Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.31 11:34 32°C SunnyVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: October
 
Cinematic world of versatile director Lee Tit to be featured at HK Film Archive
**************************************************

     Lee Tit, one of Cantonese cinema's top directors, was known for his dedication to artistic excellence. He worked slowly, taking his time in directing and carefully preparing everything to his satisfaction. Lee was versatile and worked especially well with actresses, which gave rise to his sensitive portrayals of women. He captured his characters with sympathetic, evocative nuances, and coaxed gripping performances from his leading ladies like Pak Yin, Hung Sin Nui, Fong Yim-fun, Pak Suet-sin, Nam Hung, Kong Suet and Ting Ying.

     The Hong Kong Film Archive (HKFA)'s new programme "Master of Versatility: Lee Tit", guest curated by film critic Mr Thomas Shin, will screen 15 films of different genres from October 23 to December 18 at the Cinema of the HKFA to showcase Lee's cinematic world.

     The selected films include Cantonese opera film classics in "Butterfly and Red Pear Blossom" (1959) and two versions of "The Legend of Purple Hairpin" made in 1959 and 1977; the graceful work of Lee and writer-director Tong Tik-sang in "The Dream Encounter Between Emperor Wu of Han and Lady Wai" (1954); "Girl in Red" (1952) and "The Warlord and the Beauty" (1956), featuring women of strong personalities; and social-realist drama in the Union Film classic "In the Face of Demolition" (1953) and "Father is Back" (1961). Also showing are Lee's outstanding melodramas "Eternal Love" (1955), "The Ill-fated Girl" (1963), "Painstaking Lovers" (1964) and "Her Unrequited Love" (1955); the crime film "Murderer in Town" (1958); the brilliant thriller "We Want to Live" (1960); and the jewel-thief flick "Love at First Sight" (1967). All films are in Cantonese without English subtitles.

     Two seminars, "The Films of Lee Tit" and "On the Legend", will be held at 5.30pm on November 19 and 26 respectively at the Cinema of the HKFA. Mr Shin will host the seminars, and speakers will include the programmer of the HKFA, Mr Sam Ho, and film critics Mr Shu Kei and Ms Natalia Chan. Some of the screenings will also have post-screening talks with film critics sharing their views. The seminars and post-screening talks will be conducted in Cantonese. Admission is free.

     Director Lee was responsible for some of the best Cantonese opera films in history. His friendship and collaboration with Tong Tik-sang, the master librettist of Cantonese opera, produced many impressive films including several Cantonese opera classics starring Yam Kim-fai and Pak Suet-sin.

     Two versions of the renowned Cantonese opera film "The Legend of Purple Hairpin" will be featured. The 1959 production brilliantly featured the performances of Yam and Pak as well as Lan Chi-pak and Leung Sing-po, and brought librettist Tong's graceful writing to the screen. The later production in 1977 features Lung Kim-sang and Mui Suet-see, the original stars' protégés. While the opera performances by the younger players are not as skilled, the later version is the most cinematically accomplished as Lee's mise-en-scène gets actively involved in the storytelling, reaching new heights in the blending of film and opera.

     Based on a highly acclaimed Cantonese opera written by Tong, and performed by Yam and Pak, "Butterfly and Red Pear Blossom" is a near-perfect marriage of two art forms. The opera is brought to cinematic life with fluid and elegant direction by Lee, who finds the balance between the theatrical stylisations of opera and the requisite realism of film. Tong died a day before the film was screened, bringing to an end the collaboration of the four artists. In another adaptation of Tong's operas, "The Dream Encounter Between Emperor Wu of Han and Lady Wai", Lee downplays the work's musical and theatrical origins, going instead for a cultivation of mood and atmosphere, stunningly realised by the expressive photography of Ho Look-ying.

     From maidens with turbulent fates to women of ambiguous morals, Lee sensitively portrayed different characters of women. "Girl in Red" was Lee's first collaboration with actress Hung Sin Nui. She played a dancer with simple vanity, spoiled by the flattery of adoring men and intoxicated by the lifestyle of her trade. The film features a nuanced performance by Hung and stylised mise-en-scène by Lee. Based on Giacomo Puccini's "Tosca", "The Warlord and the Beauty" starring Pak Suet-sin and Ng Cho-fan is a marvellous thriller featuring a melodramatic love rectangle. Lee deftly integrates political intrigue with dramatic twists and turns, establishing richly complicated relationships between the characters while using opera performances to enhance the drama.

