Upcoming Events

Home>   Music Activities  >   Concerts and Trainees Events  >   Bands, Choirs and Orchestras Concerts  >   Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Annual Concert “Ode to Brightness”

Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Annual Concert “Ode to Brightness”

Untitled Document

Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Annual Concert “Ode to Brightness”

 

18 December 2022 (Sun) 7:30pm
Sha Tin Town Hall Auditorium

 

The Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Annual Concert will present a marvelous concert programme including the powerful and rhythmic Chinoiserie, the Chant on Strings featuring the up and coming erhu soloist Li Hang-tsun to express admiration for the Chinese culture, the Music Office commission The Burning Phoenix to portray the spirit of resilience and perseverance; the Hong Kong Composers’ Guild sponsored commission, world premiere Wong Ching-yin's Les orbites éternelles, and the Hymn to the Sun to depict the scenery of Sichuan with ethnic passion.

Programme

Chinoiserie Wang I-yu
Chant on Strings (Erhu and Orchestra) Li Bochan
Erhu: Li Hang-tsun
The Burning Phoenix (Music Office commission) Kuan Nai-chung
Conductor: Kwok Kin-ming
~Intermission~
Les orbites éternelles
(Hong Kong Composers Guild sponsored commission, World premiere)*
Wong Ching-yin
Hymn to the Sun
  Walking on the River
  Picking Up the Mountains
  A Missing Heart
  Hymn to the Sun
Wang Danhong
Conductor: Tsui Ying-fai

Programme and artists subject to change without prior notice

The Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra

 

The Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra (HKYCO) is one of the flagship music groups managed by the Music Office.  Since its establishment in 1978, the HKYCO has performed in major events such as the Hong Kong Arts Festival, the Festival Fringe, the Hong Kong International Youth Arts Festival, and the “Music of the Dragons” concert in celebration of the 5th anniversary of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.  They were invited to perform in the live broadcast “Caritas Charity TV Show” in 2014 and 2021, and the variety shows in celebration of the 66th and the 69th anniversaries of the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 2015 and 2018.  These highly acclaimed performances were also joined by celebrities.  The HKYCO celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2018 with the performance of a 90-member alumni orchestra, joined by renowned percussionist and Music Office alumnus Chin Kwok-wai, under the baton of Ho Man-chuen, former Music Officer of the Chinese Section of the Music Office.

 

The HKYCO has toured extensively, from neighbouring Macao to Malaysia, the UK, France, Australia, the USA, and Canada.  In 2000, they visited Beijing and Xi’an for exchange performances titled Tour to the Ancient Cities.  In 2007, they toured to Jiangsu and gave three dynamic concerts in folk music festivals of Nanjing, Wuxi and Jiangyin.  The HKYCO made its Taiwan debut at the 2011 Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival in Taichung Changhua.  Subsequent to their tour to Shanghai and Shenyang in 2016, they embarked on an invited Singapore tour in 2018, in which they staged a highly acclaimed joint performance with the Singapore National Youth Orchestra.

 

With a total of around 80 members under the age of 25, the HKYCO is currently trained and managed by Tsui Ying-fai, Kwok Kin-ming, Chin King and Tse Yuen-yau.  Recruitment is held annually through open audition.

Conductors

Tsui Ying-fai
Tsui Ying-fai obtained his bachelor’s degree with first-class honor and master’s degree (Ethnomusicology – Chinese Music) at the Chinese University of Hong Kong and has studied ethnomusicology at the University of Pittsburgh, USA.

 

Tsui has been active in the field of Chinese music as a conductor.  Since 2000, he led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra to perform in Beijing and Xi’an, Jiangsu, Taiwan, Shanghai, Shenyang and Singapore; and the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Plucked String Orchestra to perform in the Aberdeen International Youth Festival in Scotland, the UK in 2005.  Besides his official conducting duties in the Music Office, Tsui also conducted in concerts of numerous local Chinese orchestras and was invited to conduct in the Taipei Youth Chinese Orchestra Concert in Taipei.  He was also invited to serve on the adjudicating panels of the National Chinese Orchestral Contests in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the 2019 Singapore Youth Festival Chinese orchestras/ ensembles presentation, and the  38th Macao Young Musicians Competition in 2020; and to serve as an advisor for the  40th Macao Young Musicians Competition in 2022.

