Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.12.21 01:59 17°C Mainly FineYellow Fire Danger Warning
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2010
January
LCSD's Astropark opens today
**************

     The newly completed Astropark established by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department was opened to the public today (January 30).

     Situated in Chong Hing Water Sports Centre, West Sea Cofferdam, High Island Reservoir, Sai Kung, the Astropark, which cost $3 million to build, is equipped with stargazing facilities and managed by the Hong Kong Space Museum.

     An LCSD spokesman noted that although Hong Kong was affected by light pollution, there were still some places in remote areas like Sai Kung and Lantau which were good enough for stargazing. After collecting opinions from astronomy groups, the Government decided to set up the Astropark in Chong Hing Water Sports Centre to promote the stargazing culture in Hong Kong, and to arouse public awareness of preserving the dark night sky as a natural resource for future generations. It will also be a convenient stargazing park with recreational, educational and astronomical facilities for the benefit, use and enjoyment of the public and star lovers.

     Occupying a site of about 1,200 square metres, the Astropark is divided into three zones: the Educational Zone, Naked-eye Observation Area and Telescopic Observation Area.

     Installed in the Educational Zone are eight replicas of ancient Chinese astronomical instruments, including an exact replica of the armillary sphere, star dial, moon dial, upward looking bowl sundial, gnomon, equatorial sundial, horizontal sundial and direction determining table.  In addition, a shadow sundial there allows visitors to tell the time by using their own shadows projected on the ground. The pavilion in which a simulated night sky will be projected allows visitors to learn about the constellations even when the weather does not allow stargazing.

     In the Naked-eye Observation Area, visitors can enjoy stargazing by lying comfortably on specially designed, reclining stargazing benches.

     In the Telescopic Observation Area, four sets of 20 x 80 binoculars (with magnification of 20 and aperture of 80mm) specially designed for viewing any direction in the sky with ease are installed so that visitors can use the binoculars to view celestial objects at nighttime. The park also provides amateur astronomers with 10 telescope piers to spare them the effort of carrying heavy tripods when they bring along their own telescopes for observation. Visitors can also use the two star trackers to take astrophotographs with ordinary cameras by manually offsetting the diurnal motion of celestial objects.

     To enhance public interest in and knowledge of astronomy, the Space Museum will organise different stargazing activities and guided tours in the park.

     The Astropark is open 24 hours and throughout the year.  Admission is free. However, those who want to get a power supply should make prior bookings as campers at Chong Hing Water Sports Centre and pay the camp fee. For details of the booking of camping facilities in Chong Hing Water Sports Centre, please visit www.lcsd.gov.hk/watersport/en/hiri_book.php.

     Visitors can take KMB routes 94 and 96R, or Citybus route 698R, or Green Minibus routes 7 or 9 to Pak Tam Chung, Sai Kung, and then take a taxi to the Astropark. Visitors can also hire a "kaito" at Sai Kung Pier to and from the Astropark.

     For details of the Astropark, please visit the Space Museum's website at http://hk.space.museum or the Astropark's website at http://astropark.hk.space.museum, or call the Space Museum at 2721 0226.

Ends/Saturday, January 30, 2010
NNNN

1

Installed in the Astropark, the star dial, also called the pole-star dial, is an instrument for determining the time at night by observation of the stars.

2

Installed in the Astropark, the Pavilion cum Mini-Planetarium in which a simulated night sky will be projected allows visitors to learn about the constellations.

3

The Astropark is a theme park with stargazing facilities.

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.12.18 12:09 15°C 多雲紅色火災危險警告寒冷天氣警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
January
康文署天文公園今日啟用
****************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)新近落成的天文公園於今日〈一月三十日〉正式投入服務。

  天文公園位於西貢萬宜水庫西壩創興水上活動中心,耗資300萬元興建,具備觀星設施,由香港太空館負責管理。

  康文署發言人表示,香港雖然光害嚴重,但在偏遠地區,例如西貢及大嶼山,仍有理想的觀星地點,政府在收集天文團體的意見後,決定在創興水上活動中心內,興建天文公園,以推動香港的觀星文化。當局亦希望藉此設施提升大眾對保育黑暗天空的環境、減少光害的認識;同時透過一個具娛樂、教育及觀星設施的主題公園,讓市民及觀星愛好者可在當中享受觀星之樂。

  天文公園面積約為1,200平方米,劃分為三個區,分別為天文研習區、肉眼觀測區和望遠鏡觀測區。

  天文研習區內放置了八件中國古代天文儀器複製品,包括一具一比一原大的明代渾儀、星晷、月晷、仰儀、圭表、赤道式日晷、地平日晷及正方案等,以便市民大眾研究中國古代天文儀器。此外,公園內亦設有人體日晷,讓參觀者利用自己的影子透過人體日晷找出當天的時間。而在天氣欠佳未能觀星的日子,參觀者仍可在公園的涼亭內欣賞模擬的星空及星座。

  此外,公園的肉眼觀測區內設有多張經特別設計的斜背觀星專用座椅,讓參觀者可舒適躺坐欣賞星空。

  望遠鏡觀測區內設有四台特別設計,可從任何方向輕易地觀測天空的20乘80雙筒望遠鏡(其倍率和口徑分別為20倍和80毫米),讓觀眾可在夜間使用該等雙筒望遠鏡觀測天體。該區內亦安裝了10個望遠鏡柱墩,供業餘天文愛好者使用。他們只需把自備的望遠鏡安裝在柱墩上,便可觀測天體,而無須再攜帶沉重的三腳架。園內的兩個追星儀亦可讓參觀者以人手方式使用普通相機進行天文的追蹤攝影。

  太空館將於日後在天文公園舉辦不同的觀星及中國天文儀器導賞活動,以提高市民對天文的興趣和認識。

  天文公園全年每日24小時開放,供市民免費使用。然而,市民若需要天文公園提供電力,例如用以驅動望遠鏡的赤道儀,或接駁手提電腦以供拍攝天文照片等,則須預先向創興水上活動中心申請租訂營地,並繳付入營費用。有關創興水上活動中心營地租訂詳情,請瀏覽網址:http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/watersport/b5/hiri_book.php

  市民如欲前往天文公園,可乘搭九巴路線94、96R;或城巴路線698R;或專線小巴路線7號和9號於西貢北潭涌下車,再乘坐的士約15分鐘抵達天文公園。市民亦可在西貢碼頭自行安排「街渡」往返天文公園。

  有關天文公園詳情可瀏覽太空館網頁(http://hk.space.museum),或天文公園網頁(http://astropark.hk.space.museum),或致電二七二一 ○二二六查詢。

二○一○年一月三十日(星期六)

1

設於天文公園內的星晷,又稱勾陳晷,為夜間利用觀測恆星以定時刻的一種計時工具。

2

設於天文公園內的涼亭暨小型天象廳,讓市民可在涼亭內欣賞模擬的星空及星座。

3

天文公園為具備觀星設施的主題公園。

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群