Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.24 04:04 25°C Cloudy
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2012
January
"The Wheel of Time: 100 Years of Light and Shadow" exhibition at HK Film Archive
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     Rickshaws running along Queen's Road Central, 14 families sheltered under the same roof and tussling over water and fire, a post-war generation looking for new identity and culture... With a wealth of film images from different eras, Hong Kong cinema has documented the social life, culture and different facets of its home city. The Hong Kong Film Archive (HKFA)'s exhibition "The Wheel of Time: 100 Years of Light and Shadow" takes visitors through a journey illuminated with the sights and sounds of the geography, politics, social life and culture of the city.

     "The Wheel of Time: 100 Years of Light and Shadow" recounts the development of Hong Kong cinema in connection with many significant social changes the city underwent from 1898 to 2010. The exhibition is on display until March 4 at the Exhibition Hall of the HKFA. Admission is free.

     Starting with a time tunnel installation, the exhibition consists of six areas. Zone one, "Integration and Consolidation", features Hong Kong from 1898 to 1949. "The Edison Shorts", the documentary shot by the Edison Company in 1898, captures some of the earliest sights of Hong Kong and the livelihood of the fishing island. Shots from "A Trip Through China" (1916) take the audience on a spectacular walk past the classical and renaissance architecture in Central; commercial buildings and scenery along the waterfront; sea and land transport like ferries, sedan chairs, rickshaws and tram cars; and the different lifestyles of Westerners and the local Chinese.

     When redevelopment after World War II was in full swing, people were still haunted by physical and emotional trauma. In zone two, "Homeland and Metropolis", movies like "The Kid" (1950) show the devastation of a war-broken family while "Save Your Water Supply" (1954), "Should They Marry?" (1951) and "Our Sister Hedy" (1957) reflect the livelihood of the grass-roots family and the rise of the middle class.

     The exhibition zone entitled "Old Values and New Blood" focuses on the era of youth and the changes from 1960 to 1975. "The Delinquent" (1973) and "The Orphan" (1960) show the erosion of public safety, as well as housing and labour problems with the increase of the population and industrialisation. Michael Hui's "The Last Message" (1975) is a satire on the craziness of Hong Kong people when it comes to the stock market. Director Chang Cheh's "The Assassin" (1967) and Bruce Lee's action films reflect the frustration of youths and the dream of the oppressed working class to fight back. Erotic films like "Women of Desire" (1974) and "Golden Lotus" (1972) were a breakthrough in their departure from traditional culture.

     As the economy started to recover, local pop culture attained primacy during the 1970s. The young directors of the New Wave cinema made many groundbreaking films, and their creative works blazed a trail for the golden age of local cinema. The zone "Insurrection and Breakthrough" shows how the society faced challenges at the time. The film "Anti-Corruption" (1975) is based on the bribery case involving police chief superintendent Peter Fitzroy Godber, "The Story of Woo Viet" (1981) is a truthful and sympathetic reflection on the situation of Vietnamese refugees, "The Private Eyes" (1976) and "Aces Go Places" (1982) feature the livelihood of the working class and the middle class, and "Boat People" (1982) and "Long Arm of the Law" (1884) indicate that collective anxiety loomed large as 1997 approached.

     The zone entitled "Glory and Downturn" focuses on the era from 1985 to 1997, in which the then Oriental Pearl's lustre was dulled by pessimism. The tragic hero film "A Better Tomorrow" (1986), the trendsetting absurd nonsensical comedy "All for the Winner" (1990) and the rare political satire "Her Fatal Ways" (1990) reflect the wariness of Hong Kong people. "The Other 1/2 & the Other 1/2" (1988) and "Made in Hong Kong" (1997) express uncertainty and a lack of confidence in the future after the handover.

     The last section, "Motherland and Locality", features the post-1997 era and filmmakers' responses to crises in politics, the economy and social life. The undercover sting films of the "Infernal Affairs" trilogy (2002-03) incorporated the sentiments of Hong Kong identity in the action-cop genre, "Shaolin Soccer" (2001) is testimony to the resilience of the Hong Kong people after the financial crisis, "1:99" (2003) is an attempt to give medical practitioners a much-needed boost and to pray for an end to calamities, and "McDull, Prince de la Bun" (2004) and "Echoes of the Rainbow" (2009) rise to calls for conservation and heritage preservation.

     The exhibition is open from 10am to 8pm, and the HKFA is closed on Thursdays. For enquiries about the exhibition, please call 2739 2139.

Ends/Thursday, January 26, 2012
NNNN

001

The Hong Kong Film Archive's exhibition "The Wheel of Time: 100 Years of Light and Shadow".

