Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.12.22 06:26 11°C SunnyRed Fire Danger WarningCold Weather Warning
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2010
September
Visually stunning dance "Mortal Engine" by Chunky Move from Australia
**********************************

     Under the leadership of master choreographer Gideon Obarzanek, Chunky Move from Australia will perform in Hong Kong this October one of its latest cutting-edge ventures, "Mortal Engine", which has swept international arts awards and amazed audiences in various arts festivals. With its innovative blend of state-of-the-art technology and movement, this groundbreaking creation pushes the boundaries of artistic experience and offers a new way of viewing dance.

     The dance-video-music-laser piece uses sophisticated interactive computer systems which, combined with the performers' movements, trigger video projections, lights, sounds and laser images to portray an ever-shifting, shimmering world. Executed on a tilted platform, the dancers appear to defy gravity, inextricably intertwined in moments of confrontation and intimacy. The result is a poetic, sensory experience that explores relationships, connection and disconnection, isolation and togetherness, and the struggle to go beyond one's bodily limits to escape inner darkness and desire.

     "Mortal Engine" has won the Best Visual or Physical Theatre Production, 2008 Helpmann Award and Honorable Mention in the Hybrid Category, 2009 Prix Ars Electronica. The intriguing work has been put together by a wide-ranging collection of artistic talents under the guiding hand of choreographer Obarzanek. The interactive system design is the invention of Frieder Weiss, who is also the creator of the EyeCon and Kalypso video motion sensing programmes widely used in the arts field. His installation project in collaboration with the group phase7 performing . arts from Berlin fascinated audiences at the last New Vision Arts Festival. Adding to the excitement are the striking laser effects by Robin Fox, along with the music of Iceland-based composer Ben Frost, acclaimed as "the future of electronic music".

     The New York Times appraised the show as "poetic as well as arresting ... visually stunning"; The Herald, Edinburgh said "If the technology was impressive, the flesh and blood dancers were outstanding"; The Guardian said "'Mortal Engine' is an undeniably thrilling work, extraordinary to look at and exciting in its sense of possibility"; The Metro, London said "The effect is terrifying, beautiful, unique and absolutely unforgettable".

     Founded by Artistic Director Gideon Obarzanek in Melbourne in 1995, Chunky Move has earned an enviable reputation for its daring, challenging, distinct yet unpredictable brand of genre-defying dance. The company has created a number of works for the stage, site-specific work and new media, and installation work. It has also created critically acclaimed and popular larger productions for touring.

     "Mortal Engine" is one of the programmes of the New Vision Arts Festival organised by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. It will be staged on October 22 and 23 at 8pm at the Kwai Tsing Theatre Auditorium. The programme contains nudity, smoke, laser, strobe lighting and loud sounds. The programme has no intermission. Audience members are strongly advised to arrive on time. Latecomers will not be admitted. A meet-the-artist session will be held after the performance on October 22.

     Tickets priced at $240, $180 and $120 are now available at URBTIX. Half-price tickets are available for full-time students, senior citizens aged 60 and above, people with disabilities and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. Group booking and package discounts of up to 20% are available.

     Programme brochures are available at URBTIX outlets or at the website www.newvisionfestival.gov.hk.

     For programme enquiries, call 2370 1044. Credit card telephone bookings: 2111 5999. Internet bookings can be made at www.urbtix.hk .

Ends/Tuesday, September 28, 2010
NNNN

_1

Chunky Move from Australia will perform in Hong Kong this October one of its latest cutting-edge ventures, "Mortal Engine", which has swept international arts awards. The ground-breaking creation pushes the boundaries of artistic experience and offers a new way of viewing dance.

_2

The dance-video-music-laser piece uses sophisticated interactive computer systems which, combined with the performers' movements, trigger video projections, lights, sounds and laser images.

