Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.24 20:45 25°C Cloudy
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2010
December
Film Festival - an inspiring cinematic tour of multicultural, dynamic Israel
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     Subtle yet dramatic, Israeli films are fast gaining recognition on the international festival circuit. Next month's "Israeli Film Festival 2011" depicts the rich cultural heritage of this multicultural and dynamic nation with a diverse programme of drama, comedy, thriller, action and documentary. 

     Jointly presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) and the Consulate General of Israel, the festival will showcase nine titles for an inspiring cinematic tour. The films will be shown from January 11 to 23, 2011 at the Lecture Halls of Hong Kong Space Museum and Hong Kong Science Museum, and the Hong Kong Film Archive Cinema.

     The films include an espionage thriller "The Debt", a bittersweet comedy "Five Hours from Paris", and the touching "Eli & Ben" and "Out of Sight". "Spring 1941" focuses on a war-time love triangle, "The Assassin Next Door" stars new Bond femme fatale Olga Kurylenko and "Maya, to Touch the Soul" takes a look at the pursuit of art and love. There are also two documentaries - "Ida's Dance Club" and "Ladino – 500 Years Young".

     The opening film, "The Debt" (2007), has recently undergone an acclaimed English language makeover by director John Madden. The plot follows three young Mossad agents who receive a hero's welcome for killing a notorious Nazi doctor, nicknamed the"Surgeon of Birkenau". In fact, their mission to apprehend the surgeon has gone wrong, but they keep the secret among themselves. Forty years later, Rachel, now a successful writer receives news that the surgeon is still alive and she has to finish off "the job". 

     "Maya, to Touch the Soul" (2010) features coffee shop waitress Maya, who aspires to become an actress and captures the attention of a playwright for casting in his new play. As Maya immerses herself in her role, she discovers an unknown side of herself, and also becomes romantically involved with the playwright. Maya pulls out all stops for a performance that proves to be a knockout for everyone in the audience, if not her lover.

     The light-hearted "Five Hours from Paris" (2009) touches on the universal feeling of "wanting to be somewhere else". Middle-aged taxi driver Yigal seems to have little going on his life – he's divorced but frequently visits his ex-wife to help take care of his son. He wants to go to Paris but is petrified by the prospect of the five-hour flight. His life seems to be taking a turn for the better when he meets his son's choir teacher, Lina, and the two loners develop a mutual affection for each other. But Lina is married and waiting for her husband to take her to Canada. The film won Best Film at the Haifa International Film Festival 2009.

     Perhaps a boy can tell right from wrong better than adults. In "Eli & Ben" (2009), Eli's father has been arrested on bribery charges and the 12-year-old Eli finds that he is also under surveillance by the authorities. While believing his father is innocent, he faces a moral dilemma when his father plans to run away. The film won the Grand Prix (Golden Swan) at the Moscow International Festival for Children and Youth 2009.

     Who can see the darkest depths of human nature? Ya'ara in "Out of Sight" (2006) can see it despite her blindness. Ya'ara rushes back to Israel for her best friend and cousin Talia's funeral. While musing on memories of growing up with Talia, she discovers the painful secrets of Talia's past - the reasons behind her suicide. A touching story that depicts friendship, sacrifice and courage, the film won Best Director and Best Cinematographer at the Israeli Film Academy 2005. 

     Also on female friendship, "The Assassin Next Door" (2009) featuring the new Bond girl, Olga Kurylenko, is full of explosive action. Gaila is a Russian assassin controlled by a crime ring. All she wants is to be reunited with her daughter back home. Her new neighbour Eleanor, a supermarket clerk, longs to break free from her abusive husband. They form an unlikely kinship through their common desire to be free from the tyranny of men. When Gaila refuses to kill her last target, she decides to revolt against her tormentor. The film was in competition for Israel's Ophir Awards 2010.

     In "Spring 1941" (2008), renowned cellist Clara takes refuge from the Nazis at a farm near Auschwitz with her daughter and husband Artur. Farm owner Emelia asks Artur to pretend to be her husband (who has gone off to war) while Clara and the child hide in attic. Affection starts to develop between the two but Clara can only peek from her hiding place. Is it love or the pathos of war that has fuelled this desperate love triangle?
 
