "The Eagle Knight and the Crimson Girl" (1960).

035927CC05D64230A2A58A4ADA05E0EE_B.JPG

A film still from "The Venture of an Opera Fan" (1962).

33EC74836E774A32AF6F34ABE6BD8ACC_B.JPG

A film still from "Pigeon Cage" (1964).

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
刊物及新聞公報2014.08.01 17:56 34°C 間有陽光雷暴警告酷熱天氣警告
 
* 刊物及新聞公報 *
*
* 主頁 *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* 公用表格 *
* *
* *
* *
* 招聘 *
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
無障礙網頁守則
新聞公報
2013
February
香港電影資料館「歡樂早場」重溫八面玲瓏包租婆陶三姑電影
***************************

  見錢開眼的勢利包租婆、令人髮指逼良為娼的鴇母,陶三姑(1895-1983)以演包租婆、鴇母、三姑六婆為人稱道。今年是陶三姑逝世三十周年,香港電影資料館(資料館)將於三月份逢星期五上午十一時放映的「歡樂早場」中,選映她參演的五部電影,特別向這位專業的前輩演員致敬,讓觀眾重溫她的精湛演技。

  繼過去數月份笑匠系列放映的「高魯泉與老夫子」及「肥瘦諧星」後,三月份的「笑匠系列之三︰八面玲瓏包租婆─陶三姑逝世三十周年紀念」將於三月一日、八日、十五日、二十二日及二十九日,在資料館電影院放映陶三姑一朝富貴成為暴發戶的《香車美人》(1952);演鴇母的《梅娘》(1956);與梁醒波合演惡妻與懦夫的《神鷹飛天俠》(1960);勢利貪財包租婆的《戲迷奇遇記》(1962)及《一樓十四伙》(1964)。

  陶三姑原名陶英,藝名銀老鼠,早年是著名粵劇全女班的花旦,享譽南洋。1936-1978年間參演電影五百多部,巴辣見錢開眼形象深入民心,尤其壓榨小租客時極盡尖酸刻薄、看到大財主卻大獻殷勤,勢利嘴臉直是小市民公敵。

  在《香車美人》中伊秋水和陶三姑因中了頭獎馬票成為暴發戶。一朝富貴的三姑,吃西餐烏龍百出、穿華衣卻把禮服逼爆,欲參選香車美人,因市井味難脫笑話百出。在《梅娘》中她演勢利貪財的鴇母,乘人之危逼可憐女梅綺為娼,惡行令人髮指。而陶三姑與梁醒波在《神鷹飛天俠》中則飾演惡妻與懦夫,兩位搞笑高手過招,更搶走了不少男女主角的戲。

  《戲迷奇遇記》中茶樓夥計新馬師曾和點心妹林鳳為爭唱新馬腔和時代曲不和,而各向貪財勢利的包租婆陶三姑討歡心。三姑左右逢源,一時阿諛奉承,一時氣勢洶洶。在《一樓十四伙》同樣演尖酸刻薄的包租婆,在鄧碧雲、胡楓、夏萍等租客中穿梭,早晚只顧追討房租,佛口蛇心。

  所有影片均為粵語對白,不設字幕。是次節目由電影研究員阮紫瑩客席策劃。

  門票現於各城市電腦售票處發售。票價二十元,設六十歲或以上高齡、殘疾人士及看護人、全日制學生及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士半價優惠。信用卡購票:二一一一 五九九九。網上訂票:www.urbtix.hk

  節目詳情可參閱於康樂及文化事務署轄下表演場地備取的第六十六期《展影》。查詢電話:二七三九 二一三九/二七三四 二九○○,網頁:www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/chinese/2011mm/2011mm_film.html



2013年2月8日(星期五)
香港時間15時02分

E025CCD6489A43308A01CCEBAC54088C_B.JPG

《香車美人》(1952)的劇照。

CD065A5EF1374B01B2BD9ED747CEDE96_B.JPG

《梅娘》(1956)的劇照。

9DB55506125B40678D16842F88FF38A8_B.JPG

《神鷹飛天俠》(1960)的劇照。

035927CC05D64230A2A58A4ADA05E0EE_B.JPG

《戲迷奇遇記》(1962)的劇照。

33EC74836E774A32AF6F34ABE6BD8ACC_B.JPG

《一樓十四伙》(1964)的劇照。

 

 

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群