Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Publication and Press Releases

2014.08.21 00:36 24°C Light Rain
Publication and Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2012
July
Deteriorated Old and Valuable Tree in Happy Valley removed for public safety
**************************************

     An Old and Valuable Tree (OVT) on Wong Nai Chung Road, Happy Valley, was removed to ensure public safety after it was found to have the risk of collapse due to damage from the typhoon, a spokesman for the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) said today (July 25).

     The tree was a 15-metre-tall Chinese Banyan, listed as LCSD WCH/10 on the Register of OVTs.

     The spokesman said the tree was found to have signs of decay in its roots and was confirmed to have been infected by brown root rot disease in June last year. Monitoring and maintenance works on the tree had been stepped up with a series of remedial measures taken, including the application of fungicide and removing the fungus, as well as using wires to stabilise the tree. However, the growth of the tree roots and the overall health condition of the tree did not show signs of improvement.

     "The inspection conducted by the department after the passage of the typhoon found that the root plate showed displacement. The two wires used to stabilise the tree had also become severely tautened. All this indicated that the tree was unstable and had a high risk of collapse.

     "The tree was located on Wong Nai Chung Road, which has high traffic flow. After consulting the Tree Management Office (TMO) of the Development Bureau, we decided to remove the tree as early as possible to ensure public safety," the spokesman added.

     The LCSD has also inspected another OVT (a Chinese Banyan) in the vicinity and confirmed that it is in stable condition.

     During the passage of the typhoon on July 23, four OVTs in the territory were blown over. They were the Chinese Banyan in Kowloon Park (listed as LCSD YTM/96), a Hackberry in Lei Yue Mun Park (listed as LCSD E/7), the Chinese Banyan on Shouson Hill Road (listed as LCSD S/10) and the Weeping Fig in Chater Garden (listed as LCSD CW/123).

     The LCSD and the TMO have already examined the two OVTs, LCSD YTM/11 and LCSD YTM/12, situated in the same flower trough as the OVT that collapsed last week in Park Lane Shoppers' Boulevard after the typhoon and considered that their overall health condition had not been affected by the typhoon. The Expert Panel on Tree Management of the TMO will consider appropriate follow-up actions as soon as possible.

Ends/Wednesday, July 25, 2012
NNNN

  

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.26 10:12 26°C 短暫陽光黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2012
July
跑馬地一棵有潛在倒塌危險的古樹名木已被移除
******************************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)發言人今日(七月二十五日)表示,已移除在跑馬地黃泥涌道一棵因颱風影響以致有潛在倒塌危險的古樹名木,以保障公眾安全。

  該古樹為一棵細葉榕,約十五米高,列於《古樹名木冊》內,編號為LCSD WCH/10。

  發言人表示,該古樹由於根部出現腐爛情況,去年六月亦證實感染褐根病,一直需要加強監察和護理。署方已為該樹進行多項護理工作,包括噴灑殺真菌劑、清理真菌及增加鋼索以協助穩固該樹等。然而,古樹的根部生長和整體健康情況並沒有改善。

  發言人說:「颱風過後,本署再次檢查該樹時,發現該樹的根盤出現嚴重移位的情況,以及一直用於穩固該樹的兩條鋼索有異常繃緊情況,顯示該樹有潛在倒塌的危險。」

  「由於該樹位處交通繁忙的黃泥涌道,本署經諮詢發展局樹木管理辦事處的意見後,決定盡早移除該樹,以保障公眾安全。」

  康文署並已檢查附近另外一棵古樹細葉榕,證實其健康情況穩定。

  此外,在七月二十三日颱風襲港期間,共有四棵古樹名木倒塌,分別為位於九龍公園的細葉榕(編號為LCSD YTM/96),鯉魚門公園的朴樹(編號為LCSD E/7),壽山村道的細葉榕(編號為LCSD S/10),以及遮打花園的垂葉榕(編號為LCSD CW/123)。

  康文署與樹木管理辦事處在颱風過後,已再次檢測上周栢麗購物大道大樹倒塌後同一花槽內的另外兩棵古樹名木LCSD YTM/11及LCSD YTM/12,認為樹木的整體情況沒有受颱風影響,樹木管理辦事處專家小組將盡快研究適當的跟進工作。

二○一二年七月二十五日(星期三)

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群