Running for Health

Running for Health 

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. Is running a sport for all people?
    Running is definitely a sport with many benefits. It not only improves physical fitness, but also strengthens cardiopulmonary function. It is also one of the building blocks for most sports. However, if you are suffering from disease or having some health conditions such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes mellitus, hypertension, joint problems or symptoms of chest pain and dizziness, you should consult a doctor and other medical professional before taking up running or other physical activities.
  2. Is running good for children?
    Running is good for children, but only if attention is paid to the following points:
    • Emphasis should be put on enjoying running and training willpower rather than attaining a certain duration or speed
    • Increase the duration and distance gradually
    • Children should not engage in professional training at too early a stage
    • Long distance training or excessive special training is not suitable for children
    • Children should avoid running on hard surface or rough and uneven mountain path for a long time. A running track at sports grounds or a jogging trail in park is more suitable
  3. How to develop a habit of running and make it a part of your daily routine in order to lead a healthy lifestyle?
    • Invite your friends and family members to join you
    • Switch to another activity (X) from time to time, so as to increase the variety of activities and prevent causing strain to muscles and joints by repetitive movements. This practice will not only increase the amount of physical activity, but also allow for active rest. Activity X may be cycling, hiking or training with fitness equipment. For triathlon enthusiasts, activity X may be roller skating. For running beginners, activity X may be swimming or gardening
      (Activity X also known as “Cross Training”)
    • Build regular rest days into your schedule. Take a rest day after running for a maximum of 3 days in a row. For beginners, 2 to 3 rest days are needed. You may do stretching exercises or engage in activity X on rest days
    • Devise a running plan and keep a training diary. Jot down the date, time, place, weather, distance, your mood, training method and results. Sometimes you may also make a record of your body weight, blood pressure and heart rate in order to assess the changes after continuous practice
    • Participate in competitions that suit your physical fitness level and take them as your short-term or long-term goals. This will help you be more committed to your regular practice and build running into your daily routine
    • Set short-term or sectional training targets. Very long-term targets may cause you to give up easily. The achievement of periodic targets can give you a greater sense of success, boost your confidence and give you the impetus to continue with your training
    • Reward yourself. After achieving your targets, give yourself some rewards as encouragement to work towards the next target
    • Tell your friends or family members your training plan. They can help monitor your progress and give you support
  4. What type of race should be targeted for beginners?
    It would be better for beginners to opt for a road race held on relatively flat and even roads as the course requires less physical energy and is easier for them to finish. Races on uneven roads with steep slopes may cause injuries to runners whose thigh muscles are not strong enough. Although race courses in the hills and countryside usually come with beautiful landscape, gravel paths may easily lead to injuries. Runners should also choose to compete in cooler seasons such as early spring or late autumn. Hot summer or severe winter days should be avoided as hot weather may cause body dehydration while extreme cold weather will lower the body temperature, leading to faster consumption of physical energy.
  5. How to choose running shoes?
    If you are running for leisure or health, the durability, comfort and protection of running shoes should be your prime considerations. A pair of sports shoes which fit well and offer good protection and shock absorption can reduce the impact when your feet hit the ground, and thus help prevent sports injuries and protect your feet and ankles. Other requirements include shoe uppers made of breathable and quick-dry materials, heels offering stability and good shock absorption, and toe boxes made of soft material.
  6. How much energy will be burned on a run?
    The amount of energy expended on a run is determined by factors such as the intensity of the run, personal physical fitness, skill level, age, gender, body weight and exercise duration. For ordinary people running for 30 minutes (on flat and even surface) at a speed of 8 kilometers per hour, the approximate amounts of calories burned are as follows:
    Body Weight
    (kg)
    Energy burned every 30 minutes
    (kcal)
    35 145
    40 166
    45 187
    50 208
    55 228
    60 249
    65 270
    70 290
    75 311
    80 332
    85 353
    90 374
    95 394
    100 415

    My Training Dairy

My Training Dairy

 

More Information

  1. For information on the programmes of “Long Distance Running”, please visit the website of Community Recreation and Sports Programmes of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD).
  2. For details about the “Healthy Exercise for All Campaign”, please call the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) 24-hour Customer Hotline at 2414 5555 (This hotline is handled by “1823”) or visit the website of LCSD at www.lcsd.gov.hk/en/healthy
  3. For more information on health, please call the Health Education Infoline of the Department of Health at 2833 0111 or visit the website of Centre for Health Protection at www.chp.gov.hk.
  4. For enquiries about training or competitions for running, please call the Hong Kong Amateur Athletic Association at 2504 8215 or visit the website of association at www.hkaaa.com/en
  5. For information on running as an exercise prescription, please contact the Physical Fitness Association of Hong Kong, China at 2838 9594 or visit the website of association at www.hkpfa.org.hk.