     Also not to be missed are two the documentaries. "Ida's Dance Club" (2009) is a gratifying reminder that a passion for going beyond one's boundaries is not exclusively reserved for the young, but is for all those who are young at heart. Retirees become recharged with a zest for life when they decide to participate in dance competition.

     Ladino was the language of the Spanish Jews in the Middle Ages. The documentary "Ladino – 500 Years Young" (2005) follows singer Yasmin Levy on a concert tour through Spain, where she treads her ancestor’s footsteps and rediscovers her identity as a Ladino Jew.

     English subtitles are available for all films. "The Debt", "Five Hours from Paris", "Eli & Ben", "The Assassin Next Door" and "Out of Sight" also have Chinese subtitles.

    Tickets priced at $40 are available at all URBTIX outlets. Half-price concessionary tickets are available for senior citizens aged 60 and above, people with disabilities, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. Credit card bookings can be made on 2111 5999, or on the Internet at www.urbtix.hk.

    Programme details can be obtained in the programme leaflet available at all LCSD performing venues. For enquiries, please call 2734 2900 or browse the website: www.lcsd.gov.hk/fp.

Ends/Tuesday, December 14, 2010
NNNN

1

A film still from "The Debt" (2007).

_2

A film still from "Maya, to Touch the Soul" (2010).

_3

A film still from "Five Hours from Paris" (2009).

4

A film still from "Eli & Ben" (2009).

05

A film still from "Out of Sight" (2006).

6

A film still from "The Assassin Next Door" (2009).

7

A film still from "Spring 1941" (2008).

8

A film still from "Ida's Dance Club" (2009).

09

A film still from "Ladino - 500 Years Young" (2005).

 

 

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.31 00:57 25°C 天色大致良好
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
December
「以色列電影節2011」精彩影片 展現以色列多元文化與活力
******************************

    近年的以色列電影百花齊放,成為不少影展的常客,贏得多個國際獎項,並數次獲奧斯卡最佳外語片提名。下月舉行的「以色列電影節2011」將放映不同題材的影片,包括喜劇、懸疑片、紀錄片及動作片等,讓觀眾從不同角度欣賞以色列電影,感受該國豐厚的文化和多元化的動感活力。

    是次電影節由康樂及文化事務署(康文署)及以色列總領事館合辦,將於二○一一年一月十一日至二十三日,在香港電影資料館電影院、香港科學館及香港太空館的演講廳放映九齣以色列不同風格的精彩電影,選映的影片包括懸疑間諜片《諜債》,追求藝術與愛情的《情傾舞台》,在愛情中成長的《愛在巴黎另一端》,有關父子情與公義的《赤子心》,細膩感人的生命讚歌《看不見的真相》,既要對抗惡勢力又要維護好姊妹的《鄰家殺手》,戰火中的三角錯戀《愛在戰火蔓延時》,以及描寫花甲之年仍是活力澎湃的紀錄片《翩翩歲月》和充滿文化承傳的《被遺忘的天籟》。

    開幕電影諜戰懸疑片《諜債》(2007) 剛被《寫我深情》導演約翰‧麥登看中,重拍成英語版本。三名年輕以色列特工奉命把納粹戰犯生擒到以色列受審,行動並不順利,他們卻對外訛稱已剷除了綽號「比克瑙醫生」的劊子手,回國時受到英雄式的歡迎。四十年後,女特工麗楚已成為名作家,卻突然得悉「醫生」仍在人間,她無奈要把「任務」完成,當年的債,今天終要償還。
   
    《情傾舞台》(2010)描寫以色列少女追求夢想堅毅不屈的精神。咖啡室侍應少女瑪雅醉心表演藝術,積極爭取各樣的舞台演出機會。一天機會終於來臨,成為新劇女主角。隨瑪雅深入揣摩角色,她與編劇互生情愫,並發現了自己的另一面。首演當晚,瑪雅的傾情演出獲得觀眾一致的掌聲,但編劇卻怪責她背棄劇本的原意。被困於追求藝術、事業和愛情的壓力下,瑪雅會如何處理?

