Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.10.24 15:53 26°C Cloudy
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2010
February
Future development of museum services
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

The following was issued by the Home Affairs Bureau:

     The Government today (February 1) announced that the mode of governance of the 14 public museums currently managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) will remain unchanged but their public missions will be strengthened and their identity and focus sharpened.

     "Since the publication of the Recommendation Report by the Committee on Museums (CoM), the Administration has carefully examined the relevant factors and agrees that the services of public museums could be further improved as recommended by the CoM but this should be pursued under the existing mode of governance with greater public participation, in parallel with a new mode of governance for M+ in the West Kowloon Cultural District (WKCD) to be examined by the WKCD Authority, a statutory body," the Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Tsang Tak-sing, said.

     He explained that the Administration had examined the mode of governance of overseas museums and found that it is not appropriate to advocate one single mode of governance that is universally applicable to and suitable for all museums.  Different modes of governance could co-exist to suit the specific circumstances of the museums and the local environment.

     "In Hong Kong, it is imperative that our public museums fulfill a broad range of important public missions in the coming years.  These include the urgent tasks of developing cultural software and audience building for Hong Kong, promoting art and culture to the younger generation within and outside the school curriculum, nurturing and promoting local young artists, expanding the pool of museum expertise, and supporting the development of cultural and creative industries as one of the new economic pillars of Hong Kong.

     "Public museums under the LCSD's management would be best placed to carry out the above public missions through close and effective co-ordination and collaboration with government and non-government agencies responsible for art education and promotion.

     "With a decision taken on the mode of governance of public museums, we will take proactive steps to strengthen their public missions and their ability to fulfill them, sharpen their respective focus and identity, and strengthen their educational role, with a view to reinforcing the development of Hong Kong's cultural software," Mr Tsang said.

     He noted that to increase professional and community involvement in the operation of public museums, a panel of museum advisors would be set up for each of the three types of museums, namely art, history and science.  These panels would comprise individuals of different backgrounds and expertise to advise the LCSD on the strategies for the development, promotion and management of public museums.

     "I believe that this would further strengthen the current network of the public museums and opportunities for community involvement in their operation," Mr Tsang said.

     In line with the CoM's recommendations, LCSD museums will also further enhance their operation by deepening and broadening the extent of public engagement and community involvement through closer dialogue and collaboration with various stakeholders including guest curators, collectors, District Councils, non-government organisations, the business sector and education institutions. 

     Successful examples of collaboration with guest curators include the "Hong Kong Art: Open Dialogue" organised by the Museum of Art where over 50 local and overseas independent curators were invited to submit proposals for thematic exhibitions and four of them staged very well-received exhibitions between 2007 and 2009.  Seven "emerging" local artists were also invited to take part in "Louis Vuitton: A Passion for Creation", a blockbuster contemporary art exhibition in 2009 which attracted a record-breaking attendance of 120,000.

     The LCSD is also striving to achieve a clearer identity and character for the individual public museums.  For example, the Museum of Art is working to promote and position itself as a museum of regional significance with its invaluable and unique collection of ink art including the world-class Xubaizhai collection of Chinese painting and calligraphy and the representative works of modern and contemporary Hong Kong and Chinese masters such as Lin Fengmian, Zhao Shaoang and Wu Guanzhong.  The Museum of History has an important role to play in the promotion of public history and a "Public History" exhibition series will be organised in collaboration with various community organisations on the history of Hong Kong, its people and the organisations concerned.  These projects will involve not only academics and professionals but also the general public so as to leverage on their creativity and collections. 

     On art promotion and education, the public museums have been working to forge a close working relationship with different government agencies, schools and academic institutions in developing art promotion and other programmes.  The number of educational activities and the total number of participants have increased significantly, from about 1 500 and about 500,000 respectively in 2000/01 to about 3,400 and about 1 million respectively in 2008/09.  A highlight of student participation was the seven-day Young Astronaut Training Camp jointly organised by the Hong Kong Space Museum and the China Astronaut Research and Training Centre in Beijing and Xichang in August 2009.

     The CoM submitted its Recommendation Report to the Government in May 2007.  Mr Tsang expressed sincere gratitude and appreciation to the Chairman and members of the CoM for their comprehensive recommendations on the long-term development of public museum services in Hong Kong.