002

The Hong Kong Film Archive's exhibition "The Wheel of Time: 100 Years of Light and Shadow".

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
刊物及新聞公報2014.07.12 03:57 29°C 微雨
 
* 刊物及新聞公報 *
*
* 主頁 *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* 公用表格 *
* *
* *
* *
* 招聘 *
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
無障礙網頁守則
新聞公報

圖: 新聞稿圖 : January
 
香港電影資料館展覽 光影見證百年香港歷史潮流
**********************

  人力車在皇后大道中上穿梭,一樓十四伙人人爭水爭灶,戰後成長的新青年追求破舊立新……百年來香港文化、經濟、生活的面面觀,無不一一捕捉在不同年代電影的影像中。以香港電影發展里程作主軸,香港電影資料館的「時間巨輪—光影香江百年情」展覽,帶領觀眾走進時間的光影巨輪,重新認識香港的社會面貌和歷史潮流。

  「時間巨輪—光影香江百年情」展覽由現在至三月四日在香港電影資料館展覽廳展出,展現1898年至2010年間香港的小城大事及都會發展。免費入場。

  展覽以時光隧道的裝置分為六區。第一區「華洋薈•維城建」,展示1898年至1949年的香港面貌。館藏最早的《愛迪生短片》(1898)把香港的早期市貌與黎民生活點滴捕捉在鏡頭下;《經巡中國》(1916)更盡現當年中環古典建築群的壯麗景觀,華洋各階層的生活百態、沿海商行、碼頭、人力車、轎子、電車等等舊日風光,亦盡覽無遺。

  戰後香港迅速重建,但港人的黑暗回憶仍是縈繞不去。第二展區「懷鄉情•都市夢」的電影如《細路祥》(1950)展示親人離散的現象,而《樓下閂水喉》(1954)、《誤佳期》(1951)、《四千金》(1957)則反映了草根階層的生活及中產階層的冒起。

  展區「舊價值•新青年」聚焦香港1960年至1975年這破舊立新的時代。戰後嬰兒在六十年代成長,工商繁榮,人口膨脹,《人海孤鴻》(1960)、《憤怒青年》(1973)等呈現治安、住屋、勞工等問題。許冠文的《天才與白痴》(1975)諷刺當時港人瘋狂炒股求發達的心態。張徹的《大刺客》(1967)及李小龍的動作片流露年輕人的躁動,他們欲打破宿命,吐氣揚眉。風月片《女人面觀觀》(1974)、《金瓶雙艷》(1972)等紛紛湧現,以示傳統思維隨社會進步逐漸解放。

  七十年代經濟復甦,香港的普及文化亦有令人目眩的發展,一班「新浪潮」導演拍出創意獨特、社會觸覺強烈的作品。「存叛逆•謀突破」展區,反映社會如何面對和突破種種問題。《廉政風暴》(1975)把葛柏貪污案搬上大銀幕;《胡越的故事》(1981)回應香港的越南難民問題;《半斤八O》(1976)及《最佳拍檔》(1982)分別針對勞工及新冒升起的中產階級;《投奔怒海》(1982)及《省港旗兵》(1984)側面反映香港人對前途的惶惑。

  「璀璨閃•煙花燼」一區聚焦於1985年至1997年間,表面璀璨閃耀的「東方之珠」,難掩「今朝有酒今朝醉」的悲觀心態。寫末路英雄反撲的《英雄本色》(1986)、無厘頭的《賭聖》(1990)、嘲諷政治冷感的《表姐,妳好洁I》(1990)等都反映港人長期備受政治困擾、寧願沉溺玩樂或希冀英雄出現的空虛心靈。而《我愛太空人》(1988)和《香港製造》(1997)則分別反映移民潮及對回歸的憂慮。

  最後一區「擁祖國•守本土」可見電影反映九七回歸後香港面對民生、經濟及政治等考驗。臥底電影「無間道」系列(2002-03)等把香港人糾結的身份問題糅合到警匪電影類型。《少林足球》(2001)顯示港人經歷金融風暴後的頑強生命力;《1:99電影行動》(2003) 精神上支持齊心抗疫的香港人;《麥兜•菠蘿油王子》(2004)、《歲月神偷》(2009)等勾起對保育文化的關注。

  電影資料館展覽廳的開放時間為上午十時至晚上八時,逢星期四休息。有關展覽的查詢,可致電:二七三九 二一三九。

二○一二年一月二十六日(星期四)

001

香港電影資料館「時間巨輪—光影香江百年情」展覽。

002

香港電影資料館「時間巨輪—光影香江百年情」展覽。

 

 

 
  【昔日新聞公報】 【返回頁首】  

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群
2003| 重要告示 修訂日期 : 2012年1月26日