Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.04.19 02:58 24°C Mainly Fine
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: May
 
South China Honeylocust and Indian-rubber tree removed for public safety
**************************************************

     The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) removed a South China Honeylocust in Victoria Park and an Indian-rubber tree in Middle Bay Beach today (May 21) to safeguard the public. The trees were confirmed to have severely declined in health and were in danger of collapse following detailed inspections by department staff and analysis by members of the tree expert group.

     Listed on the Register of Old and Valuable Trees (OVTs) with the registration number E/33, the 11-metre-tall South China Honeylocust was located at the south slope of the mound in Victoria Park. During a regular inspection in the middle of last year, the tree was found to have been attacked by fungi. Also, lots of dead branches, abnormal defoliation and dried bark were found on the tree. The department had taken remedial measures including trimming of dead branches and the crown, application of fungicide and insecticide, improvement of soil around the tree as well as paying attention to the irrigation pattern etc. However, the tree did not respond well to the treatment. Its main trunk cracked seriously and its bark peeled off, and its condition  gradually deteriorated. Earlier this year, its root system was also found to be decaying.

     Listed on the Register of OVTs with the registration number S/14, the 18-metre-tall Indian-rubber tree was located at Middle Bay Beach in the Southern District. The tree had been closely monitored by the department. Its leaves were found to be sparse and deteriorating, and its main trunk, branches and roots had signs of withering. The department used cables to stabilise the tree and trimmed its crown and dead branches. However, the tree gave no sign of recovery. 

     Following detailed inspections by department staff and analysis by the tree expert group, it was confirmed that the health of the two trees had deteriorated to such an extent that they posed a potential danger to the public. For the sake of public safety, the tree expert group endorsed the removal of the trees.
 
     The LCSD stressed that it would continue to adopt a prudent approach in managing its trees. Removing a problematic tree would only be the last resort when there was no viable option to keep it.

Ends/Thursday, May 21, 2009
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 21 May, 2009

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.12.23 01:48 15°C 多雲
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2009
May
移除華南皂莢及印度橡樹以保障公眾安全
***************************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)經詳細檢查及樹木專家小組成員的分析後,確定位於維多利亞公園的華南皂莢及中灣泳灘的印度橡樹健康情況急速衰退,並構成潛在倒塌危險,對市民安全構成威脅,署方今日(五月二十一日)已把該兩棵樹移除。

  該棵華南皂莢約十一米高,列於《古樹名木冊》內,編號E/33,位於維多利亞公園近小山丘南方。本署於去年中為該樹進行定期檢查時,發現該樹被真菌侵蝕及有大量枯枝,並有不正常落葉及樹皮乾涸的情況。本署已立刻為該樹進行護理工作,包括移除枯枝、修剪樹冠、噴灑殺菌劑和蟲藥、改良根部的種植土壤和留意澆水情況等。然而該樹對護理工作反應欠佳,健康情況日趨惡化,且不斷出現枝幹嚴重爆裂及樹皮剝落的現象。至今年初,其根系亦有腐爛和萎縮跡象。

  另一棵今日移除的印度橡樹約十八米高,列於《古樹名木冊》內,編號S/14,位於南區中灣泳灘的中央位置。本署一直密切留意該樹的生長情況,並發現該樹的樹葉異常稀疏,葉片出現明顯萎縮,主幹、骨架支幹和表面根系均呈現枯萎徵狀。本署早前已利用繩索穩固該樹及修剪樹冠和枯枝,但該樹一直未有復原跡象。

  經康文署職員檢查該兩棵樹的生長情況及樹木專家小組的分析後,認為該兩棵樹的健康情況急速衰退至構成潛在倒塌危險。在保障公眾安全的大前提下,樹木專家小組同意須把它們移除。

  康文署重申,會繼續謹慎處理樹木,並只會在沒有其他可行的改善方法時,才把有問題的樹木移除。

二○○九年五月二十一日(星期四)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群