Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.11.01 16:29 27°C Sunny
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2010
March
HKSAR Government accepts recommendations of consultancy study to promote football development in Hong Kong
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

The following is issued by Home Affairs Bureau:

     The Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Tsang Tak-sing, said today (March 11) that the HKSAR Government had accepted in principle the key recommendations of a consultancy study on football development and would allocate more resources to implement the recommendations to promote the development of football in Hong Kong.

     The Government commissioned the consultancy study in June 2009 to review the current status of football in Hong Kong and recommend viable options for the development of the sport. In its report submitted to the Government, the consultant put forward a series of recommendations to improve the governance of the sport, elevate the standards of professional and "national" football teams, enhance youth training, upgrade the provision of facilities and establish a football training centre.

     Speaking at a press conference to announce the findings of the consultancy study, Mr Tsang said, "After thorough deliberation, we have accepted in principle the key recommendations of the consultancy study. The Government, therefore, would refine our policy to adopt further measures to promote the development of football in Hong Kong."

     The consultant recommended the Hong Kong Football Association (HKFA) initiate reform to enhance its governance. The consultant also suggested the association engage an outside party as a "change agent" and recruit experienced personnel to formulate and implement its long-term strategies and development plans.

     "We have notified the HKFA of the recommendations of the consultancy study. Their initial response is very positive," Mr Tsang said.

     To attract more spectators to football matches, the consultant considered that the HKFA should establish a new professional football league and set appropriate criteria for member clubs. For example, they should provide education programmes for youth players.

     The consultant considered that raising the standard of representative teams at various levels would require higher standards of coaching and coach education. The HKFA should appoint full-time team managers and team coaches for representative teams on terms that would attract experienced personnel, and should organise more international matches for representative teams at various levels.

     The consultant also recommended that the HKFA focus on youth development and promote a systematic feeder training programme. Specifically, the consultant suggested that: more funding should be made available for district and representative teams at various levels, including for their coaches and training facilities; regional training centres should be established to train young players with potential; and clubs in the new professional football league should be required to operate academies for players from 9 to 16 years of age who should train regularly.

     As regards football facilities, the consultant recommended that the Government draw up a playing pitch strategy with a view to increasing the availability and quality of pitches. Each club in the new professional league should also be allocated a "home" ground to help clubs attract supporters and sponsors.

     Noting that the development of a training centre in Tseung Kwan O had been under discussion between the HKFA and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (HKJC), the consultant recommended that the Government invite the HKJC to develop and manage the football training centre. The management of the centre should work in partnership with the HKFA and other stakeholders to train elite players.

     Mr Tsang said that the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) would strive to increase the number of third generation or more advanced artificial turf pitches to nearly triple the current number of artificial turf pitches in the next five years.

     As regards the recommendation on "home" grounds, the Government has already designated "home" pitches for the 10 First Division teams in the current football season.

     The consultant considered that the immediate priority for the HKFA was to design and establish a new governance structure, providing clear responsibilities for its office bearers, and recruiting senior staff to improve the association's management and marketing operations. The HKSAR Government would consider providing funding to help the HKFA begin implementing the study recommendations. It is expected that the HKFA would, in time, be able to derive income from sponsorship, gate receipts and other sources that would help it to achieve a steady development in its management and financial position.

     "To implement the consultant's recommendations systematically, the Home Affairs Bureau will set up a football task force to be chaired by the Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs with participation by the LCSD, HKFA, experts and other relevant parties who will work closely to supervise the implementation of various recommendations," he said.

     The report of the consultancy study had been carefully considered by the Steering Group for the Football Consultancy Study in Hong Kong. Members of the steering group include Mr Kwok Ka-ming, Director of International Relations of HKFA, and Prof Lui Tai-lok from the Department of Sociology of the University of Hong Kong.

     Also present at today's press conference were the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services, Mrs Betty Fung; Deputy Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Jonathan McKinley; Principal Assistant Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Benjamin Mok, and Mr Kwok Ka-ming. The HKFA Chairman Mr Brian Leung also attended the press conference.

