Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.31 23:39 31°C Mainly FineVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: January
 
New Bornean orangutan to meet public soon
*****************************************


     The Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens has a new star: A male Bornean orangutan named Vandu.

     The Bornean orangutan is an endangered primate. With its huge body and lovely appearance, it has always been the most popular animal in the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens.

     Fifteen-year-old Vandu came from a zoo in Hungary, arriving in Hong Kong last Friday (January 22). He is in good health and is adapting to his new environment. Vandu will be able to meet the public before the end of February after quarantine.

     Vandu was transferred to Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens through a conservation breeding programme. He will enrich the animal exhibits here, foster public understanding of Bornean orangutans and raise public interest in visiting the park. Another important mission for Vandu is to pair up with the existing two female Bornean orangtuans for conservation breeding.

     The lifespan of Bornean orangutans is normally up to 35 years. They are arboreal and diurnal. Apart from brief periods of mating and raising infants by females, Bornean orangutans are solitary for most of their lives. They swing and move from branch to branch with their powerful hands and rarely leave the trees for the ground. They sleep at night in large nests built of broken branches and foliage. Fruit, leaves, bark and birds’eggs are their favourite foods.

     Eleven out of 17 species of mammals currently kept in the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens are primates and there are 60 primates, including the Bornean orangutan, buff-cheeked gibbon, emperor tamarin, golden lion tamarin, lion-tailed macaque, red-handed tamarin, ring-tailed lemur, siamang, white-faced saki, black and white ruffed lemur and pygmy marmoset.

     The Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens will continue to conserve rare and endangered animal species. Through the arrangement of the International Studbook Keeper, endangered animal species will continue to be introduced from overseas zoos for conservation breeding and educational purposes.

Ends/Wednesday, January 27, 2010
NNNN

 

01

Vandu is adapting well to his new environment in the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens and is curious about his new home.

02

Vandu is adapting well to his new environment in the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens and is curious about his new home.

 

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 27 January, 2010

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.22 12:43 29°C 間有陽光
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2010
January
新添婆羅洲猩猩將與市民見面
*******************

  香港動植物公園剛增添了一名動物「明星」— 雄性婆羅洲猩猩Vandu。

  婆羅洲猩猩體積龐大、外表趣致、屬瀕危的靈長類動物,一向是香港動植物公園內最受市民歡迎的動物。

  Vandu,今年15歲,來自匈牙利一所動物園,剛於上星期五(一月二十二日)抵港。牠健康狀況良好,現正適應新環境,待隔離檢疫後,將於二月底前與市民見面。

  香港動植物公園透過保育繁殖計劃,引入Vandu,豐富公園內展出的動物蒐集,並促進市民對婆羅洲猩猩的認識及提高市民遊園的興趣。Vandu亦肩負保育重任,與公園原有的兩頭雌性婆羅洲猩猩作配對,繁殖下一代。

  婆羅洲猩猩的壽命一般可達35年,屬樹棲性動物,喜歡在日間活動。除了在短暫的交配期或在雌獸哺育幼兒時,通常都是獨居。牠們一般會在樹上生活,以強而有力的雙手在樹枝間搖盪前進,甚少走到地面;晚間則睡在樹上用樹枝和樹葉築成的大窩。牠們愛吃果實、樹葉、樹皮、和雀鳥蛋等。

  現時香港動植物公園飼養的17種哺乳類動物中,有11種共約60頭屬於靈長類動物,包括婆羅洲猩猩、紅頰黑猿、皇狨猴、獅狨猴、獅尾猴、紅手狨猴、環尾狐猴、合趾猿、白面僧面猴、領狐猴和侏狨等。

  香港動植物公園會繼續肩負保育稀有和瀕危物種的使命,並不時透過國際物種登錄員的安排,從外國動物園引入瀕危的動物,作保育繁殖及教育用途。

二○一○年一月二十七日(星期三)

01

Vandu在香港動植物公園這新環境適應良好,並對新家園充滿好奇。

02

Vandu在香港動植物公園這新環境適應良好,並對新家園充滿好奇。

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群