    人到中年,面對天天如是的刻板生活,難免想跨越自我的界限,惜事情未必如意。《愛在巴黎另一端》(2009)的的士司機易高每天穿梭於特拉維夫的大街小巷,間中到前妻的寓所黐餐和探望兒子。他渴望到巴黎,但想到要乘搭五小時飛機便害怕得要死。在平淡的日子中忽然遇上兒子的詩歌班老師莉娜,兩顆寂寞的心隨即惺惺相惜成為密友,無奈已婚的莉娜正在等待另一半接她往加拿大。影片獲2009年以色列海法國際電影節最佳電影。

    誰說「細路仔唔識世界」?《赤子心》(2009)中十二歲的兒子伊利比他身邊的成年人更能分辨是非。他面對任職城市規劃署的父親因收受非法回佣被警方拘捕,報章大肆報導,同學予以白眼。堅信父親清白的伊利發現自己也被警方監視,遂故意發放假消息擾亂視聽,卻因此與負責調查的警員成為朋友。父親計劃棄保潛逃,伊利陷入面對秉行公義及維護父親的兩難局面。影片獲頒2009年莫斯科國際兒童及青少年電影節大獎。

    誰能看見人心靈最黑暗的深處?《看不見的真相》(2006)中雙目失明的博士生雅娜從美國趕回老家以色列,出席剛自殺身亡的好友泰莉的喪禮。她回想起二人的童年往事,赫然發現原來泰莉在十多年來一直隱藏一個痛苦的秘密,成為泰莉自殺的誘因。一篇關於友情、愛情、犧牲和勇氣的生命頌歌。影片獲2005年以色列電影學院獎最佳導演及最佳電影。

    另一部關於女性情誼的的電影《鄰家殺手》(2009),由新一代邦女郎奧嘉‧古莉寧高挑大樑,盡顯新一代打女掌門人風範。俄羅斯女子契娜為求與女兒團聚,為犯罪集團充當殺手,她遇上飽受丈夫虐待的鄰居艾蓮娜,成為莫逆之交。犯罪集團指令契娜殺害一名女子;契娜不忍下手正要逃亡,終可登機回家之際卻收到艾蓮娜的電話求助,親情和友誼,她該如何抉擇?影片為2010以色列電影學院獎入圍電影。

    一九四一年,納粹的鐵蹄踐踏波蘭,令不少猶太人家庭烙下不能磨滅的傷痛回憶。《愛在戰火蔓延時》(2008)中的猶太裔大提琴家凱雅和丈夫亞達及兩名女兒逃難到村莊,獲雜貨店的東主收留。寡婦艾蓮娜要求亞達假扮其丈夫,凱雅和女兒要躲在閣樓內。目睹丈夫與寡婦日久生情,但要在紛亂的世代中生存,她只可啞忍。這段三角錯愛是患難見真情,是死亡的陰霾,還是求生的意慾?

    是次電影節亦會同場放映兩齣紀錄片:《翩翩歲月》(2009)紀錄了一班已逾花甲的長者參加舞蹈大賽,憑對生命的熱誠,把年齡和回憶的包袱拋諸腦後,用行動活出精彩的人生;拉迪諾語是中世紀西班牙猶太人的語言,在《被遺忘的天籟》(2005)中,一位拉迪諾語歌文化的承傳者雅斯敏以歌聲唱出猶太人族群被逐出西班牙後的辛酸史。

    《愛在戰火蔓延時》、《情傾舞台》和兩齣紀錄片設英文字幕,其他影片均設中、英文字幕。

    門票現於各城市電腦售票處發售,票價四十元,設六十歲或以上高齡、殘疾人士、全日制學生及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士半價優惠。信用咭電話購票:二一一一 五九九九。網上訂票:www.urbtix.hk。節目詳情可參閱於康文署轄下表演場地備取的節目單張。查詢電話:二七三四 二九○○,網址: www.lcsd.gov.hk/fp

二○一○年十二月十四日(星期二)

1

《諜債》(2007)之劇照。

_2

《情傾舞台》(2010)之劇照。

_3

《愛在巴黎另一端》(2009)之劇照。

4

《赤子心》(2009)之劇照。

05

《看不見的真相》(2006)之劇照。

6

《鄰家殺手》(2009)之劇照。

7

《愛在戰火蔓延時》(2008)之劇照。

8

《翩翩起舞》(2009)之劇照。

09

《被遺忘的天籟》(2005)之劇照。

 

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群