Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.26 00:11 25°C Cloudy
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2012
August
Hong Kong invited for first time to take part in Liverpool Biennial
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) and the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (ADC) will jointly present an exhibition, entitled "All Are Guests", in the "City States" programme of the 7th Liverpool Biennial to be held in the UK from September 15 to November 25.

     This is the first time for Hong Kong to stage an exhibition as an invited guest city in the Liverpool Biennial. Speaking at a press conference held today (August 21), the Chief Executive of the ADC, Mr Chow Yung-ping, said, "The ADC hopes to build close ties with overseas counterparts to introduce the outstanding works of Hong Kong artists in the international art arena."

     The exhibition is curated by the Hong Kong Museum of Art under the LCSD. The Assistant Director (Heritage and Museums) of Leisure and Cultural Services, Dr Louis Ng, noted that the department has been glad to have the curatorial team of the Hong Kong Museum of Art collaborate with local artists to take part in the Liverpool Biennial.

     Dr Ng said the LCSD is committed to fostering cultural exchanges with different places and has taken a proactive role in recent years in presenting the works of Hong Kong artists outside the city for exhibition. He pointed out that the Liverpool Biennial, a renowned international contemporary art extravaganza, offers a good opportunity to present Hong Kong art in the international art scene and strengthen co-operation in art between Hong Kong and overseas.

     Curated by the Hong Kong Museum of Art, the "All Are Guests" exhibition will feature the works of local artists Leung Mee-ping and Chow Chun-fai and local design team CoLAB x SLOW. It will explore the intricate subject-object contrast between the individual and the city in response to the theme of the Liverpool Biennial this year - "Hospitality".

     Through the wide-ranging media selected by the participating artists and design team, the exhibition will re-examine the artists' sense of self in relation to the city, and the power structures inscribed in the city in the light of the intricate yet subtle host-guest dynamics of the contemporary world. The selected works provide an open space wherein viewers can see the relationship between the individual and the city in a new light by forming their own interpretation of the works on display. Bursting with imagination, the poetry of local poet Professor Leung Ping-kwan (Ye Si) will also be presented in the exhibition, enabling visitors to gain insight into the exhibition from different perspectives.

     Besides the exhibition, a range of fringe activities will be held in Liverpool during the exhibition period. CoLAB x SLOW will collaborate with the UK's Chinese Arts Centre and partner with community organisations in Liverpool to organise workshops for women from different communities to introduce the concept of running a sustainable, eco-friendly, happy and self-fulfilling business by making handmade soap.

     The ADC and the Hong Kong Museum of Art have also partnered with Fleurs des Lettres, a local literary magazine, to organise creative writing workshops with an aim of addressing the exhibition's artwork through literary works. Students from seven local tertiary institutions will participate in a series of writing workshops to be led by local literature figures and scholars, including Professor Leung, Liao Wei-tang, Cally Yu and Wen Yau, and will also visit the Liverpool Biennial by themselves. They will reinterpret the city spaces by observing the rejuvenated city and experience the vibrant cultural atmosphere throughout their trip to the Liverpool Biennial.

     To nurture local arts administrators, the ADC has also launched an exhibition internship programme. Two university students majoring in arts management have been selected to participate in the programme and will be sent to Liverpool for seven weeks during the exhibition period to assist in the operation of the exhibition.

     Those who wish to learn more about the "All Are Guests" exhibition, the participating artists, selected images of the works to be exhibited and information on the Liverpool Biennial and "City States" can visit the project website at www.liverpoolbiennial.hk.

Ends/Tuesday, August 21, 2012
NNNN

_1

Representatives from the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and the Hong Kong Museum of Art, as well as the participating artists and cultural organisations of "All Are Guests - Hong Kong at the Liverpool Biennial 2012", in a group photo at the press conference today (August 21).

