Leisure and Cultural Services Department Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Publication and Press Releases2014.07.25 14:59 32°C Sunny Periods with A Few ShowersVery Hot Weather Warning
 
* Publication and Press Releases *
*
* Home *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* Public Forms *
* *
* *
* *
* Jobs Available *
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
Publication and Press Releases

Graphic: Press ReleasesGraphic: March
 
Big-leaved fig on Caroline Hill Road removed for the sake of public safety
**************************************************

     The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) removed a big-leaved fig on Caroline Hill Road today (March 10) to ensure public safety. The tree was confirmed to be dead and has potential danger of collapse following detailed discussions and analysis with members of the tree expert group.

     Listed on the Register of Old and Valuable Trees (OVTs) with the registration number WCH/8, the 15-metre tall big-leaved fig was located in the workshop of Electrical and Mechanical Services Department on Caroline Hill Road. During a regular inspection early last year, the tree was found with abnormal defoliation and bark peeling off. Remedial measures including trimming of dead branches, application of fungicide and insecticide as well as improvement of soil around the tree were carried out immediately.

     The tree has been closely monitored by the department. However, its health condition was deteriorating gradually and its branches were found withering. Earlier this year, the main trunk and branches were found decaying and part of the trunk was attacked by woodborers. After detailed discussions and analysis with the tree expert group, the department confirmed that the tree was dead and posed potential danger of collapse. To safeguard public safety, the department decided to remove the tree.

     The department stressed that it would continue to adopt a prudent approach in managing its trees and removing a problematic tree would only be the last resort when there is no other viable option to keep it.

Ends/Tuesday, March 10, 2009
NNNN

 
  [News Archive] [Back to Top]  
Graphic: End

Quality Services for Quality Life
2003| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 10 March, 2009

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.26 07:45 25°C 多雲黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2009
March
移除加路連山道大葉榕樹以保障公眾安全
***************************

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)經與樹木專家小組成員詳細商討和分析後,確定位於加路連山道一棵大葉榕樹已枯死並有潛在倒塌危險,對市民安全構成威脅,署方今日(三月十日)已把該樹移除。

  該棵大葉榕樹約十五米高,列於《古樹名木冊》內,編號WCH/8,位於加路連山道機電工程署工場內。本署於去年初為該樹進行定期檢查時,已發現該樹出現不正常落葉和樹皮剝落的現象,本署已即時進行跟進護理工作,包括修剪枯枝、噴灑適當的殺菌劑和施放滅蟲藥,並改良該樹周邊的土壤。

  本署一直密切留意該大葉榕樹的情況,但發現該樹的健康情況日趨惡化,並有枝條枯萎。今年初,本署發現該樹的主幹和枝條腐爛,部分樹幹更被蛀木蟲侵蝕。本署經與樹木專家小組詳細商討和分析後,確定該樹已枯死,並有潛在倒塌危險。在保障公眾安全的大前提下,本署決定把該樹移除。

  康文署重申,會繼續謹慎處理樹木,並只會在沒有其他可行的改善方法時,才把有問題的樹木移除。

 


二○○九年三月十日(星期二)

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群