Stop
Play
Extend

Film Screenings

Passion and Tension in Directorial Debuts


Master directors are unequivocally blessed with the knack to ignite the proverbial fire in the belly in their works, whether it's the critical gaze that Stanley Kubrick directed at human weaknesses and wanton desires, or the experimental images captured through John Cassavetes's improvisational hand-held camera work.

From the audience's point of view, we might be driven by a curious desire to glean the creative origins of a master director from his or her debut, the probe itself is an alluring journey in its own right: delving into the wrestling, balancing or compromising of different times, races, values and aesthetics of these works is akin to travelling across states and countries by train, realising the emotional resonance held in foreign places to one's great joy and exhilaration.

Eclectic and boldly original, these nine selected debuts hailed from across four decades. Kubrick's palpable depiction of the brutal absurdity of war in the 1950s serves as a foil to John Cassavetes's raw, gritty portrayal of the pomposity and decadence among the youths during the Beat Generation years in New York City; the three German soldiers withdrawn from combat under Werner Herzog's lens offer less an anti-war, pacifist critique than a contemplation on the mind. One of new emerging forces of 1960s cinema, Roman Polanski ramped up sexual and class tensions to fever pitch with his cinematographic labyrinth within the intimate spaces of a yacht. Plunging into wounded fury and blind rage in Easy Rider (1969), Dennis Hopper played fast and loose with the rules, even making his own.

Theo Angelopoulos and Krzysztof Kieslowski made their cinematic debuts in the 1970s. One fantastical and the other realistic, the two masters painted the human and cultural landscapes of a Greek village and a Polish town respectively with elegant, composed cinematography. In the 1980s when the film industries of the world were flourishing and striving for innovation, the English director Hugh Hudson brought a breath of fresh air taking the directorial helm for the first time in Chariots of Fire (1981). Classic storytelling at its best, Chariots tells the story of two athletes, a missionary who runs for the glory of God and an English Jew who runs to overcome prejudice, and together, transcending their sport, inspire a nation and become legends. A leading figure of the fifth generation of Chinese cinema, Chen Kaige brought his post-revolutionary aesthetic vision and lyrical choreographing to the fore with Yellow Earth (1984).

The nine directorial debuts, each a tour de force of filmmaking, illuminate the intellectual, cultural and emotional dynamics between East and West, Europe and the US, opening up a host of issues for discussion. Fiercely uncompromising and inventive, the nine masters-in-the-making dived into the art of filmmaking with a passion more ardent than a vocation. They had issues to address, trails to blaze, tapping into the truth of life by employing the powerful tool that is cinema.

This programme is presented in collaboration with UA CineHub, in which five of the chosen films will be shown at UA iSQUARE, Tsim Sha Tsui and UA Cine Moko in Mongkok from May to November. Keep track of our screening schedules!

For package discount of "Passion and Tension in Directorial Debuts", please see "Ticketing Information".

Presented by Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Curated by Hong Kong Film Archive
In collaboration with UA CineHub


The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

暫停
播放
延伸

電影放映

導演首作.另覓蹊徑


大師級導演,往往不期然在作品流露「心中的一團火」,莫論是寇比力克對人性懦弱面和慾念帶批判的審視,還是卡薩維蒂透過手提影機的即興實驗,都是開闊視野和有話要說之作。奇斯洛夫斯基對社會問題沉着又細密的解構,和荷索不妥協的絕地激狂互異;和丹尼斯谷巴的浪蕩激情又截然不同。

當然,看首作的另種心態是渴望尋索某某大師的創作源頭,確是非常誘人的一個旅程。從中可發掘到不同年代、種族、價值觀和審美觀的角力、平衡或妥協,好比坐上遨遊萬里的火車,穿洲越嶺,然後發現某些和自己身處的世界可生共鳴之處,就更雀躍和興奮。

九位大師的九部首作,起步點不一,橫跨五十到八十年代。由五十年代寇比力克對戰爭荒謬性之反思,和卡薩維蒂所展現大都會盛世裝潢下年輕人的頹廢和狂妄;到六十年代荷索所寫的二戰士兵,已不再一面倒的反戰,而回歸個人的心靈。戰後新一代如波蘭斯基,電影鏡頭在一只小遊艇內轉彎抹角,卻令細小的空間泛濫着階級和情慾的角力;至於丹尼斯谷巴《迷幻車手》(1969)那離經叛道的憤世,已達義無反顧之境。

七十年代我們選擇了兩位鏡頭冷峻的大師安哲羅普洛斯和奇斯洛夫斯基,他們分別以奇情和寫實兩種手法來展現某希臘小村落和某波蘭小城的人文景觀。到八十年代,各國電影業都蓬勃和力求創新,英國導演曉治.赫德遜以赤子之心重現1924 年一場為信念而完成的奧運賽跑,像《烈火戰車》(1981)這種說故事的氣派,遠遠超越以一個國家作本位的議題。這系列壓軸的一部,是中國第五代導演陳凱歌的首作《黃土地》(1984),文革動盪後新一代導演以嶄新的美學語言再出發的嘗試。

九部電影涉獵中西、歐美不同文化底蘊和愛恨情仇,部部擲地有聲,處處有議題要和你探討。每位導演努力尋求突破,對電影的熱情遠遠超越一份職業或一種對榮耀的追求。他們另闢蹊徑,膽識過人,亦明白電影作為尋找生命真諦的龐大力量。

本節目將與UA CineHub 合作, 其中五部電影會安排於六至十一月在尖沙咀UAiSQUARE 及旺角UA Cine Moko 放映,敬請密切留意映期。

「導演首作.另覓蹊徑」系列設套票優惠,詳見 "票務詳情"

康樂及文化事務署主辦
香港電影資料館策劃
UA CineHub協辦

  

本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。