 

Tsui has also worked as a tutor and research staff of the Music Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and has taught at the Music Department and the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.  He published articles on Chinese instrumental music in publications, by the former Hong Kong Provisional Urban Council and the Education and Manpower Bureau, and in music academic journals in the US and the well-known Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.  Recently, Tsui has also been invited to participate in the Everlasting Cantonese Music project presented by the Hong Kong Windpipe Chinese Ensemble, serving as ensemble coach, speaker and host in the project-related concerts.

 

Tsui is currently the Chief Music Officer of the Music Office and conductor of the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra.

Tsui Ying-fai
 

Kwok Kin-ming
Kwok Kin-ming obtained the Master of Music degree with distinction from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, majoring in Chinese orchestras conducting, under the tutelage of Yan Huichang. Kwok was the second runner-up and awarded Outstanding Young Conductor in the Hong Kong International Conducting Competition for Chinese Music in 2011.

 

As a conductor, Kwok has been invited as guest conductor by many orchestras. In 2013 and 2018, he was invited as conductor at the concerts of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra. Kwok was invited to conduct the concert of Jilin Chinese Orchestra in Changchun in 2015 and the joint concert of Shanghai Feiyun Chinese Orchestra and Wang Kwong Chinese Orchestra in Shanghai in 2016. He was invited by the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts to conduct the concert of Academy Chinese orchestra in 2017 and 2022. In 2019, he was invited to conduct the Macao Chinese Orchestra in Macao.

 

Kwok led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Plucked String Orchestra to participate in the Aberdeen International Youth Festival in Scotland, the UK for cultural exchange in 2005 and the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra for the premiere music tour to Taiwan and participated in the Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival in 2011. In 2016, he led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra to tour in Shanghai and Shenyang, where the orchestra jointly performed with the Chinese Orchestra of Shenyang Conservatory of Music. In 2018, he led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra to tour in Singapore.

 

Kwok is currently the Senior Music Officer of the Chinese Music Section of the Music Office, and the conductor of the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra and Music Office Instructors’ Chinese Orchestra.

Kwok Kin-ming
 

Erhu Solo

Li Hang-tsun
Born in Hong Kong, Li has been learning the piano since young age. She has started learning erhu from Cheung Kwong-sing and Cheung Wai-fung since the age of seven. She has been prize-winners for various music competitions, including the Hong Kong Schools Music Festival. Li is now pursuing her master’s degree at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA), under the guidance of Zhou Yi (erhu) and Ngai Kwun-wa (banhu). Li is an active performer in numerous performing arts groups, including the HKAPA Academy Chinese Orchestra, the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra, the Hong Kong Taoist Orchestra, the Yao Yueh Chinese Music Association, to name yet a few. As an orchestral member, she has made overseas performances in Singapore, Macao, Shanghai, Shenyang, Jilin and more.

 

Li is currently the Concertmaster of the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra and the awardee of The Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund scholarship in 2022-23.

Li Hang-tsun

Tickets & Enquiries

 

Tickets: $100 $80 $60

Tickets are available at URBTIX from 18 November

Half-price tickets are available for full-time students, senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and the minder, Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients

For ages 6 or above

 

Ticketing Enquiries: 3761 6661

Credit Card Booking: 2111 5999

Internet Booking: www.urbtix.hk

Programme Enquiries: 2796 1003/ 3842 7784

 

Ticket holders are required to comply with the latest requirements and restrictions under the Prevention and Control of Disease Regulation and the admission rules and arrangement of the performance venues under the Leisure and Cultural Services Department  

House Programme
(Coming Soon)

 

Like and follow us on Facebook and Instagram for the latest news of our concerts!