     In addition to the Cantonese opera films, Lee made some of the most memorable social-realist films, including "In the Face of Demolition" and "Father is Back". The former production features families and individuals sharing a crowded partitioned flat. Lee's camera glides through the cramped space with flowing elegance, and all the while the director orchestrates the movements and performances of the all-star cast. "Father is Back" is a gem of Cantonese cinema. It extends the social-realist concern of Lee's earlier films to include a treatise on social bias against ex-cons.

     With Cantonese opera star Fong Yim-fun playing a woman with a turbulent fate, "Her Unrequited Love" features an interesting discipline-crossing touch: an opera angle animated by stage performances and backstage scenes. Adapted from Theodore Dreiser's "Sister Carrie", "Eternal Love" is one of the best melodramas, with director Lee effectively creating a moving portrayal of a man whose pursuit of happiness is repeatedly thwarted by cruel fate.

     In another brilliant melodrama, this time played by Lam Kar-sing and Ting Ying, "The Ill-fated Girl" features a familiar story of a young woman having to endure catastrophic hardships. With a fresh approach, Lee gives the title character the blessing of strength more befitting of a modern woman as she stands up to the cruel hands of fate with perseverance. Adapted from Li Ngaw's airwaves novel "Painstaking Lovers", the work is an inspired rendition of the familiar stance against arranged marriage. Lee enhances his telling of the story through composition, camera movement and editing, resulting in another brilliant work.

     One of Lee's unsung accomplishments is his excellence in genre films. The crime film "Murderer in Town" is a perfect demonstration of Lee's talent in genre pictures. The film rises above the occasional crudity typical of Cantonese crime films with an exceptionally constructed script and effective direction by turns stylish and restrained. "We Want to Live" is one of the best thrillers of Cantonese cinema. By infusing the action with neo-realism, Lee strikes a wonderful balance between commercial demands and production company Union Film's unwavering dedication to social justice. The film is a tale of four desperados who break the law in a desperate attempt to better their lives, and Lee portrays the characters with flesh and blood.

     A thriller with trendy touches of cheesy Jane Bond silliness, "Love at First Sight" is marked by a tight murder-and-revenge story, witty plot twists and interesting central characters, played with intelligence and irony by Lui Kay and Nam Hung. Lee directs with a sure hand, his skills honed by years of making detective films.

     Tickets priced at $30 are available at URBTIX outlets. Half-price concessionary tickets are available for senior citizens aged 60 and above, people with disabilities, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. Credit card bookings can be made on 2111 5999 or on the Internet at www.urbtix.hk.

     Detailed programme information can be found in "ProFolio 59", distributed at all performing venues of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. For enquiries, please call 2739 2139 or 2734 2900, or browse the webpage www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/english/2011lt/2011lt_index.html.

Ends/Monday, October 17, 2011
NNNN

aa

A film still from "Girl in Red" (1952).

001

A film still from "In the Face of Demolition" (1953).

cc

A film still from "Eternal Love" (1955).

dd

A film still from "The Warlord and the Beauty" (1956).

ee

A film still from "Murderer in Town" (1958).

ff

A film still from "Butterfly and Red Pear Blossom" (1959).

gg

A film still from "The Ill-fated Girl" (1963).

hh

A film still from "Love at First Sight" (1967).

003

A film still from "The Legend of Purple Hairpin" (1977).