     The English version of the consultancy report on local football development has been uploaded to the website of the Home Affairs Bureau today (www.hab.gov.hk). The Chinese version will be uploaded later (the summary of the report in Chinese is available).

Ends/Thursday, March 11, 2010

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.11.28 00:21 22°C 微雨
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
March
特區政府接納顧問報告建議推動本港足運
***************************

下稿由民政事務局發出:

  民政事務局局長曾德成今日(三月十一日)表示,特區政府原則上接納顧問報告就足球發展提出的主要建議,並會增撥資源,配合建議的落實推行,全面推動本港足運。

  特區政府於二○○九年六月委聘顧問進行研究,檢討本港足球的情況,並就足運發展提出可行方案。顧問較早時向特區政府提交報告,提出一系列建議,改善足球的管治、提升職業球隊和港隊的專業水平、加強青少年培訓、改善設施及成立足球訓練中心。

  曾德成今日在公布顧問研究結果的記者會上表示:「我們詳細考慮後,原則上同意接納報告提出的主要建議。政府因此準備調整政策,採取進一步的措施支持香港足球運動的發展。」

  在管治方面,顧問報告建議香港足球總會(足總)改革,提升管治水平。顧問建議足總從外間引入「變革顧問」,並應招募具經驗的人員,協助其制訂及落實長遠足球策略發展計劃。

  曾德成說:「我們已向足總通報顧問研究報告的建議,初步所得回應十分正面。」

  為了吸引更多觀眾觀看足球賽事,顧問認為足總應成立新的職業足球聯賽,並為球會訂立適當準則,例如應為年輕球員提供教育計劃。

  顧問認為,要提升不同組別的足球代表隊的水平,需要高水準的教練和相應的教練培訓計劃。足總應以具吸引力的聘任條件為足球代表隊聘任全職經理人及教練,並安排各級代表隊參與更多國際賽事。

  顧問亦建議足總以青少年球員的發展為重點,推動有系統的梯隊培訓。具體來說,顧問建議提供更多資助予地區及各級足球代表隊,包括其教練及訓練設施;成立地區訓練中心,訓練有潛質的年輕球員;以及要求參與新職業足球聯賽的球會開辦足球學校,為九至十六歲的球員提供定期訓練。

  在足球設施方面,顧問建議政府制訂有關球場的策略,以增加球場的供應並提升場地質素,以及為新職業聯賽各球會提供「主場」,協助球會吸納支持者及贊助商。

  鑑於足總現正與香港賽馬會商討在將軍澳建設訓練中心,顧問建議政府邀請馬會建設及管理足球訓練中心。該中心的管理層應與香港足總及其他持份者攜手合作,培養精英球員。

  曾德成指出,康樂及文化事務署(康文署)會在未來五年爭取使本港的第三代或更新式的人造草球場數目,增加至接近目前數目的三倍。

  至於「主場」的建議,政府亦已在今個球季,為十支甲組隊伍提供「主場」。

  顧問認為,香港足總的首要工作,是設計及制訂新的管治架構,訂明執行委員的職責,以及招聘高級人員以改善管理及市務工作。為協助足總落實所建議的工作,特區政府會考慮提供資助,期望足總在一段時間內從贊助商、門票及其他方面取得收入,在財政及管理方面可穩步發展。

  他說:「為了系統落實顧問的建議,民政事務局將設立一個足球專責小組,由常任秘書長主持,並有康文署、足總及相關人士、專家等參與,共同努力,監督各項建議的實施。」

  顧問研究報告經由「推動本地足運顧問研究督導小組」詳細考慮,小組成員包括香港足球總會國際事務總監郭家明及香港大學社會學系教授呂大樂。

  出席今日記者會的還有康樂及文化事務署署長馮程淑儀、民政事務局副秘書長麥敬年、民政事務局首席助理秘書長莫君虞及郭家明。足總主席梁孔德也出席了記者會。

  是項足球發展顧問研究報告的英文版本已於今天上載民政事務局網頁(www.hab.gov.hk),中文版本則於稍後上載(摘要部分備有中文)。


二○一○年三月十一日(星期四)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群