2018 Bun Carnival

Introduction

The Jiao Festival of Cheung Chau was officially inscribed onto the third national list of intangible cultural heritage in 2011. Since the revival of the bun scrambling contest of Cheung Chau in 2005, the annual Bun Carnival has been well received by the public. The wide range of programmes offered by the Bun Carnival, including the Selection Contest for the Bun Scrambling Competition, the Climbing Carnival and the Bun Scrambling Competition, each year attract over 10 000 participants as well as tens of thousands of spectators from home and overseas. The Bun Scrambling Competition, in particular, has been the focus of attention and is now one of the most representative traditional festivities in Hong Kong. It helps to strengthen Cheung Chau’s local economy, promote climbing sport and boost tourism in Hong Kong.

The 2019 Bun Carnival to be staged at the soccer pitch of Pak Tai Temple Playground, Cheung Chau from 14 April to 13 May 2019 is jointly organised by the Hong Kong Cheung Chau Bun Festival Committee and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, in association with the Cheung Chau Wai Chiu County Association Limited, the Cheung Chau Rural Committee, the Islands District Office and the China Hong Kong Mountaineering and Climbing Union. Sponsored by LUKFOOK JEWELLERY, Watsons Water and the Islands District Council, the carnival aims to familiarise the public with the bun scrambling tradition and local customs.

The programme of the 2019 Bun Carnival is packed with a variety of interesting activities such as Training and Selection Contest for the Bun Scrambling Competition, the Bun Scrambling Competition and the Climbing Carnival. The Climbing Carnival is an opportunity for the public to enjoy the fun of bun tower climbing. Activities include stall games, handicraft making, variety show, climbing demonstrations and fun day, as well as display of winning entries in the Colouring and Drawing Competitions for Students. Climbing training will be provided for participants of the Bun Scrambling Competition. In addition to the individual event, an invitation relay will be organised for local groups in Cheung Chau to compete against climbing athletes from neighbouring areas.

The e-copies of the winning entries of the Colouring and Drawing Competitions for Students have been uploaded to the Multimedia Information System of Hong Kong Public Libraries. 

Viewing winning entries of the Colouring and Drawing Competitions for Students

The activities of the 2019 Bun Carnival are as follows:

DateProgramme
14 April 2019 (Sun) Training on Bun Tower Climbing
21 April 2019 (Sun) Selection Contest for the Bun Scrambling Competition
4 May 2019 (Sat) Climbing Carnival
12-13 May 2019 (Sun and Mon) Bun Scrambling Competition cum Prize Presentation Ceremony

Please refer to the Prospectus for details of the Bun Scrambling Competition.

Top

包山嘉年华2019

简介

长洲太平清醮已于2011年正式列为第三批国家级非物质文化遗产项目。长洲抢包山比赛自2005年复办以来,每年的包山嘉年华均深受市民欢迎。抢包山选拔赛、攀爬嘉年华及抢包山比赛等连串活动吸引逾万人参加,成千上万的本地及海外游客亦慕名而至。在各项活动中,以抢包山比赛最为瞩目,已成为全港最具代表性的传统节庆活动之一,不但可振兴长洲的本土经济及推动攀爬运动,亦有助推广香港的旅游业。

包山嘉年华2019由香港长洲太平清醮值理会与康乐及文化事务署合办,长洲惠潮府有限公司、长洲乡事委员会、离岛民政事务处及中国香港攀山及攀登总会协办,并得到六福珠宝、屈臣氏蒸馏水及离岛区议会贊助,定于2019年4月14日至5月13日在长洲北帝庙游乐场足球场举行,旨在加强市民对传统抢包山及本土习俗的认识。

包山嘉年华2019活动多姿多彩,既有抢包山训练、抢包山选拔赛及抢包山比赛,也有攀爬嘉年华,其中攀爬嘉年华内容包括摊位游戏、手工艺制作、综合表演、攀爬示范及同乐、学童填色及绘画比赛作品展等,可让市民了解攀包山的乐趣。至于抢包山比赛,大会将为参加者提供攀爬训练。除了个人赛外,大会亦会邀请邻近地区的攀爬好手与长洲社团组织进行接力邀请赛。

包山嘉年华2019的活动安排如下:

日期项目
2019年4月14日(星期日) 抢包山训练
2019年4月21日(星期日) 抢包山选拔赛
2019年5月4日(星期六) 攀爬嘉年华
2019年5月12至13日(星期日、一) 抢包山比赛暨颁奖典礼

比赛详情请参阅章程。

Top