Hong Kong Cultural Centre 35th Anniversary Celebration Programme: ‘Rising Phoenix of a Hundred Birds’ Exhibition

 

 

Date: 17.7 - 11.8.2024
Time: 9am - 11pm
Venue: Foyer, Hong Kong Cultural Centre
Free Admission  

 

 “According to legend, the Phoenix’s habitat is a land of abundant wealth and treasures.  The Phoenix is immortal and even if it dies, it will be reborn with dazzling brilliance… The Hong Kong Cultural Centre is a prime venue for performing arts and cultural exchange for Hong Kong and overseas artists alike, developing the spiritual life of Hong Kong citizens.  It is truly a hub of Hong Kong’s cultural treasures, and naturally the Phoenix’s habitat.” – CHUNG Tai-fu, artist

The Hong Kong Cultural Centre (HKCC) was inaugurated on 8 November 1989.  Nested besides the Victoria Harbour, the venue is well known for its iconic steep curved profile.  From an aerial view, it resembles a giant bird with its wings fully stretched, poised to fly high.  Under the theme of performing arts, visual artist CHUNG Tai-fu created his “Golden Phoenix” sculptural art to echo with the HKCC’s mission in promoting local arts and culture.  The commissioned work was finished in the 5th anniversary of the HKCC and has since been displayed at the foyer.  The sculpture is an amalgamation of traditional Chinese wood carving techniques for gilded buddha statues with modern forms of expression.  CHUNG used pure gold and silver foils for his creation.  Pure gold symbolised the perpetual cultural significance of Hong Kong, while silver foils oxidised over time, resembling an act of breathing to exhibit the power of life of the Golden Phoenix. Over the years, “Golden Phoenix” has witnessed the transformation of the HKCC into a cultural landmark of Asia’s world city.  Equipped with professional and top-quality technical facilities and support, the HKCC has not only provided an important platform for staging outstanding international artists and magnificent large-scale productions, but also served as a cradle for nurturing local artists, facilitating them to showcase their original creations.  The venue has been playing a significant role in fostering cultural exchange between the East and the West and enriching the people’s cultural life.

To commemorate the 35th anniversary of the HKCC, the Leisure and Cultural Services Department is collaborating with the First Initiative Foundation to co-present the “Rising Phoenix of a Hundred Birds” Exhibition based on the theme of the phoenix as one of the celebration programmes.  The concept of interweaving traditional Chinese paper craft with new media technology arts epitomizes the limitless possibilities of artistic creation at the HKCC.  We hope the HKCC as the first-rate cultural landmark of Hong Kong will continue to connect both established and emerging artists, inspire boundless creativity, and offer audiences diversified, innovative and inspirational experiences in performing arts.


About ‘Rising Phoenix of a Hundred Birds’

Through exquisite paper artistry, the exhibition showcases the dynamic beauty and diversity of birds, symbolizing freedom, vitality, creativity, and the cultural richness of Hong Kong.

The exhibition employs paper art to express reverence for traditional Chinese craftsmanship while pursuing technical innovation within tradition. To provide an unforgettable experience, augmented reality (AR) technology is integrated into the exhibition, transforming passive viewing into active exploration for audiences.

Visitors can enjoy lifelike animated birds flying through the lobby of the Hong Kong Cultural Centre, seamlessly blending the physical and digital worlds for a truly memorable experience. It attracts viewers of all ages and delivers memorable, immersive experiences that enrich the overall appreciation of the exhibition.

 

About the artist Victor Wong

Victor Wong, an award-winning cross-media artist, is acclaimed for his distinctive handling of new media technology art and visual effects in films. His work spans digital animation, film, augmented reality (AR), virtual reality (VR), public art sculptures, installations, and more recently, AI-generated ink paintings by robots.

With over 30 years of experience in digital media, Victor has contributed visual effects to over 120 feature films, epic games, and numerous TV commercials in Hong Kong, China, Japan, and the US. His creations have earned him multiple local and international awards in design and production, such as the New York Film Festival Awards, Tokyo JIAA Awards, Hong Kong Film Awards, and Taiwan's Golden Horse Awards.

