Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.11.26 23:20 23°C Cloudy
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2011
May
LCSD museums open free of charge this weekend in support of International Museum Day
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     International Museum Day 2011, Hong Kong (IMD 2011, HK) will take place this Saturday and Sunday (May 14 and 15). All museums under the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) and many other participating local museums will be open free of charge on these two days, allowing visitors to enjoy a wide range of exhibitions and to join tailor-made educational and entertaining programmes.

     Since 1978, the International Council of Museums (ICOM) has designated May 18 as International Museum Day (IMD) to arouse public awareness of the role that museums play in society. The LCSD has echoed this important appeal since 2001 and organises IMD events in mid-May each year.

     One of the major functions of museums is to preserve the cultural heritage of mankind through collecting artefacts. The artefacts collected by museums contain a unique story. To encourage the public to explore and recall the meaning and the otherwise perhaps-forgotten parts of these collections, the ICOM has set the theme for this year as "Museum and Memory - Objects Tell Your Story".

     More than 30 local cultural institutions will take part in IMD 2011, HK. They are Hong Kong Museum of History and its branches, Hong Kong Museum of Art and its branch, Hong Kong Heritage Museum and its branches, Hong Kong Science Museum, Hong Kong Space Museum, Hong Kong Film Archive, Central Conservation Section under LCSD, Antiquities and Monuments Office and Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre, Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre, Art Promotion Office, Museum of Ethnology, Tung Wah Museum, Po Leung Kuk Museum, University Museum and Art Gallery of the University of Hong Kong, Stephen Hui Geological Museum of the University of Hong Kong, Art Museum of Institute of Chinese Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Dr & Mrs Hung Hin Shiu Museum of Chinese Medicine of Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong Maritime Museum, Hong Kong Museum of Education of the Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong Planning and Infrastructure Exhibition Gallery, Hong Kong Racing Museum, Hong Kong Correctional Services Museum, Lions Nature Education Centre of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, Tao Heung Museum of Food Culture, Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences, Hong Kong Jockey Club Drug InfoCentre (closed on May 15) and Police Museum. Most of the participating museums and organisations will offer free admission this Saturday and Sunday except for Hong Kong Space Museum's Stanley Ho Space Theatre, Hong Kong Heritage Museum's Special Exhibition "Pixar: 25 Years of Animation", Hong Kong Science Museum's special exhibition "Albert Einstein (1879-1955)", Hong Kong Film Archive Cinema, Hong Kong Maritime Museum and Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences.

     A series of special programmes and activities will be held by various museums during the museums' open days. These include the "Guided Tour - A Landscape Journey: Chinese Landscape Painting from the Xubaizhai Collection", "Art Demonstration: Printmaking in Memory of Ha Bik-chuen", and "Objects Tell Stories by Storyteller" to be held by the Hong Kong Museum of Art; "The Joy of Country Cooking" and "Posters Tell the World's Stories" to be held by the Hong Kong Heritage Museum; "Be Our Guest: Stamping Your Way in 'The Hong Kong Story'" to be held by the Hong Kong Museum of History; and many others.

     Please visit the websites of the respective museums for details of the programmes.

Ends/Thursday, May 12, 2011
NNNN

  

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.11.23 16:55 24°C 陽光充沛黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2011
May
「國際博物館日」本周末舉行市民可免費參觀康文署博物館
******************************

  「2011香港國際博物館日」將於本星期六及日(五月十四及十五日)舉行,屆時康樂及文化事務署(康文署)轄下所有博物館及多間本地文博單位將免費開放,讓大眾參觀其常設展覽廳,及參與多項教育及推廣活動,藉此加深對本地博物館的認識。

  國際博物館協會自一九七八年起,將每年的五月十八日定為「國際博物館日」,以喚起公眾對博物館的關注。康文署自二○○一年起亦響應這項國際性活動,並於每年五月中舉辦「香港國際博物館日」。

  博物館其中一個主要功能是透過蒐集文物,以保存人類的文化遺產。每件被保存的物件都蘊含其獨特的故事,今年的國際博物館日主題就是「博物館與回憶-物件背後的故事」,希望鼓勵市民大眾一起發掘博物館藏品的意義和珍貴的回憶。

  今年,有三十多間本地文博單位參與「2011香港國際博物館日」,包括香港歷史博物館及其屬館、香港藝術館及其屬館、香港文化博物館及其屬館、香港科學館、香港太空館、香港電影資料館、康文署轄下文物修復組、古物古蹟辦事處及其轄下香港文物探知館、屏山鄧族文物館暨文物徑訪客中心、藝術推廣辦事處、人類民俗館、東華三院文物館、保良局歷史博物館、香港大學美術博物館、香港大學許士芬地質博物館、香港中文大學中國文化研究所文物館、香港浸會大學孔憲紹博士伉儷中醫藥博物館、香港海事博物館、香港教育學院香港教育博物館、香港規劃及基建展覽館、香港賽馬博物館、香港懲教博物館、漁農自然護理署獅子會自然教育中心、稻鄉飲食文化博物館、香港醫學博物館、香港賽馬會藥物資訊天地(於五月十五日休館),以及警隊博物館。以上博物館於本星期六及日免費開放,惟香港太空館何鴻燊天象廳、香港文化博物館特備展覽「彼思動畫25年」、香港科學館特備展覽「愛因斯坦(1879-1955)」、香港電影資料館電影院、香港海事博物館及香港醫學博物館除外。

  香港國際博物館日舉行期間,參與的文博單位亦同時推出一系列精彩的特別活動及節目,例如香港藝術館舉行的「專題導賞:遊山水──虛白齋藏畫選」、「藝術示範:混合版畫憶夏爺」及「講古佬時段:古物話當年」;香港文化博物館則有「農村入廚樂」及「藉海報說故事」;香港歷史博物館亦將舉行「『印』象中的展品:香港故事篇」等等。

  有關「2011香港國際博物館日」節目詳情,可瀏覽各博物館的網頁。

二○一一年五月十二日(星期四)

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群