 

 

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 17 October, 2011

康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
刊物及新聞公報2014.07.24 06:21 29°C 間有陽光幾陣驟雨
 
* 刊物及新聞公報 *
*
* 主頁 *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* 公用表格 *
* *
* *
* *
* 招聘 *
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
無障礙網頁守則
新聞公報

圖: 新聞稿圖 : October
 
「紅顏薄命 戲韻傳情」 電影資料館回顧李鐵戲味濃郁的光影世界
******************************

  溫文爾雅的李鐵導演,對電影藝術的追求嚴肅認真,堅持慢工出細貨。他擅拍紅粉飄零的女性電影,鏡頭下的女演員如白燕、紅線女、芳艷芬、白雪仙,以至南紅、江雪、丁瑩均精湛多采。他圓熟的電影造詣,見諸每齣作品,電影戲味特別濃郁,戲韻傳情意味深長。  

  香港電影資料館即將舉辦的「紅顏薄命 戲韻傳情─李鐵」專題,由影評人登徒客席策劃,於十月二十三日至十二月十八日,在資料館電影院放映十五齣李鐵不同題材的作品,回顧這位多才多藝的導演優異不凡的光影世界。 

  選映電影包括口碑載道的戲曲經典,任白的瑰寶《蝶影紅梨記》(1959);於一九五九年及一九七七年出品,分別由任白及徒弟龍劍笙、梅雪仙主演的《紫釵記》;李鐵與唐滌生合作的《漢武帝夢會衛夫人》(1954);他塑造了自求我道的揚眉女子角色的《一丈紅》(1952) 和《霸王妖姬》(1956);中聯的寫實電影經典《危樓春曉》(1953)及後期的《火窟幽蘭》(1961);女性悲劇《紅粉飄零未了情》(1955)、《天長地久》(1955)、《卿何薄命》(1963)及《苦戀》(1964);黑色電影《香城兇影》(1958);社會寫實犯罪片《我要活下去》(1960);及娛樂性豐富的俠盜青春片《一見痴情》(1967)。

  為配合放映,於十一月十九日下午五時三十分將舉行「李鐵電影」座談會,由電影資料館節目策劃何思穎及影評人舒琪主講。另於十一月二十六日下午五時三十分舉行「紫釵傳奇」座談會,由何思穎及影評人洛楓主講。兩場座談會均於資料館電影院舉行,由登徒主持。粵語主講,免費入場。此外,多齣電影亦設有映後談,由影評人與觀眾分享觀影心得。

  李鐵最讓人口碑載道的是他與唐滌生的合作關係,由早期出任技術顧問的《董小宛》,改編唐滌生「非戲曲」作品的《漢武帝夢會衛夫人》,以至多部任白戲寶,可謂經典如雲。二人私交甚篤,對戲曲和電影的融合起茯菑狩v響。

  是次將放映李鐵分別於五十年代及七十年代執導兩部膾灸人口的《紫釵記》。一九五九年的版本由任白主演,李鐵將內容濃縮刪減之外,亦修改音樂,以動作、對白和影像來刪減「板面」,並且多用小曲,省去虛字虛句,做到一點到題,突出戲味和戲劇效果,把唐滌生的想像力和構思精粹表露無遺,並將任劍輝、白雪仙、靚次伯、梁醒波的唱做功架與電影語言融合。由龍劍笙及梅雪詩主演的《紫釵記》(1977),李鐵以電影角度處理,把場口修得更緊湊,刪減唸白直入戲肉,而且更茩城蛣和景物的呼應。霍小玉與李十郎的醋雨酸風到破鏡重圓,跌宕抑揚一氣呵成,電影戲曲揮然一體。

  另一任白戲寶《蝶影紅梨記》,保持了李鐵的沉實風格,將舞台紀錄和電影語言融合,呼應了唐滌生筆下有緣無份,隔空傳情的戲劇矛盾,場面調度和演出俱登峰造極,意韻深長。唐滌生於影片公映前一天逝世,成為李鐵、唐滌生和任白這四角組合的訣別作。李鐵配合唐滌生將原著戲曲《漢武帝夢會衛夫人》變為劇情電影,是二人的高峰作,何鹿影的高反差攝影,將宮闈恩怨、政治權力、人性黑暗和暗殺驚魂,襯托得天衣無縫。

