Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.09.24 08:36 27°C Sunny Periods
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
URBTIX
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2010
September
Outdoor jazz concert held at HK Cultural Centre this Sunday
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     Local jazz performers together with artists from Holland, Canada, Australia, Brazil, United States and the Philippines will perform in "Hong Kong International Jazz Festival 2010 - Outdoor Concert" this Sunday (October 3) from 3pm to 7pm at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Piazza featuring sensual and passionate jazz music. Admission is free.

     Presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department in association with the Hong Kong Jazz Association (HKJA), this outdoor concert is one of the programmes of the Hong Kong International Jazz Festival 2010.

     The four performing jazz bands are: The Buzz Bros Band (Holland), Sylvain Gagnon Quintet (Canada/Australia/Brazil/Unites States/The Philippines), Logic (Australia) and the local Renfrew Group.

     The Buzz Bros Band was founded in 2001 by Marnix Busstra and his brother, pianist Berthil, a cooperation that prompted the band's name. The band has a very recognisable sound, and the four musicians are definitely groundbreakers in the Dutch jazz scene. The music they play can best be described as "adventurous, freely interpreted electric acoustic funky jazz with an ethnic touch".

     Sylvain Gagnon Quintet is led by Sylvain Gagnon, who is considered as one of the best Canadian bass players of its generation. Sylvain has extensive international touring and recording experience. He is a virtuoso of jazz bass playing and has experience in music from many continents and styles ranging from rock to standard jazz, from Carnatic (classical music from South India) to African music and Chinese music, from funk to Latin music, from solo to big band. He recorded and performed with numerous well-known artists and was the musical director for Teresa Carpio.

     Logic has been making waves on the jazz/fusion/world music scene since its inception in 1999. Praised by JazzReview.com magazine, "Logic is a fine debut collection, and these performances are all topnotch. Solid, enjoyable jazz from a group whose performers will be around for a long time to come." The ensemble aims to present its own unique, contemporary sound whilst preserving the spontaneous and interactive approach of the jazz tradition. Their compositions stem from diverse musical influences, including jazz, drum 'n' bass, Latin, classical, folk and pop music.

     Renfrew Group is a Hong Kong-based jazz ensemble founded by alumni of The Hong Kong Baptist University Music Department and Berklee College of Music (USA). Known for its versatility, the group has given performances in a wide variety of styles/settings including jazz, pop, Brazilian, duo to nonet, and recently as a jazz orchestra together with other veteran big band jazz musicians. Members of the group are all active musicians on both the local and Boston scenes, and have appeared in PASIC, the Beantown Jazz Festival, jazz clubs in Boston.

     For programme enquiries, please visit the website: www.lcsd.gov.hk/eo .

Ends/Thursday, September 30, 2010
NNNN

01

One of the performing groups in the "Hong Kong International Jazz Festival 2010 - Outdoor Concert": The Buzz Bros Band from Holland.

02

One of the performing groups in the "Hong Kong International Jazz Festival 2010 - Outdoor Concert": Logic from Australia.

03

Led by Sylvain Gagnon, the Sylvain Gagnon Quintet will peform in the "Hong Kong International Jazz Festival 2010 - Outdoor Concert" this Sunday (October 3).

04

One of the performing groups in the "Hong Kong International Jazz Festival 2010 - Outdoor Concert": the local Renfrew Group.

 

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.08.28 07:03 28°C 微雨
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
September
戶外爵士音樂會星期日香港文化中心露天廣場舉行
**********************

  來自荷蘭、加拿大、澳洲、巴西、美國、菲律賓及本地的爵士樂手,將於星期日(十月三日)下午三時至七時在香港文化中心露天廣場演出《香港國際爵士樂節2010-戶外音樂會》,為市民及爵士樂迷帶來醉人的爵士音樂,免費入場,不容錯過。

  《香港國際爵士樂節2010-戶外音樂會》乃香港國際爵士音樂節2010的活動之一,由康樂及文化事務署(康文署)主辦,香港爵士樂會協辦。

  四支演出組合分別為:來自荷蘭的巴斯兄弟樂團 (The Buzz Bros Band),由加拿大、澳洲、巴西、美國及菲律賓爵士樂手組成的龍小飛五重奏(Sylvain Gagnon Quintet),來自澳洲的Logic,以及本地的Renfrew Group。

  巴斯兄弟樂團於2001年由馬克尼斯及伯菲爾兄弟組成,他們均是荷蘭爵士樂壇上的先鋒猛將,用「以無畏的冒險態度、自由奔放的手法,加點民族風格來演譯的電子/原聲放克爵士樂」來形容他們的音樂精神最為貼切。

  龍小飛五重奏由龍小飛率領。龍小飛被認為是加拿大這一代中最出色的低音提琴手之一,他擁有豐富的巡迴演出及錄音製作的經驗,才藝橫溢,除了擅長彈奏爵士樂外,對搖憛B放克、拉丁到印度、非洲音樂等皆甚有心得。他更曾與多位中外樂手合作,並曾替杜麗莎等歌星作音樂總監。

  澳洲組合Logic由結他手格倫簡儂及色士風手添威爾遜組成,自1999年起已在澳洲樂壇上激起巨浪,並曾獲網上雜誌JazzReview.com給予極高的評價:「一流的表演、穩健及令人愉快的爵士樂、有長遠光輝的前景」。Logic希望既能發揮其獨特並具現代感的聲音,又能保留爵士樂互動、自發的傳統。樂曲創作的靈感和資源廣闊,包括有爵士、饒舌、拉丁、古典、民謠及流行音樂。

  本地爵士樂隊Renfrew Group由香港浸會大學音樂系及美國Berklee College of Music畢業生組成,風格靈活多變,能勝任爵士樂至流行曲、二重奏至爵士大樂隊等多種曲風及組合。樂隊個別成員在美國及香港兩地均十分活躍,並曾於PASIC、Beantown爵士音樂節、波士頓各爵士樂酒吧演出。

  查詢詳情,請瀏覽網址www.lcsd.gov.hk/eo

二○一○年九月三十日(星期四)

01

《香港國際爵士樂節2010-戶外音樂會》的演出樂隊:來自荷蘭的巴斯兄弟樂團 (The Buzz Bros Band)。

02

《香港國際爵士樂節2010-戶外音樂會》的演出樂隊:來自澳洲的Logic。

03

龍小飛(Sylvain Gagnon)將率領龍小飛五重奏,在星期日(十月三日)舉行的《香港國際爵士樂節2010-戶外音樂會》上演出。

04

《香港國際爵士樂節2010-戶外音樂會》的演出樂隊:本地的Renfrew Group。

 

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群