Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.25 17:07 33°C Sunny Periods with A Few ShowersVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: March
 
Artist moulds plastic bags into strange creatures
*************************************************

     A series of images of various weird creatures created with plastic bags will be on display at Sha Tin Town Hall from tomorrow (March 13) until March 31 to raise public awareness about environmental protection.

     The exhibition, "The Late Version of Shan Hai Jing - Works by Lam Yuk-lin", features installation works by Lam, who was inspired by creatures from the Chinese ancient literary classic "Shan Hai Jing" (The Classic of Mountains and Seas). She surmises that the rapid development of genetic modification and biotechnology may one day make these imaginary strange creatures appear in today's world.

     Lam specialises in creating art using different media. In 2001, she started her "Cultivating Civilisation" research project, creating works with different media, including site-specific installations, conceptual photography and video, to express her views on civilisation. In recent years, her works have shown a special focus on site-specific, conceptual installations at venues such as Victoria Prison, Times Square, Pacific Place, a house in Kat Hing Wai, the Outlying Islands Ferry Piers and the Lunar New Year fairs.

     The artist has distinct ideas about the subtle changes in our surroundings, and about the choice of materials for her creations. The conflict between the natural environment and human development has provided her with endless inspiration. The materials she uses encompass many things common in our daily lives, ranging from rice grains, Chinese herbal medicines and chocolate, to stones and bronze nets. For the works in "The Late Version of Shan Hai Jing", she chose plastic bags as her main creative medium. The plastic bags were collected from supermarkets, restaurants and chain stores, branded and unbranded, thick and thin, monotone and patterned, handbags and T-shirt bags, and brought together into one setting in a lively installation.

     The bags serve to reflect our urban culture of consumption, while some out-of-print designs have historical significance. Fortuitously, during the creation of this series of works the Government announced the imposition of a plastic-bag levy, aiming to curb the excessive, environmentally damaging use of plastic bags, making plastic bags a hot discussion topic around town. Certain discontinued plastic bags suddenly became rarities, endowing her works with a new significance. Moreover, the artist also makes use of the weird creatures featured in "Shan Hai Jing" to hint at the impact of genetic engineering and biotechnology. What appear to be everyday materials in fact carry reams of information for the audience to discover – this is a consistent theme of Lam's works.

     The "The Late Version of Shan Hai Jing - Works by Lam Yuk-lin" is the ninth and also the last exhibition organised under the Artists in the Neighbourhood Scheme IV by the Art Promotion Office (APO) of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department.

     To coincide with the exhibition, Lam will meet members of the public and share experiences with them at the gallery on March 13 at 3.30pm The activity will be conducted in Cantonese and admission is free. For reservations, please contact the APO's Community Art Team on 3101 2712 or 3101 2713.

     Free guided tours will be offered to organisations and school groups. For bookings, contact the Community Art Team. To learn more about the artist and her work, visit the APO's website: www.artistneighbourhood.info .

     Sha Tin Town Hall is located at 1 Yuen Wo Road, Sha Tin. The exhibition hall is open daily from 10am to 8pm. Admission is free.

Ends/Friday, March 12, 2010
NNNN

_1

The picture shows a sketch created by Lam Yuk-lin who was inspired by the weird creatures from the Chinese ancient literary classic "Shan Hai Jing" (The Classic of Mountains and Seas). Based on these sketches, the artist created a series of installation works, "The Late Version of Shan Hai Jing".

_2

One of the works in "The Late Version of Shan Hai Jing", installation art by Lam Yuk-lin.

03

One of the works in "The Late Version of Shan Hai Jing", installation art by Lam Yuk-lin.

4

"Plastic Bag Hong Kong Night Scene", an installation work by Lam Yuk-lin to reflect the excessive use of plastic bags in Hong Kong.

 

 

 

 

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 12 March, 2010

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.11.01 14:08 28°C 陽光充沛
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
March
林玉蓮以裝置藝術重現《山海經》異獸
*************************

  中國古老奇書《山海經》中所記載的各種奇異動物,在今日基因改造、生物科技迅速發展以及工業污染的年代,是否仍然令人覺得稀奇古怪?由明日(三月十三日)起至三月三十一日在沙田大會堂展覽廳舉行的「山海經後傳 ─ 林玉蓮作品展」,藝術家林玉蓮將通過裝置作品,把書中不同的異獸形象呈現眼前,讓觀眾反思現今環境保護的問題。

  林玉蓮是一位多元媒介創作的藝術家,二○○一年開展其「種植文明」研究創作計劃,以多元的創作方式包括場域特定裝置、行為演出、觀念攝影、錄像等表現其對當代文明的看法。林氏近年的作品多以大型場域特定(Site-specific)和概念化(Conceptual)的裝置為主,展出場地包括域多利監獄、時代廣場、太古廣場、吉慶圍村屋、港外線碼頭、渡輪上及花墟年宵市場等等。

  林氏對周遭環境的細微改變,以至創作物料上的選擇,都有她一套獨特的見解。自然環境與人類文明發展兩者之間的矛盾,為她的創作提供源源不絕的靈感,而她採用的物料不乏是日常生活中常見的,例如:米粒、中藥材、巧克力、石塊、黃銅網等等。這次「山海經後傳」展覽的作品,就以膠袋作為主要物料進行創作。這些膠袋蒐集自超市、食肆、連鎖店,有帶品牌或沒品牌的厚料、薄料、單色或印花手挽袋和「背心袋」,林林總總,共冶一爐。

  這些膠袋不但反映了城市人的消費文化,某些已絕版的膠袋設計本身亦具有其歷史意義。更巧合的是,林氏在創作這一系列作品的期間,政府就濫用膠袋對自然環境帶來的問題,開始徵收膠袋費,事件一度為城中熱門話題。有些停產的膠袋忽然變得來之不易,讓作品又多了一重意義。此外,藝術家更借用《山海經》中所載造型怪異的動物,暗示基因改造工程和生物科技發展對人類的衝擊。以表面上簡單且平凡的物料,盛載豐富的訊息讓觀眾發掘正是林氏作品的一貫風格。

  「山海經後傳 - 林玉蓮作品展」為第四屆「藝遊鄰里計劃」的第九項亦是最後一項展覽,由康樂及文化事務署轄下藝術推廣辦事處籌劃。

  配合是項展覽,林玉蓮將於三月十三日下午三時三十分在展覽廳與觀眾會面,分享她的創作心得。活動以粵語進行,名額先到先得,費用全免。有興趣參加的人士可致電三一○一 二七一二或三一○一 二七一三與藝術推廣辦事處的社區藝術組預約。

  是項展覽設有團體及學校免費導賞服務,參加者亦可致電藝術推廣辦事處社區藝術組預約。此外,市民可於互聯網上的虛擬藝廊分享林玉蓮的創作心得及經驗,網址: www.artistneighbourhood.info

  沙田大會堂位於沙田源禾路一號,展覽廳的開放時間為每日上午十時至晚上八時。展覽免費入場。

二○一○年三月十二日(星期五)

_1


圖示的素描作品為林玉蓮參考中國古老奇書《山海經》中所記載的各種奇異動物而繪畫,再依據這些素描作創作其一系列的裝置作品《山海經後傳》。

_2

林玉蓮的裝置作品《山海經後傳》。

03

林玉蓮的裝置作品《山海經後傳》。

4

林玉蓮的裝置作品《膠袋香港夜景》,反映香港濫用膠袋問題嚴重。

 

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群