Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.04.24 23:19 22°C Light Rain
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: November
 
Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre launches the latest residency programme
**************************************************

     "Interacting for the Sake of Interaction", by Haphaistion and Saffie, the first programme of the "Artist in Residence 2010„nNew Media Art„nHong Kong Visual Arts Centre", has been launched and will run until March 2011 at the Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre¡]VAC). The programme is presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department ¡]LCSD¡^and organised by the Art Promotion office.

     Hephaistion and Saffie are young contemporary artists who devoted themselves to artistic creation after working as creative directors in Sydney, New York and Amsterdam. They work in the medium of objects, ceramics, screen-printing, acrylics, oils, performance art, photography and new media digital possibilities. Hephaistion and Saffie describe their collaboration as an aesthetic inquiry into visual perception and alterative perspectives, which is not limited to the status quo.

     Through the residency programme, they aim to arouse public interest in art and encourage creation among those who are new to art and its many forms. Through a series of new media thematic activities and events, they will offer the public a rare opportunity to experience being an artist-for-a-day, and stimulate their potential to be imaginative and inventive to free them from the many restrictions of everyday life.

     To coincide with the duo's residency programme, a series of new media workshops including Kaleidoscope, Analogue Bitmap and Interactive Inexperience were organised in October, followed by new media installations such as Kaleidoscope, Hanging About and RGB Walk Through in November.

     With a view to facilitating interflows and the sharing of experience and expertise between artists and the public, the VAC has organised more than 30 residency programmes. During their residency, artists are provided with free studio and facilities for displaying their creative processes and end products, and associated events such as lectures, demonstrations and open workshops are organised for promotion and education purposes.

     "Artist in Residence 2010„nNew Media Art Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre" is the latest residency programme of the VAC and the first of its kind organised under the theme of new media. Two residency programmes for young artists were selected by the adjudication panel formed by the Expert Advisers of the LCSD. These are the current residency, "Interacting for the Sake of Interaction" by Hephaistion and Saffie, and "Behind the camera, who are you?" by Nicole Mak to be resident from April to September 2011.

     VAC is located at 7A, Kennedy Road, Central, Hong Kong. Opening hours is 10am to 9pm and closed on Tuesdays.

     For details of the residency programme, please visit the Art Promotion Office's website at www.lcsd.gov.hk/apo/ or call the VAC Team of Art Promotion Office at 3101 2737.


Ends/Friday, November 19, 2010
NNNN

1

"Kaleidoscope", a digital image by Hephaistion and Saffie. 

2
 
"Kaleidoscope", a digital image by Hephaistion and Saffie.

3

"Dot-matrix conceptual experiment", an artwork by Hephaistion and Saffie.

 

 

 

 

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 19 November, 2010

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.25 19:26 25°C 多雲
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
November
香港視覺藝術中心推出最新一項藝術家留駐計劃
******************************

  由本地藝術家曹飛颺及吳慧心所策劃的「為互動而互動」成為康樂及文化事務署(康文署)主辦、藝術推廣辦事處籌劃的「藝術家留駐計劃2010|新媒體藝術|香港視覺藝術中心」的首個項目,現在起至明年三月期間在香港視覺藝術中心展開。

  曹飛颺與吳慧心是當代新進藝術家,曾分別在悉尼、紐約及阿姆斯特丹從事創作總監,返港後主力探索藝術創作。其創作範圍廣泛,不限於雕塑裝置、陶器、版畫、塑膠彩、油彩、行為藝術、攝影及新數碼媒介。他們的合作,是希望探索從美學到視覺感知與另類觀點的可能性,突破現實的常規。透過是次留駐計劃,藝術家希望提高公眾對藝術的興趣,鼓勵更多初次接觸藝術的人參與其中;藉著不同的藝術表達形式,加強與公眾的聯繫,為觀眾提供機會,一嘗一天藝術家的有趣經驗,藉機啟發他們的想像及創作潛能。

  為配合二人的留駐計劃,一系列的新媒體工作坊,包括:「萬花」工作坊、Analogue Bitmap及Interactive Inexperience工作坊已於今年十月份陸續舉行;而新媒體裝置展覽,包括:萬花、天眼及紅綠藍亦會於十一月展出。

  為了提升公眾對藝術的興趣、鼓勵創作,讓藝術家與大眾分享藝術的體驗,促進彼此交流,香港視覺藝術中心至今已舉辦超過三十項藝術家留駐計劃。在計劃進行期間,視覺藝術中心為留駐藝術家提供場地及設施,協助藝術家完成創作,並籌辦一系列教育及推廣活動,包括:講座、示範和免費工作坊等,讓公眾參與。

  「藝術家留駐計劃2010|新媒體藝術|香港視覺藝術中心」是香港視覺藝術中心最新推出的留駐計劃,並首次以新媒體為創作媒介。在康文署專家顧問組成的評審團甄選下,共揀選了兩個由年青藝術家策劃的留駐計劃,包括曹飛颺與吳慧心策劃的「為互動而互動」,以及二○一一年四月至九月推出麥琬珊所策劃的「鏡頭背後的你」。

  香港視覺藝術中心位於香港中區堅尼地道七號A,開放時間為上午十時至晚上九時,逢星期二休息,免費入場。

  有關留駐計劃的資料,歡迎瀏覽藝術推廣辦事處網頁:www.lcsd.gov.hk/apo/,或致電三一○一 二七三七與藝術推廣辦事處視覺藝術中心組聯絡。


二○一○年十一月十九日(星期五)

1

曹飛颺、吳慧心的數碼圖像作品「萬花」。

2

曹飛颺、吳慧心的數碼圖像作品「萬花」。

3

曹飛颺、吳慧心以「Dot-matrix概念實驗」為題的作品。

 

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群