Ends/Monday, February 1, 2010
NNNN

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.02 12:40 29°C 間有陽光幾陣驟雨黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
February
博物館服務的未來發展
***************

下稿由民政事務局發出︰

  政府今日(二月一日)宣布,現時由康樂及文化事務署(康文署)管理的14間公共博物館的管治模式將維持不變,當局會強化博物館的公眾使命,以及訂定更明確的定位和目標。

  民政事務局局長曾德成說:「自博物館委員會的建議報告發表後,政府審慎考慮各有關因素,同意公共博物館的服務可按照委員會的建議予以進一步改善。有關工作應在現行管治模式下進行,我們亦會加強公眾的參與。與此同時,西九文化區管理局作為一個法定機構,會研究以新的管治模式營運西九文化區內的M+。」

  他解釋說,政府研究海外博物館的管治模式後,認為不適宜提出單一種普遍適用於所有博物館的管治模式。不同的管治模式可以共存,以配合博物館的特定情況及當地的環境。

  曾德成說:「在香港,公共博物館未來數年須履行多項廣泛而且重要的公眾使命,包括有逼切需要為香港發展文化軟件和培養觀眾群,在校內及校外向年青一代推廣藝術和文化,培育及推廣本地藝術家,網羅更多博物館專才,以及支援文化及創意產業發展成為香港的新經濟支柱。」

  「康文署轄下的公共博物館具備良好條件履行以上公眾使命,各館將與負責藝術教育及推廣的政府或非政府機構,緊密及有效地協調和合作。」

  「俟公共博物館的管治模式作出決定後,我們會採取積極措施,強化公共博物館的公眾使命,訂定更清晰的目標和定位,並加強其教育角色,以支援香港文化軟件的發展。」

  曾德成指出,為加強公共博物館運作的專業性及民間參與,政府將分別為屬於藝術、歷史及科學三個範疇的博物館成立博物館專家顧問委員會。委員會的成員來自不同背景和具備不同專業知識,會就公共博物館的發展、推廣及管理策略向康文署提供意見。」

  曾德成說:「我相信這些措施可進一步加強公共博物館現時的網絡,以及增加民間參與博物館運作的機會。」

  根據博物館委員會的建議,康文署轄下的博物館會透過加深和擴闊公眾和社區的參與,進一步改善博物館的營運。博物館會與不同持份者更緊密地溝通和合作,包括客席策展人、收藏家、區議會、非政府機構、商界及教育院校。

  與客席策展人合作的成功例子包括香港藝術館舉辦的「香港藝術:開放.對話」項目,邀請五十多位本地及海外獨立策展人提交專題展覽方案,其中四位策展人在2007至2009年間分別策劃了深受歡迎的展覽。此外,七位本地新進藝術家亦獲邀參與2009年舉行的大型當代藝術展覽「路易威登:創意情感」,入場人次達12萬,打破了以往的記錄。

  康文署亦致力為每間公共博物館建立更清晰的定位,使其各具特色。例如,藝術館致力發展本身作為區內重要水墨畫博物館的定位,因為其水墨藏品珍貴獨特,包括世界級虛白齋中國書畫藏品,現代及當代香港及中國大師如林風眠、趙少昂及吳冠中等著名大師的代表作品。香港歷史博物館則在推廣公眾歷史方面擔當重要角色,博物館將會與多個社區團體合辦「公眾歷史」展覽系列,介紹香港、香港人和有關團體的歷史。不但學術界和專業人士將會參與這些展覽,市民大眾也可藉此發揮創意和展示收藏品。

  在藝術推廣和教育方面,公共博物館一直與不同政府機構、學校及學術院校建立緊密合作關係,開展藝術推廣及相關計劃。教育活動數目和參加者總數均大幅增加,由2000/01年度的約1500項和50萬人,增至2008/09年度的約3400項和100萬人。其中一個讓學生參與的重點活動是在2009年8月,香港太空館與中國航天員科研訓練中心合辦為期七天在北京和西昌舉行的少年太空人體驗營。

  博物館委員會於2007年5月向政府提交建議報告。曾德成衷心感謝委員會的主席及委員,就香港公共博物館服務的長遠發展作出詳盡建議。



二○一○年二月一日(星期一)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群