Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.30 21:22 30°C Mainly FineVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: July
 
LCSD endeavours to strike a balance among different needs from users of Victoria Park
**************************************************

     In response to media enquiries today (July 20) on the usage of the Victoria Park and the construction of a new swimming pool complex, a spokesman for the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) said:

     “LCSD’s park facilities are purposely designed for various leisure and sport activities, as well as for holding large-scale events, for the enjoyment of the public at large.

     Situated at an easily accessible area, the Victoria Park is one of the few venues with abundant space for hosting large-scale events. Most of them are territory-wide events organised by non-profit and non-government organisations and have become popular annual events patronised by families. The Hong Kong Flower Show, the Hong Kong Marathon and the Hong Kong Brands and Products Expo are some examples of these events which have drawn huge attention in the community.

     Apart from the six soccer pitches and four basketball courts which are usually used for large-scale events, a large part of the Victoria Park with facilities, including the central lawn, landscaped area, children play areas, bowling greens and the South Pavilion Plaza etc. are open to the public all year round.

     In handling applications for activities of non-designated use, LCSD takes into account a number of factors, including the area to be booked, the duration, purpose and nature of the activity, the benefits it may bring to the public, the inconvenience that may cause to other users and other bookings of the venue etc. Residents nearby and district council members concerned are consulted through the Home Affairs Department, and views from relevant government departments will also be sought.

     The issue regarding the use of the Victoria Park for large-scale events has been thoroughly discussed at the Eastern District Council (EDC) meetings. To balance the different needs of park users, the agreed arrangement is to limit the usage of the soccer pitches of the Victoria Park for non-designated use to not more than half of the total hours available for booking in a year. At the EDC meeting held last month, LCSD’s representatives have reinstated that such arrangements would be strictly followed.

     The LCSD has all along endeavoured to strike a balance among the needs from different sectors. The department has been handling the applications for non-designated use of the Victoria Park in a diligent manner. The department has rejected a number of applications while in some cases, also liaised with the applicants to reduce the booking duration and appealed to them to use other alternative venues.

     Concerning the swimming pool at the Victoria Park, it has always been a popular leisure place for the public with high usage. Owing to the fact that the pool was constructed more than half a century ago, there is an obvious need for its redevelopment to upgrade the facilities in order to provide better service to the public.

     On the redevelopment of the swimming pool complex, the LCSD consulted EDC in 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2009 in relation to the location and design for the redeveloped swimming pool and received strong support from the DC members. The department also organised a public consultation session on the redevelopment project in 2009, in which positive feedback from the public had been received.
@@
     The redevelopment of the swimming pool complex has commenced in August 2009 and is expected to complete by the end of 2012. The new pool complex occupies an area of similar size as the existing one. Upon the completion of the new pool complex, the existing one will be demolished, after which a roller skating rink, a handball court and landscaped areas will be constructed at the area. In this regard, the total area for leisure and sport purposes at the Victoria Park will not decrease after the new swimming pool complex is constructed.

     The LCSD understands the inconvenience that may be caused to some members of the public when large-scale activities are being held at the Victoria Park. We also appreciate the concerns some may have on the redevelopment of the swimming pool complex. The department will continue to maintain close communication with the DC, the local residents and the park users so as to strike a balance among competing needs and strive to provide quality services to the public.”


Ends/Tuesday, July 20, 2010
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 20 July, 2010

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.08.21 08:32 25°C 短暫陽光有驟雨
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
July
康文署致力平衡維多利亞公園使用者的需求
*******************

  就傳媒今日(七月二十日)查詢有關維多利亞公園的使用情況及興建新游泳池場館一事,康樂及文化事務署(康文署)回應如下:

  康文署轄下的公園設施除了用作一般的康樂體育活動如各種球類外,亦適合用作舉辦其他大型活動,為市民生活增添姿采。

  維多利亞公園地點交通便捷,為市區少有可提供廣闊空間供舉辦大型活動之用的場地。每年有數項全港性的大型活動如香港花卉展覽、香港國際馬拉松和工展會等,會在維多利亞公園舉行。這些全港性大型活動,適合一家大小一同參與,深受廣大市民歡迎,已成為香港市民期盼的年度活動,當中絕大部分都是由非牟利團體或自願組織舉辦。

  舉辦這些大型活動一般需借用六個硬地足球場及四個籃球場,但除了這些球場外,維多利亞公園大部分面積的其他設施,包括中央草坪、園境區、兒童遊樂場、草地滾球場及南亭廣場等,均仍然開放予公眾人士使用。

  署方在處理這些非指定用途活動的申請,均會根據其申請租用場地的範圍、租用時間的長短、活動的目的和性質、對市民的裨益及影響、對其他場地使用者可能帶來的影響、場地的使用情況等作出考慮,並會透過民政事務總署諮詢附近居民和區議員,以及向各有關政府部門作出諮詢。

  就維多利亞公園的使用情況,曾多次在東區區議會的會議上作出充分的討論。為了平衡不同使用者的需求,現時的共識是維持公園球場用作非指定活動不會多於整年可供租用時數的一半。於上月舉行的東區區議會會議上,康文署代表亦再次重申會切實執行有關的安排。

  事實上,署方一直盡力平衡各方的需求,十分謹慎處理租用維多利亞公園作非指定用途的申請,過往亦曾拒絕相當數量的申請,並會與申請團體盡量磋商縮減租用日期,及鼓勵他們利用其他場地舉辦活動。

  至於維多利亞公園游泳池,一直廣受市民歡迎,使用率甚高。由於場館於五十多年前興建,有需要進行重建,以提升其設施水平,為市民提供更優質的服務。

  本署曾在二○○五年、二○○六年、二○○八年和二○○九年就擬議重建工程,其發展範圍及設計諮詢東區區議會,並獲得議員支持。此外,署方曾在二○○九年舉辦有關重建計劃的公眾簡介會,會上市民對計劃給予正面的回應。

  泳池重建工程已於二○○九年八月動工,預計於二○一二年年底峻工。新游泳池場館所佔面積與現有的游泳池相若,當新游泳池建成後,現有的泳池將被拆卸,而所騰出的空間會用以重置滾軸溜冰場、手球場和園境區。因此,維多利亞公園的休憩及體育用地並沒有因興建新游泳池場館而減少。

  康文署理解在維多利亞公園舉辦其他大型活動可能會對一些市民造成不便,而附近居民亦關注泳池重建一事。署方會繼續與區議會、居民和其他使用公園人士溝通,務求平衡各方的訴求,為廣大市民提供所需及優質的服務。


二○一○年七月二十日(星期二)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群