Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Cultural Services

2014.09.16 15:23 26°C Heavy RainStrong Wind Signal No.3
Cultural Services
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Cultural Services : Cultural Programmes separator Performing Arts separator Venues separator Museums separator Libraries
Programmes Search : By Venue separator By Date separator By Type separator By Keyword separator By Venue Partners
Introduction

Under the management of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, museums acquire, conserve, research on, exhibit and communicate for the purposes of study, education and enjoyment, material evidence of people and their environment. Museum collections form a composite picture of our cultural, historical and natural heritage, and the preservation of such collections represents a long-term commitment to existing and future generations. The following roles are performed:

  1. To present and sponsor exhibitions on the visual arts, history, culture, archaeology, and science and technology for the enjoyment of the public;

  2. To promote an interest in and better understanding of the visual arts, science technology and the history and culture of Hong Kong through a balanced range of museum educational activities and sharing of experience with local artists, scholars and experts in the fields;

  3. To support and promote contemporary Hong Kong art and encourage artistic creativity;

  4. To support research on local heritage, history and the visual arts;

  5. To provide and operate venues for hire for the presentation of exhibitions, lectures and film shows and studio facilities for artistic creation;

  6. To acquire and conserve local films and related materials and provide facilities for film research and educational activities for film appreciation.

Museums have different characteristics and objectives. They are professionally managed to provide the ideal environment for the conservation and display of collections. Large-scale thematic exhibitions are held every year to add variety to the permanent exhibitions with the ultimate goal to attract more people to visit museums. Extension activities such as lectures, classes, film shows, guided tours, demonstrations, workshops and travelling exhibitions are organized to stimulate interest and popularize museum services. Some of the facilities in museums are open for public hiring.

Of the seven major museums, the Hong Kong Museum of Art plays an important role in preserving the cultural heritage of China and promoting art with a local focus. The Hong Kong Science Museum, with its predominantly interactive exhibits, illustrates various scientific principles and the ways technology is used to improve the quality of life. The Hong Kong Space Museum serves to popularize astronomy and space science. The Hong Kong Heritage Museum features a variety of specially designed exhibition possibilities to cover different aspects of history, the arts and culture. The Hong Kong Museum of History collects, conserves, processes, studies and displays cultural objects which are closely related to the archaeology, history, ethnography and natural history of Hong Kong and the South China area. The Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence features Hong Kong's coastal defence history in the past 600 years. The Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum gives a comprehensive overview of the life and career of Dr Sun, and Hong Kong's vital role in the reform movements and revolutionary activities in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The Department also manages seven smaller museums and two heritage centres. The museums include the Flagstaff House Museum of Teaware which is the only subject museum devoted to the promotion of Chinese tea drinking culture; the Lei Cheng Uk Han Tomb Museum which displays its tomb finds and exhibitions on the Han dynasty life styles and history; the Law Uk Folk Museum, the Sheung Yiu Folk Museum as well as the Sam Tung Uk Museum, which house exhibitions on the history and restoration of old Hakka village houses reflecting Chinese folk life and customs; and the open-air Hong Kong Railway Museum which encompasses the old Tai Po Market Railway Station with historical railway carriages, a steam locomotive and a diesel electric locomotive and the Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery which endured witness to the history of Hong Kong's sea rescue services. The two heritage centres include the Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre which displays Hong Kong's cultural heritage; and the Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre displays various relics, history, customs and cultural life belonging to the members of the Tang Clan.

The Hong Kong Film Archive's major functions are to acquire, preserve, catalogue and document Hong Kong films and related materials. It also organizes film programmes, present schematic exhibitions and publishes books and publications related to Hong Kong cinema.

The Art Promotion Office (APO) aims to raise the public's interest in art creation and appreciation, and let everyone experience the fun of art. APO focuses on providing visual art activities and services of high quality and diversity, and works as strategic partners with various art practitioners and organisations, groups or parties who are dedicated to promote art. APO introduces different scopes of visual art forms to the public, so as to connect art with people and the community and to embrace art in our daily life. The Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre (vA!) and Oil Street Art Space (Oi!) are the two art spaces managed by APO. vA! is an open, multi-directional art space provided with professional facilities for art learning and a centre for artists to display their creativity and exchange ideas. While Oi! is a new platform for exchanging ideas that aims to nurture young artists, promote community art and develop as an innovative and engaging venue for encouraging collaboration and co-creation in art.

Operating from 13 purpose-equipped conservation laboratories, the Conservation Office devises, implements and evaluates conservation programmes for museum artifacts and heritage objects. The Section also provides technical assistance and advice on the preservation requirements of collection items and loan exhibits for the public museums.

The Antiquities and Monuments Office is responsible for conserving places of historic interest, searches for, identifies and records a wide range of items. Among these are historical buildings of Chinese and Western types, historical stones (e.g. boundary or foundation stones), archaeological sites, forts, tombs and graves, bridges, rock carvings and inscriptions, and even old street furniture (e.g. old lamp posts or letter boxes).

All over Hong Kong, there are relics of human activity spanning some 6,000 years. Historical buildings, sites and ancient structures may be protected legally under the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance or by administrative measures in addition to the publicity and promotion of heritage education and preservation.

The Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre occupies the historic Blocks S61 and S62 of the former Whitfield Barracks at Kowloon Park. It is committed to presenting and explaining the conservation work to the wider public to enhance their understanding and enjoyment and the value they place on the shared heritage. A standing exhibition on Hong Kong's cultural heritage will be open in 2009.

Museums
Quality Services for Quality Life

康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
文化事務2014.07.24 13:54 30°C 微雨
 
* 文化事務 *
*
* 主頁 *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* *
* 公用表格 *
* *
* *
* *
* 招聘 *
文化在線流動應用程式
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
無障礙網頁守則
簡介

康樂及文化事務署轄下的博物館負責購藏、修復、研究、展出,以及傳達可以反映人類的精神和物質文明及生活環境的實物遺存,以供研究、教育和欣賞之用。博物館藏品形成了人類文化、歷史和自然遺產的綜合寫照。保存這些藏品,是對我們及後代的一種長期承擔。所擔當的角色包括:

  1. 主辦及贊助視覺藝術、歷史、文化、考古及科技展覽,供市民欣賞;
  2. 舉辦各種各式的博物館教育活動,並作出安排讓市民分享本地藝術家、學者和專家的經驗,藉以提高市民對視覺藝術、科技及香港歷史與文化的興趣和認識;
  3. 支持及推廣當代香港藝術,並鼓勵藝術創作;
  4. 支持有關本地歷史、視覺藝術及文化各範疇的研究;
  5. 提供租用場地,以供舉辦展覽、講座和電影節目,以及設置工作室設施供藝術創作之用,並負責管理這些場地及設施。
  6. 收集和保存香港影片及有關資料,並提供設施作電影研究及教育活動,以提高市民欣賞電影的能力。

各間博物館具不同性質和目標,以專業化的管理務求為保存和展出藏品提供最理想環境。而且,每年均舉辦大型專題展覽,最終目的都是為吸引市民參觀博物館。此外,各館亦主辦連串的推廣活動,包括講座、課程、電影、導賞參觀、示範、工作坊及巡迴展覽,進一步推廣博物館服務。部分博物館內的設施可供市民租用。

七間主要博物館中,香港藝術館以保存中國文化遺產以及推廣本地藝術為重要任務之一。香港科學館採用互動式展品說明各種科學原理及科技如何改善生活質素。香港太空館以教育及娛樂並重的方式,為參觀者提供天文及太空科學知識。香港文化博物館是一所綜合性的博物館,內容涵蓋歷史、藝術及文化各範疇。香港歷史博物館館則搜集、保存、整理、研究和展覽與香港及華南地區的考古、歷史、民俗及自然歷史有關的文物。香港海防博物館以本港過去六百年海防歷史為主題。而孫中山紀念館則全面地闡述孫中山先生的生平事跡,以及香港在十九世紀末至二十世紀初的維新與革命運動中所扮演的重要角色。

本署亦負責管理七間較小規模的博物館及兩間文物中心,包括以專題推廣中國茶藝文化的茶具文物館;展出漢墓出土文物及有關漢代日常生活和文化歷史的李鄭屋漢墓博物館;展覽有關客家村屋的背景和修復及反映當時民俗生活的羅屋民俗館上P民俗文物館三棟屋博物館;和以舊大埔墟火車站大樓、古老車卡、蒸氣火車頭及柴油電動機車頭等構成的香港鐵路博物館及見證香港消防歷史的葛量洪號滅火輪展覽館。兩間文物中心包括展覽有關香港文物古蹟為主題的香港文物探知館,和展示屏山鄧族的珍貴文物、歷史風俗及文化生活的屏山鄧族文物館暨文物徑訪客中心

香港電影資料館專責蒐集和保存香港電影及相關物品,並把資料編目和存檔;舉辦專題展覽,電影欣賞會及出版與電影有關的刊物和書籍。

藝術推廣辦事處的宗旨,是透過舉辦各種公眾和社區藝術活動,推動本港視覺藝術的發展,並致力與不同夥伴合作推行各項計劃,以進一步提高公眾對藝術的欣賞能力和參與程度。而藝術推廣辦事處負責管理的香港視覺藝術中心則是集陶瓷、雕塑及版畫三項活動的專業藝術研習場所,提供優良設備以方便藝術工作者從事創作和舉行多類型的藝術活動。

文物修復辦事處設有十三個專科修復工作室﹐為博物館藏品及本地文物制定、進行及評估跟進各類的修復工作。此外﹐修復組亦會就公營博物館之藏品及外借展品的修護需要提供建議及技術支援。

古物古蹟辦事處專責保存文物,負責調查、鑑定及記錄各類文物,包括中西式歷史建築、石碑(如界石和基石)、考古遺址、砲台、墓碑及墓穴、橋樑、石刻及碑文、甚至古老的街道設施(例如古老的街燈和郵筒)。

港九新界各地,滿佈六千年來人類生活的遺跡,對於歷史建築物,遺址及古代遺跡,古物古蹟辦事處可引用古物及古蹟條例或採取行政措施加以保護,致力宣傳及推廣文物教育和保護。

香港文物探知館位處九龍公園前威菲路軍營S61及S62座,致力向公眾展示和闡釋有關考古及歷史建築的文物保護工作,藉此增進市民對共同擁有的文化遺產的認識,探索及享受當中的樂趣,並肯定文物保育的價值。以香港文物古蹟為主題的常設展覽,現正籌備當中,將於二零零九年展出。

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群