Formerly serving as a digital media consultant for Hong Kong Cyberport, Victor was honoured as one of Hong Kong's Ten Outstanding Young Persons in 2005. Presently, he holds positions on various committees, including the Hong Kong Film Development Council Fund Vetting Committee, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council Design, Marketing & Licensing Services Advisory Committee, the Hong Kong Museum Advisory Committee, and the Hong Kong Maritime Museum Education Committee.

 

Back to 35th Anniversary Home Page

香港文化中心35周年志庆节目 — 《百鸟朝凰》展览

 

 

日期: 17.7 - 11.8.2024
时间: 9am - 11pm
地点: 香港文化中心大堂
免费入场  

 

「传说中凤凰栖身的地方,乃富庶及藏宝之地;牠更有不死或死而重生后,更能发放夺目的光辉之说……香港文化中心除了给予香港及海外艺术家有一个良好的表演及交流的场地外,还滋养着本港市民的精神生活,是凝聚本港文化宝藏的场方,故此,香港文化中心理应是凤凰栖身之所。」─ 艺术家钟大富

香港文化中心于1989年11月8日启用。这座屹立于维多利亚港旁的建筑物,以其独特的陡坡外型设计见称,从高处俯瞰,宛如一只展翅飞翔的大鸟。视觉艺术家钟大富,以表现艺术为主题,受启于文化中心推动本地文艺发展的使命,创作出《金凤凰》雕塑,并在开馆五周年完成制作,陈列于大堂内。雕塑以中国传统木雕金身的佛像雕刻技艺、结合现代的表现形式创作而成,钟大富用上纯金箔和银箔的物料:纯金象征香港永恆的文化价值,而银箔则会随着岁月氧化「呼吸」,呈现《金凤凰》的生命力。多年来见证了文化中心成为亚洲国际大都会的文化地标,致力以专业优质的设施配套,为出色的国际艺术家和精彩大型演出提供演出平台,并孕育本地艺术家制作饶具创意的演出,促进中外文化艺术交流,丰富市民的艺术生活。

今年欣逢文化中心启用35周年,康乐及文化事务署与领贤慈善基金合作,又一次以凤凰为主题,策划《百鸟朝凰》展览,作为志庆节目之一。是次展览,结合传统纸艺扎作与现代艺术科技,展示文化中心在艺术创作的开放与无垠。我们冀望这座重要的香港文化地标继续汇聚着名与新进艺术家,激发无尽创意,为观众带来多元、崭新兼具启发性的演艺体验。


关于「百鸟朝凰」

是次展览透过精美的纸艺作品,展示了鸟类的动态美及多样性,象征着自由、活力、充满创造力和文化的香港。

展品运用纸艺表达对中国传统工艺的崇敬,同时也在传统中追求技术与创新。为了提供难忘且独特的体验,展览中结合了扩增实境技术(AR)的技术,将被动观赏的模式转为观众主动探索。

市民可以通过是次由艺术家黄宏达(Victor Wong) 的艺术与科技的设计,在香港文化中心大堂内欣赏到栩栩如生的鸟儿飞翔,将现实和数码世界无缝融合,提供了令人难忘的沉浸式体验,使整个体验更加生动。

 

关于艺术家黄宏达

跨媒体艺术家黄宏达 (Victor Wong) 以新媒体科技艺术和电影视觉效果的独特处理手法获奖而闻名。他的作品涵盖了数码动画、电影、扩增实境(AR)、虚拟现实(VR)、公共艺术雕塑及装置艺术,亦包括近年发展以人工智能机器人绘制水墨画。

Victor在数码媒体领域拥有超过30年的工作经验,曾为香港、中国、日本和美国逾120部电影、史诗级游戏和无数电视广告制作视觉特效。他的作品赢得多个本地和国际设计及制作奖项,包括纽约电影节奖、东京JIAA奖、香港电影金像奖和台湾金马奖。

Victor曾任香港数码港的数码媒体顾问,并于2005年被评为香港十大杰出青年之一。他现任香港电影发展局基金审核委员会成员;香港贸易发展局设计、市场及授权服务业咨询委员会成员;香港博物馆咨询委员会 艺术专责委员会成员以及香港海事博物馆教育委员会成员。

 

回到三十五周年志庆主页