  戲曲電影只是李鐵電影生涯一部分,他對演員的掌握尤其到家,他擅拍女性題材,與紅線女首度合作的《一丈紅》中,傳奇舞女恃靚行兇,驕縱任性,紅線女把這危險女人的巴辣、勢利、驕矜和嫵媚,共冶一爐,令男士不能自拔。《霸王妖姬》改編自普契尼的《托斯卡》,白雪仙演的名伶白艷紅,以肝膽相照情義雙存的烈女形象示人;吳楚帆首度演繹大奸角,霸氣凌人。李鐵以短促的剪接,慎密而含蓄的影機運動,令影像和張力都別具一格。

  李鐵自言喜愛小市民的社會寫實電影,中聯時期的《危樓春曉》是他慢工出細貨的代表作。為了人物感情的連貫性,他堅持由頭至尾順序拍攝,浩費不少人力物力,換來是一屋多伙與日俱增的細膩感情。而後期的《火窟幽蘭》同是一屋多伙的板間房和床位儼如社會縮影圖,奈何今非昔比,道友、賭鬼、鴇母不但非互相守望,弱女更被虎視眈眈,弱勢人士受盡歧視。情境直接面對生存的現實,善惡之間的複雜性,比《危樓春曉》更意味深長。

  女性悲劇《紅粉飄零未了情》,芳艷芬的戲伶形象配以苦命紅顏的曲折,伊秋水演愛女深切的伶人父親和陶三姑演賣女求榮的星媽,一正一反,生動感人。改編自德萊•瑟小說《嘉麗妹妹》的蕩氣迴腸的人間悲劇《天長地久》,貧賤夫妻百事哀,一對戀人幾經離合,二人再相逢已是百年身。林家聲、丁瑩主演的《卿何薄命》,青年與富家小姐相逢恨晚,紅顏薄命,姻緣被命運捉弄,表面上是個輾轉破鏡重圓纏綿哀怨的悲劇,然而李鐵拍得特別古雅有緻,人物大都瀰漫君子氣派,看透命途多舛,世故多情。改編李我天空小說的《苦戀》,渴望自由的下一代奉父母之命成婚,婚後有名無實,卻以自己的方式延續所愛,題材和意識均十分大膽。

  李鐵在類型電影一力探索,他和孫倫一導一攝的《香城兇影》,打造出希治閣式的懸疑驚慄,布局複雜奇情,埋下了夾帶私逃、黑吃黑、勾義嫂和無間道的百味紛陳,有黑色電影的人性黑暗,卻同時充滿李鐵嚴謹細膩的風格。李鐵在中聯後期的顛峰作《我要活下去》,走新寫實主義的風格,運用大量外景實景,運鏡剪接和場面調度等皆匠心獨運。四個主角四段悲劇,中聯的社會寫實和道德教化並行而至,同時加入人物的心理狀況和夢魘,帶出了勢利貪婪背信棄義。

  他的類型片變化多端,不單有社會寫實犯罪片、武俠動作片、喜劇,還有呂奇及南紅擔綱的俠盜青春片《一見痴情》,集愛情、探案、盜寶及復仇橋段,情節刁鑽而人物突出,李鐵難得展現其輕鬆通俗的一面,娛樂性豐富之餘,卻仍滿載神采。

  所有影片均為粵語對白。門票現於各城市電腦售票處發售。票價三十元,設六十歲或以上高齡、殘疾人士、全日制學生及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士半價優惠。信用卡電話購票:二一一一 五九九九。網上訂票:www.urbtix.hk

  節目查詢:二七三九 二一三九/二七三四 二九○○,詳情可參閱於康樂及文化事務署轄下表演場地備取的第五十九期《展影》或瀏覽網頁:www.lcsd.gov.hk/ce/CulturalService/filmprog/chinese/2011ms/2011ms_index.html

二○一一年十月十七日(星期一)

aa

《一丈紅》(1952)之劇照。

001

《危樓春曉》(1953)之劇照。

cc

《天長地久》(1955)之劇照。

dd

《霸王妖姬》(1956)之劇照。

ee

《香城兇影》(1958)之劇照。

ff

《蝶影紅梨記》(1959)之劇照。

gg

《卿何薄命》(1963)之劇照。

hh

《一見痴情》(1967)之劇照。

003

《紫釵記》(1977)之劇照。

 

 

 
  【昔日新聞公報】 【返回頁首】  

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群
2003| 重要告示 修訂日期 : 2011年10月17日