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.09.03 05:46 28°C 天色大致良好
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
September
澳洲前擊R團出位創作《賣命引擎》 多媒體效果凌厲震懾人心
****************************

  由舞蹈大師格迪恩.奧巴扎克(Gideon Obarzanek)編舞,領導澳洲前擊R團出奇舞(Chunky Move)創作的《賣命引擎》自首演以來已勇奪兩項國際大獎,風靡無數舞迷及醉心新媒體藝術的觀眾。這齣橫掃歐美多個藝術節的驚世傑作將於十月在香港舞台上演,以極度流暢、釋放高能量的舞蹈,糅合現代高科技裝置,帶來一次開拓時空無限可能,觸動感官澎湃亢奮的全新經歷。

  《賣命引擎》是一場糅合舞蹈、互動感應裝置、錄像、音樂和激光的多媒體藝術表演,舞者以懾人的強勁舞蹈,結合精密的電腦互動系統,將身驅的舞動轉化為啟動聲影變化的能量,構成一個光隨影舞、舞隨影移、聲隨光動的互動有機空間。舞者在傾斜的舞台上,以挑戰力學的凌厲動作,時而互相抗衡,時而緊貼互動,舞出一幕幕震撼感官的意象詩,表達他們對關係、連繫與隔絕、聚與散的哲思,以及個人渴望逃逸自身凡軀限制和慾望囚牢的困境。

  《賣命引擎》先後奪得2008年何普曼獎最佳視覺或形體劇場製作,和2009年電子藝術獎混合組表揚大獎。除了舞者的非凡演出,幕後精英亦陣容強勁,編舞奧巴扎克是舞壇的大師級人物,《賣命引擎》充分展示其駕馭媒體技術的卓越實力及為舞蹈界限重新定義的超凡視野。擔任互動系統設計的費達.韋斯,則是藝術界廣泛使用的兩套攝影機傳動追蹤軟件系統 EyeCon 和 Kalypso 的發明者,他與德國 phase7 performing.arts 合作的多媒體裝置曾在2008年「新視野藝術節」大放異采。結合著名音響和視覺藝術家羅賓.霍士設計的型爆激光效果,以及享譽國際、其作品有標示「電子音樂的未來」之稱的冰島作曲家賓.弗羅斯特的出色創作,《賣命引擎》將帶來一個變幻莫測、令人目眩心動的無限藝術空間。

  《紐約時報》讚賞《賣命引擎》「充滿詩意,引人入迷...視覺效果凌厲」;愛丁堡《先驅報》則形容作品「非但科技上氣勢逼人,舞者的演出更是一絕」;《衛報》亦說它「絕對是一齣震懾人心的作品,不但令人目眩,更開拓了前所未見的可能性」;倫敦《The Metro》雜誌則讚賞它的舞台效果「美輪美奐,絕無僅有,令人難忘」。

  出奇舞由藝術總監格迪恩.奧巴扎克於1995年在墨爾本創立,多年來舞團憑藉其突破成規的優秀及創新舞蹈作品,享譽藝壇。作品形式及內容皆多元化,至今已創作及演出了多齣舞台作品、環境舞蹈,以及融合新媒體和裝置藝術的作品,當中包括多個在國際間巡演不輟、廣受歡迎的著名舞碼。

  《賣命引擎》是「新視野藝術節」節目之一,由康樂及文化事務署主辦,將於十月二十二日及二十三日晚上八時,在葵青劇院演藝廳舉行。節目含有裸露場面、煙霧、激光、閃光和大音量聲響;節目不設中場休息,觀眾務請準時入場,遲到者將不獲安排入場;十月二十二日設演後藝人談,歡迎觀眾在節目結束後參與。

  《賣命引擎》節目門票現於城市電腦售票網發售,票價分二百四十元、一百八十元及一百二十元。全日制學生、六十歲或以上高齡人士、殘疾人士及綜合社會保障援助受惠人可獲半價優惠,團體及套票優惠高達八折。

  節目詳情可參閱於城市電腦售票處備取的節目手冊,或瀏覽網址www.newvisionfestival.gov.hk

  節目查詢可致電2370 1044。信用卡電話訂票:2111 5999。網上訂票:www.urbtix.hk

二○一○年九月二十八日(星期二)

_1

澳洲出奇舞近年的得意傑作《賣命引擎》自首演以來已勇奪兩項國際大獎,這齣驚世作品將於十月在香港舞台上演,帶來一個令人目眩心動的無限藝術空間,並為舞蹈界限重新定義。

_2

《賣命引擎》是一場糅合舞蹈、錄像、音樂和激光的多媒體藝術表演,舞者以懾人的強勁舞蹈,結合精密的電腦互動系統,將身驅的舞動轉化為啟動聲影變化的能量。

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群