002

The participating artists and design team for the Liverpool Biennial 2012 (from left), Mr Chow Chun-fai, Ms Leung Mee-pin and CoLAB x SLOW, attend the press conference to introduce their works and share their creation concepts.

 

 

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.26 10:02 25°C 短暫陽光黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2012
August
香港首度應邀參與利物浦雙年展
*********************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)及香港藝術發展局(藝發局)將合作參與在九月十五日至十一月二十五日於英國舉行的第七屆利物浦雙年展。香港的展覽名為《身是客》,為利物浦雙年展中「城邦」展覽項目的一部分。

  今年是香港首次獲利物浦雙年展的邀請成為參展城市。藝發局行政總裁周勇平在今日(八月二十一日)舉行的記者招待會上說:「藝發局期望與不同的海外藝術團體加強聯繫,向國際藝壇展示香港優秀的藝術作品。」

  是次展覽由康文署轄下的香港藝術館負責策劃。康文署助理署長(文物及博物館)吳志華博士表示,對於香港藝術館的策展團隊能夠和香港藝術家合作,參與利物浦雙年展感到高興。

  他指出康文署一直致力促進香港與世界各地的文化交流,近年亦積極推動,將香港藝術家的創作帶到香港以外的地方展出。利物浦雙年展這個著名國際當代藝術盛事提供了一個難得機會,展示香港的藝術面貌,加強與國際藝術界的聯繫。

  由香港藝術館策劃的展覽《身是客》,將展出本地藝術家梁美萍、周俊輝及創作團隊CoLAB × 好地地的作品,探討人與城市的微妙主客關係,以回應本年度利物浦雙年展「殷勤款待」的大會主題。

  展覽中的香港藝術家/創作團隊會以不同形式的作品檢視自身與城市之間的關係,以及箇中的權力結構,藉以回應當代複雜多變的主客關係。展出的作品為參觀者提供了一個開放的想像空間,讓他們在欣賞作品的過程中,可以對人與城市的關係有另一番的理解。此外,本地詩人梁秉鈞(也斯)更會以新詩回應展出的三組作品,讓觀眾可以從不同的層面去理解展覽的內容。

  除參與展覽外,香港亦於利物浦雙年展舉行期間,於當地舉辦一系列相關活動。創作團隊CoLAB × 好地地將與英國華人藝術中心合作,透過當地社區團體組織的協助,向來自不同社區及階層的婦女介紹製作手工肥皂的過程,並介紹如何將手工肥皂建立成一個可持續發展、環保及快樂工作的業務概念,讓她們可學習自主生活。

  藝發局與香港藝術館更邀請到本土文學雜誌《字花》成為合作夥伴,共同籌劃創意書寫工作坊,透過文字創作對視藝作品作出回應。來自本港七間大專院校的學生,除參與由也斯、廖偉棠、俞若玫與魂游等文化與藝術界導師所帶領的工作坊外,更會親身到訪利物浦,參觀今年的藝術雙年展。透過檢視城市的發展、文化的演變以及藝術的氣息,重新閱讀香港與城市的空間。

  為培育本地藝術行政人才,藝發局亦同時推出實習計劃,揀選了兩位本地大專院校就讀藝術管理課程的學生參與,他們分別會在展覽期間到利物浦進行七個星期的實習,支援展覽的工作。

  有關《身是客》展覽、參展藝術家的介紹、部分作品的影像檔案,以及有關利物浦雙年展及「城邦」展覽項目的簡介,可瀏覽項目網頁:www.liverpoolbiennial.hk

二○一二年八月二十一日(星期二)

_1

康樂及文化事務署、香港藝術發展局及香港藝術館代表,以及應邀參與「身是客─香港在利物浦雙年展2012」的本地藝術家及文化機構今日(八月二十一日)於記者招待會合照。

002

參與利物浦雙年展2012的本地藝術家/創作團隊(左起)周俊輝、梁美萍,以及CoLAB × 好地地於記者招待會上,介紹他們的參展作品及創作概念。

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群