Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.24 21:03 30°C Cloudy
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: July
 
LCSD safeguards public safety and preservation of wild birds
**************************************************

     A pair of magpies, which built a nest in a tree at Tak Ching Court in Tuen Mun in February, have flown away to start a new life with their newborn chicks. During the gestation period, the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) implemented appropriate measures to safeguard public safety and to preserve wild birds at the same time.

     The department closely monitored the development ever since the magpies built their nest. The department arranged hoardings to be put around the tree to avoid the twigs falling from the nest and posing a danger to passers-by. At the same time, some tree branches were placed in the vicinity for the birds to extend the nest. These allowed a balance between the protection of public safety and the preservation of wild birds.

     The department staff regularly observed the living pattern of the magpies. Senior Amenities Assistant of Tuen Mun, Mr Yuen Tat-sing, who participated in the observation work said, “Since birds’ activities are more frequent in the morning and the evening, we usually observe and record the magpies’ living, such as their comings and goings, their activities in the nest, hatching of the chicks and their feeding, outside office hours.”

     LCSD staff saw that at least two chicks were born and were looked after by their parents. The young magpies also learnt to fly in the vicinity of the nest. The parents maintained the nest from time to time by taking small branches to mend it. They left the nest until the small birds leant basic flying skills.

     Mr Yuen was pleased to see the magpies living well in the crowded city. The little family also attracted people who were interested in the birds’ lives.

     LCSD staff said the magpies had used the nest less frequently since late May, and had not returned from early June. The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) confirmed that the nest was no longer in use. The nest had become loose probably because it was not maintained by the parent birds. Part of the nest had fallen to the ground within the cordoned off area but it did not contain any egg or bird. The LCSD had removed the remaining part of the nest to safeguard public safety.

Ends/Friday, July 17, 2009
NNNN

3980L__002.JPG

Staying at home, the magpie family enjoys a peaceful environment in the crowded city.

3980L__014.jpg

The young magpie waited for mother's feeding.

3980L__036.jpg

The young magpie waited for mother's feeding.

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 17 July, 2009

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.31 18:07 26°C 天色大致良好
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2009
July
康文署成功保障公眾安全及保育野生雀鳥
***************************

  今年二月,一對喜鵲在屯門德政圍一棵樹上築巢,最終成功孵出幼雛,並於六月初離巢,展開新生活。期間,康樂及文化事務署(康文署)採取了適當的措施,在保障公眾安全的同時亦保育野生雀鳥。

  自該對喜鵲在樹上築巢後,署方一直密切監察有關情況。為了在公眾安全和保育野生雀鳥之間取得平衡,署方安排用圍板將樹下部分地方圍封,以免鳥巢所掉下的枝條對途經的市民構成危險,並在附近穢鬩A當的樹枝讓雀鳥築巢。

  康文署員工不時到場觀察喜鵲的生活情況,其中一位有份參與的員工──屯門區高級康樂助理員袁達成說:「由於雀鳥活動的時間多為早上及傍晚,同事多在工作以外的時間到場觀察和紀錄喜鵲的活動情況,包括一對喜鵲能否成弘t對、進出鳥巢的時間、在鳥巢內的活動、有否孵出幼鳥及餵哺等情況。」

  署方觀察到最少有兩隻幼鳥在鳥巢中出世,得到雀鳥父母的妥善照顧,並在鳥巢附近學飛,而一對喜鵲亦不時以細小樹枝修補鳥巢,直至幼鳥能掌握飛行技巧,離巢而去。

  袁達成喜見喜鵲一家能成它b鬧市中生活。關注喜鵲情況的市民亦有前往觀看牠們的生活。

  自五月底,署方留意到喜鵲已減少使用鳥巢,並在六月初離巢後未有回來,漁農自然護理署亦已確定該鳥巢已被棄用。鳥巢可能因缺乏修補而變得鬆散,且有部分枝條掉落地面圍封的範圍內,康文署在掉下來的鳥巢部分並沒有發現鳥蛋或雛鳥。為保障公眾安全,署方已將餘下的鳥巢拆走。署方亦已聯絡建築署,安排於下星期拆除圍板。


二○○九年七月十七日(星期五)

3980L__002.JPG

喜鵲一家在安樂窩中享受鬧市內的一點寧靜。

3980L__014.jpg

雛鳥正等待母親餵哺。

3980L__036.jpg

雛鳥正等待母親餵哺。

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群