Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.04.25 08:28 22°C Light Rain
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: March
 
Completion of the assessment of 1,444 historic buildings announced
**************************************************

The following was issued by the Development Bureau:

   "The completion of the comprehensive assessment on the 1,444 historic buildings in Hong Kong was an important milestone in the heritage conservation work in Hong Kong," a spokesman for the Development Bureau said today (March 19).

   The Antiquities Advisory Board (AAB) announced today that an expert panel under the AAB has completed the assessment on the heritage value of 1,444 buildings in Hong Kong. The assessment result, together with the proposed grading by the Antiquities and Monuments Office (AMO), was submitted to the AAB for consideration today.

   Under the proposal, 212 are proposed to be Grade I, 366 are Grade II, and 576 are Grade III. There is no proposed grading for the remaining 290 buildings. Currently, there are 543 graded historic buildings in Hong Kong.

   The public are welcomed to submit information to AAB in the coming four months. The AAB will consider the preliminary gradings proposed by the AMO and such information submitted by the public with a view to making a decision on the gradings in the coming meetings.

   "This is the most comprehensive assessment of the heritage value of historic buildings ever conducted in Hong Kong.

   We are very grateful to the hard work of the Expert Panel and the members' enthusiasm in the heritage conservation work in Hong Kong," the spokesman said.

   The list of proposed Grade I buildings by the AMO, if approved by the AAB, will be regarded as providing a pool of highly valuable heritage buildings for consideration by the Antiquities Authority as to whether some of these may have reached the "high threshold" of monuments to be put under statutory protection. In case these buildings are under demolition threat, the Antiquities Authority may declare them as proposed monument in order to provide immediate protection to these buildings.

   Moreover, the proposed gradings by the AMO (including Grade I, II and III), if approved by the AAB, will form the basis for implementation of various heritage conservation measures, including the Heritage Impact Assessment mechanism applicable for government capital works projects and the financial assistance scheme which subsidises private owners in maintaining their historic buildings. Suitable Government-owned graded historic buildings will be selected to be included in the "Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme" for adaptive re-use through the operation of social enterprises by non-profit-making organisations with funding support from Government.

   A territory-wide survey on historic buildings in Hong Kong mainly built before 1950 was carried out by the AMO in 1996-2000, during which some 8,800 buildings were recorded. A more in-depth survey of 1,444 buildings with higher heritage value selected from the 8,800 surveyed buildings was carried out by AMO in 2002-2004. An Expert Panel comprising historians and members of the Hong Kong Institute of Architects, Hong Kong Institute of Planners and Hong Kong Institute of Engineers was formed in March 2005 by the AAB to undertake an in-depth assessment of the heritage value of these buildings.

Ends/Thursday, March 19, 2009
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 19 March, 2009

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.08.23 01:44 28°C 天色大致良好
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2009
March
1444幢歷史建築評估工作已完成
****************

下稿由發展局發出︰

  發展局發言人今日(三月十九日)說,本港1,444幢歷史建築的評估工作已經完成,是本港文物保育工作的重要里程碑。

  古物諮詢委員會(古諮會)今日宣布,委員會轄下的一個專家小組已完成為全港1,444幢歷史建築的文物價值的評估工作。評估工作的結果,以及古物古蹟辦事處(古蹟辦)對該等建築物的建議評級,今日已呈交予古諮會考慮。

  根據古蹟辦的建議,在這1,444幢歷史建築物中,212幢獲建議評為一級歷史建築、366幢獲建議評為二級歷史建築,而獲建議評為三級的歷史建築物則有576幢。餘下的290幢歷史建築物則不建議給予評級。現時,獲評級的歷史建築共有543幢。

  古諮會歡迎市民在未來四個月內就建議評級向古諮會提供資料,古諮會會對古蹟辦提供的初步建議評級和市民提供的資料進行研究,務求在未來的會議上就評級作出決定。

  發言人說:「今次的評估工作是本港有史以來為歷史建築進行評估最全面的一次。」

  他說:「我們十分感謝專家小組的努力,和各委員對本港文物保育工作的熱誠。」

  古諮會若同意古蹟辦建議評為一級歷史建築名單,這些一級歷史建築將視作已列入「備用名單」的具高度價值的文物建築,供古物事務監督考慮當中一些建築物是否已達到宣布為古蹟的「極高門檻」,可以獲得法定保護。當這些建築物面臨拆卸威脅時,由古物事務監督可把建築物宣布為暫定古蹟,以便即時為建築物提供保護。

  同時,古諮會若同意古蹟辦的建議評級(包括一級、二級及三級),將會成為實施多項文物保育工作的基礎,包括適用於政府基本工程項目的文物影響評估機制;為私人歷史建築的業主提供維修資助;一些合適而由政府擁有的已評級歷史建築會被選入「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」內,由政府提供財政支援,讓非牟利機構通過經營社會企業,活化再利用該等建築物。

  古蹟辦於一九九六年至二○○○年期間,對本港的歷史建築物(主要是建於一九五○年以前的建築物)進行了一次全港性調查,記錄了約8,800幢建築物。在二○○二年至二○○四年期間,古蹟辦從該8,800幢已記錄的建築物中,挑選了1,444幢文物價值較高的建築物,進行更深入的調查。於二○○五年三月成立了一個由歷史學家,以及香港建築師學會、香港規劃師學會和香港工程師學會的會員所組成的專家小組,負責就該等建築物的文物價值進行深入的評估工作。

二○○九年三月十九日(星期四)

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群