Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2014.11.21 07:08 21°C Sunny Periods
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2009
May
Coral tree on Ping Che Road removed for the sake of public safety
嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗嚗

     The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) removed a coral tree on Ping Che Road, Ta Kwu Ling today (May 16) to safeguard public safety. The tree was confirmed to be severely declined and had potential danger of collapse following the department's detailed inspections and analysis of the members of the tree expert group.

     Listed on the Register of Old and Valuable Trees (OVTs) with the registration number N/3, the 14-metre tall coral tree was attacked by Erythrina Gall Wasp (EGW). The tree has been closely monitored and remedial measures including application of insecticide, trimming of branches affected by EGW and installation of cables for additional support were carried out.

     However, the tree was not responding well to the insecticide and recently its health condition has deteriorated drastically. The trunk was attacked by fungi with bark peeling off. Following detailed inspection, the LCSD confirmed that the condition of the tree was seriously declined and had no chance of recovery. It had a potential danger of collapse and posed threat to the traffic and people passing by. Members of the tree expert group agreed with the analysis. In order to safeguard public safety, the department decided to remove the tree.

     The LCSD stressed that it would continue to adopt a prudent approach in managing its trees. Removing a problematic tree would only be the last resort when there is no other viable option to keep it.

Ends/Saturday, May 16, 2009
NNNN

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.26 14:09 28°C 短暫陽光黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2009
May
移除坪輋路刺桐樹以保障公眾安全
**********************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)經詳細檢查及樹木專家小組成員的分析後,確定位於打鼓嶺坪輋路的一棵刺桐樹已嚴重衰退,有潛在倒塌危險,對市民安全構成威脅,署方今日(五月十六日)已把該樹移除。

  該棵刺桐樹約十四米高,列於《古樹名木冊》內,編號N/3,受到刺桐姬小蜂的侵害。康文署一直密切留意該樹的情況,並進行跟進護理工作,包括施放殺蟲藥和修剪受害蟲影響的枝條及加設拉纜。

  但該樹對殺蟲藥的反應並不理想,最近的健康情況急劇轉壞,樹幹表皮剝落,並長出真菌。經康文署職員檢查該樹的生長情況後,認為該樹整體嚴重衰退,沒有機會復原,並有潛在倒塌危險,對行經的車輛和市民構成威脅。樹木專家小組亦同意康文署的分析。在保障公眾安全的大前提下,康文署決定把該樹移除。

  康文署重申,會繼續謹慎處理樹木,並只會在沒有其他可行的改善方法時,才把有問題的樹木移除。

二○○九年五月十六日(星期六)

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群