Band, Choir and Orchestra Training

Home>   Music Training  >   Band, Choir and Orchestra Training  >   Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra

Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra

 

Established in 1978, the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra (HKYCO) is one of the flagship music groups trained and managed by the Music Office. With members aged 25 and below, recruitment of the HKYCO is held through open audition in April every year.

 

Over the past four decades, the HKYCO has performed in major events such as the Hong Kong Arts Festival, the Festival Fringe, the Hong Kong International Youth Arts Festival, and the “Music of the Dragons” concert in celebration of the 5th anniversary of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. They were invited to perform in the live broadcast “Caritas Charity TV Show” in 2014, and the variety shows in celebration of the 66th and the 69th anniversaries of the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 2015 and 2018. These highly acclaimed performances were also joined by celebrities. The HKYCO celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2018 with the performance of a 90-member alumni orchestra, joined by renowned percussionist and Music Office alumnus Chin Kwok-wai, under the baton of Ho Man-chuen, former Music Officer of the Chinese Section of the Music Office.

 

The HKYCO has also played the role of music ambassador of Hong Kong and toured extensively, from neighbouring Macao to Malaysia, to UK, France, Australia, the USA, and Canada. Since 2000, the orchestra also toured to Chinese mainland and Taiwan. In 2000, the HKYCO visited Beijing and Xi’an on a concert performance and music exchange tour titled Tour to the Ancient Cities. In 2007, the orchestra participated in folk music festivals of Nanjing, Wuxi and Jiangyin in Jiangsu province and gave three well-received concerts in the festivals. The HKYCO made its Taiwan debut at the 2011 Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival in Taichung Changhua. The orchestra also performed in Shanghai and Shenyang music conservatories in 2016. In 2018, the orchestra embarked on an invited Singapore tour, in which they exchanged with local young musicians, and staged a highly acclaimed join performance with the Singapore National Youth Chinese Orchestra.

 

Conductor(s)/ Instructor(s): TSUI Ying-fai, KWOK Kin-ming, CHIN King, TSE Tsz-chung Eddy and TSE Yuen-yau Sky
Manager: CHIN King

乐团及合唱团训练

Home>   音乐训练  >   乐团及合唱团训练  >   香港青年中乐团

香港青年中乐团

香港青年中乐团于1978年成立,由音乐事务处管理及训练,是音乐事务处辖下旗舰乐团之一。乐团团员年龄均在25岁或以下,每年四月透过公开试音招募团员。

 

多年来,乐团培育了不少本港出色的中乐演奏家及教育家。成立四十年以来,乐团曾参与多项大型音乐演出,如香港艺术节、香港艺穗节、香港国际青年艺术节,以及2002年庆祝香港特别行政区成立5周年的「龙声飞扬」万人青年音乐会等。此外,乐团于2014年应邀参演电视直播慈善节目《明爱暖万心》;2015及2018年参与香港同胞庆祝中华人民共和国成立66及69周年文艺晚会,与一众流行歌手携手演出,获一致好评。2018年乐团举行庆祝成立40周年音乐会,邀请了音乐事务处中乐组前音乐主任,本港着名中乐指挥家何文川担任客席指挥,与着名敲击乐演奏家、亦是音乐事务处旧生及团旧之团员钱国伟,以及由90多位前团员组成的旧生乐团与当届乐团团员同台献艺。

 

乐团亦肩负青年文化大使的角色,多次作海外交流演出。出访地区遍及英国、法国、澳洲、美国、加拿大、澳门、马来西亚、等。自2000年起,乐团更踏足中国内地及台湾地区,包括2000年乐团往北京及西安作「古都之旅」交流演出;2007年分别于南京市「中国江苏二胡之乡民族音乐节」、无锡市「第三届中国无锡.太湖国际民乐展」,以及江阴市「刘天华民族音乐节」共演出三场;2011年首度访问台湾,在台中彰化举行的「2011当代国乐节」演出;2016年往上海及渖阳两所国内着名音乐学院作交流演出。另外,于2018年应邀出访新加坡,与新加坡国家青年华乐团联合举行名为「青春荟萃」的音乐会,获高度赞扬。

 

指挥/导师: 徐英辉、郭健明、钱 璟、谢子聪、谢远优
经理: 钱 璟