Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.04.24 13:04 22°C Light Rain
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: December
 
An irrecoverable Old and Valuable Tree in Tsim Sha Tsui to be removed
**************************************************

     In response to media enquiries, a spokesman for the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) today (December 6) said that further examination of the tree structure of an Old and Valuable Tree (OVT) with the assistance of a resistograph today, together with the findings and analysis by Tree Management Office (TMO) of the Development Bureau and tree experts, confirmed that the tree was suffering from irrecoverable poor health and early action was needed to remove the tree in question in the interest of public safety.

     The OVT with registration number YTM10 is located at Park Lane Shoppers Boulevard in Tsim Sha Tsui. Today's further examination follows TMO's and LCSD's joint inspection with experts yesterday, which confirmed that the tree was suffering from brown root rot disease and banyan tussock moth attack.  The joint inspection, led by the Head of TMO, Mr Lawrence Chau, had found the OVT had little chance of recovery. Although the structure of the tree did not pose immediate danger of collapse, considering the potential risk of a sick tree in a location with high pedestrian flow, TMO and LCSD decided that the tree should be removed as early as possible to ensure public safety.

     The LCSD had been closely monitoring the condition of the OVT by conducting ongoing checks and taking appropriate maintenance measures. Early in October, the department noticed the health condition of the tree in question had deteriorated.  The tree was later found to have abnormal defoliation in early November due to attack by banyan tussock moth. Pesticides were immediately applied to the tree to control the situation. In addition, other suitable maintenance measures were instituted including pruning, application of fungicide and reinforced irrigation.

     The LCSD spokesman said the department would closely monitor the health conditions of other OVTs in the vicinity and maintenance measures would be instituted where appropriate.

     The spokesman reiterated that LCSD would continue to adopt a prudent approach in managing trees under its care. For trees in poor conditions, removal would be the last resort only when there were no other viable options.

Ends/Monday, December 6, 2010
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 6 December, 2010

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.11.23 05:36 22°C 大致多雲
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
December
尖沙咀一棵古樹名木證實健康無法復原須移除
******************************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)發言人今日(十二月六日)回應傳媒查詢時表示,位於尖沙咀柏麗購物大道編號YTM10的古樹名木今日經進一步以微鑽阻力測試儀器檢查其結構情況,並經發展局樹木管理辦事處(樹木辦)及專家詳細分析後,證實健康無法復原,署方將會安排把該樹盡早移除。

  樹木辦總監周錦超聯同專家和康文署人員昨日亦為該樹進行詳細檢測。檢測結果顯示,證實該樹患有褐根病,及受到榕透翅毒蛾的侵襲,復原機會渺茫,雖然其結構沒有即時倒塌的危險,但考慮到該樹有潛在倒塌危機,並位處人流眾多的地方,因此基於保障公眾安全的大前提下,樹木辦及康文署決定盡快安排移除該樹。

  康文署一直密切監察該樹的情況,不斷進行巡察,並作出適當的護理。署方於本年十月已留意到該樹的健康情況有所變化,至十一月初發現有不尋常落葉情況;本署其後更發現該樹受到榕透翅毒蛾的侵襲,已即時使用殺蟲藥控制。此外,署方亦已進行適切的護理工作,包括修剪樹枝、噴灑殺真菌劑及加強灌溉。

  發言人表示,就該樹附近的其他樹木,署方人員會密切監察其健康狀況,並會作出適切的護理工作。

  發言人重申,署方會繼續審慎處理樹木,並只會在沒有其他可行的改善方法時,才會把有問題的樹木移除。

二○一○年十二月六日(星期一)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群