Acknowledgements:

Hong Kong Amateur Athletic Association
Physical Fitness Association of Hong Kong, China

Next Page

Top

健康跑步指南

健康跑步指南 

 

 

跑步常見問題:

  1. 任何人士都適宜跑步?
    跑步無疑是有益身心的運動,不但能鍛鍊體魄,改善心肺功能,亦是大部分運動項目的基礎訓練。不過,如患病或有健康問題,例如患有心血管病、糖尿病、高血壓、關節毛病或出現胸口痛或暈眩症狀,在參加跑步或其他體能活動前應徵詢醫生或其他專業人士的意見。
  2. 跑步對兒童健康有好處嗎?
    跑步對兒童有益,但須注意以下幾點:
    • 應強調跑步的樂趣和意志訓練多於訓練時間和速度;
    • 逐步增加跑步的時間和距離;
    • 兒童不適宜過早投入專業跑步訓練;
    • 兒童不適宜進行長距離訓練或過多的專門訓練;
    • 兒童應避免長時間在硬地或崎嶇不平的山徑跑步,可在運動場跑道或公園緩跑徑跑步。
  3. 如何培養跑步習慣,使跑步成為生活的一部分,建立健康生活模式?
    • 約同朋友和家人一起跑步
    • 間中加插另一項活動(X),既可增加新鮮感,亦可避免因只集中一種運動而引致筋骨勞損;此外,參與另一種活動在增加體能活動量之餘,也有助動態休息。活動X可以是踏單車、遠足、器械練習;對於三項鐵人運動愛好者來說,活動X可以是滾軸溜冰;對於剛開始練習跑步的人士來說,活動X可以是游泳或園藝。
      (活動X又名「交叉訓練」)
    • 加入休息日,最多練習3天便要休息1天,初學者更要休息2至3天。在休息日可進行伸展運動或活動X。
    • 編寫跑步計劃和訓練日誌,記下每次練習的日期、時間、地點、天氣、距離、心情、訓練形式和成果,間中亦可記錄體重、血壓和心跳率,以了解持續練習後的身體變化。
    • 參加適合自己體能的比賽,並以此為短期或長期目標,這樣會幫助你更投入定期練習,以及將跑步融入生活。
    • 訂立短期或分段練習目標。太長遠的目標容易令 人半途而廢,分段達成目標,可以增強成功感和 自信心,維持運動的動力。
    • 自我獎勵,當達成目標,給自己一點獎勵,鼓勵自己再向另一目標進發。
    • 將自己的運動計劃告訴朋友或家人,他們可以給予督促和支持。
  4. 初學者如有意參加比賽,應選擇甚麼比賽?
    初次參加比賽,宜選擇路面較平坦的公路賽。相對於起伏不平的賽道,較平坦的公路賽會較容易完成,消耗體力也較少,而且如要應付陡斜的上下坡路段,大腿肌肉力量不足者較易受傷;山路及郊區的賽道環境雖通常較優美,但路面碎石容易引致受傷。此外,應選早春或晚秋的清涼季節,避免在炎夏或寒冬參賽,因炎熱天氣容易導致身體脫水,而嚴寒天氣則會令體溫下降,加快體力消耗。
  5. 如何選擇跑鞋?
    如跑步以消閒、強身健體為目的,跑鞋的耐用、舒適及保護程度至為重要。一雙保護功能好、吸震力強和貼合腳型的運動鞋,可以把足部與地面接觸時產生的撞擊力減至最少,發揮防止運動創傷及保護足部和腳踝的功能。其他要求包括鞋面應該選用透氣快乾物料,鞋跟要穩固和吸震力強,以及鞋頭柔軟度高。
  6. 跑步可以消耗多少熱量?
    跑步消耗熱量的多寡取決於運動強度、個人體能、技術水平、年齡、性別、體重及運動時間等因素,普通人以每小時8公里的速度跑步30分鐘(平路),大約可消耗熱量如下:
    體量
    (公斤)
    每30分鐘所消耗的熱量
    (千卡)
    35 145
    40 166
    45 187
    50 208
    55 228
    60 249
    65 270
    70 290
    75 311
    80 332
    85 353
    90 374
    95 394
    100 415

    我的訓練日誌

My Training Dairy

 

更多資訊

  1. 查詢有關康樂及文化事務署(康文署)「長跑活動」的資料,請瀏覽本署「社區康樂體育活動」網頁。
  2. 如欲查詢有關「普及健體運動」的資料,請致電康文署二十四小時客務熱線:2414 5555或瀏覽康文署網頁 : www.lcsd.gov.hk/tc/healthy
  3. 如欲知道更多健康資訊,請致電衞生署二十四小時健康教育熱線:2833 0111或瀏覽衞生署中央健康教育組網頁 : www.cheu.gov.hk
  4. 查詢有關跑步訓練或比賽的資料,請致電2504 8215與香港業餘田徑總會聯絡,或瀏覽該會網頁 : www.hkaaa.com/tc
  5. 查詢有關以跑步作為運動處方的資料,請致電2838 9594與中國香港體適能總會聯絡,或瀏覽該會網頁 : www.hkpfa.org.hk

鳴謝:

香港業餘田徑總會
中國香港體適能總會

下頁

Top