ImageImage

最新活动

Home>   音乐活动  >   音乐会及学员活动  >   乐团及合唱团音乐会  >   香港青年中乐团周年音乐会「耀·颂歌」

香港青年中乐团周年音乐会「耀·颂歌」

Untitled Document

香港青年中乐团周年音乐会「耀·颂歌」

 

2022年12月18日(星期日)下午7时30分
沙田大会堂演奏厅

 

香港青年中乐团周年音乐会的精彩节目包括节奏强而有力的《中华风》、与新晋二胡演奏家李幸臻合作演出歌颂中华文化的《弦歌吟》、表现不屈不挠奋斗精神的音乐事务处委约作品《浴火凤凰》、由香港作曲家联会贊助委约本地作曲家黄正彦的世界首演作品《永恆不变的轨迹》,以及描绘巴蜀山水、充满民族风情的《太阳颂》。

 

节目

中华风 王乙聿
弦歌吟 (二胡与乐队) 李博禅
二胡: 李幸臻
浴火凤凰 (音乐事务处委约) 关迺忠
指挥: 郭健明
~中场休息~
永恆不变的轨迹 (香港作曲家联会贊助委约,世界首演)* 黄正彦
太阳颂
  踏江
  挑山
  思念
  太阳颂
王丹红
指挥: 徐英辉

节目及表演者如有更改,恕不另行通知

香港青年中乐团

 

香港青年中乐团为音乐事务处辖下旗舰乐团之一。自1978年成立以来,乐团曾参与多项大型音乐演出,例如香港艺术节、香港艺穗节、香港国际青年艺术节,以及2002年庆祝香港特别行政区成立五周年的「龙声飞扬」万人青年音乐会等。2014及2021年乐团应邀参演电视直播慈善节目《明爱暖万心》;2015及2018年参与香港同胞庆祝中华人民共和国成立六十六及六十九周年文艺晚会,与一众流行歌手携手演出,获一致好评。2018年乐团庆祝成立四十周年,特别邀请音乐事务处中乐组前音乐主任何文川担任指挥,与音乐事务处旧生、着名敲击乐手钱国伟,以及由九十多位前团员组成的旧生乐团同台献艺。

 

乐团曾多次作海外演出,出访地方包括澳门、马来西亚、英国、法国、澳洲、美国和加拿大等。2000年乐团往北京及西安作「古都之旅」交流演出;2007年分别于南京市「中国江苏二胡之乡民族音乐节」、无锡市「第三届中国无锡.太湖国际民乐展」,以及江阴市「刘天华民族音乐节」共演出三场;2011年首度访问台湾,在台中彰化举行的「2011当代国乐节」演出;2016年往上海及渖阳作交流演出;2018年应邀出访新加坡,与新加坡国家青年华乐团联合举行名为「青春荟萃」的音乐会,获高度赞扬。

 

乐团现由徐英辉、郭健明、钱璟及谢远优负责训练及管理。乐团现有团员约80人,年龄在25岁或以下,每年透过公开试音招募团员。

指挥

徐英辉
徐英辉早年于香港中文大学取得一级荣誉学士及哲学硕士(民族音乐学 - 中国音乐)学位,亦曾于美国匹兹堡大学修读民族音乐学。

 

徐氏热衷于指挥工作,2000年起曾多次带领香港青年中乐团前往北京、西安、江苏、台湾、上海、渖阳及新加坡等地巡迴演出及音乐交流;2005年亦曾带领香港青年弹拨中乐团前往英国苏格兰参加「鸭巴甸国际青年节」。除指挥音乐事务处属下中乐团外,徐氏亦曾于本地多个中乐团担任指挥,并曾于2014年应邀前往台湾于台北青年国乐团音乐会中担任客席指挥。此外,徐氏曾应邀为马来西亚全国华乐大赛、2019年新加坡青年节学界华乐团比赛、2020年澳门第三十八届青年音乐比赛等担任评委及2022年澳门第四十届青年音乐比赛顾问。

 

徐氏亦致力于音乐教学及研究工作,曾于香港中文大学音乐系、香港演艺学院音乐学院及科艺学院任教。徐氏亦曾为前香港临时市政局及香港教育署、美国的音乐学术刊物及《嘉兰世界音乐百科全书》撰写关于中国音乐的文章。最近亦应邀参与香港竹韵小集有关粤乐文化推广计划「絃歌不绝」,于此计划有关之讲座音乐会系列中担任讲者、主持及排练指导等。

 

徐氏现为音乐事务处总音乐主任,亦为香港青年中乐团指挥。

Tsui Ying-fai
 

郭健明
郭健明以优异成绩毕业于香港演艺学院,获音乐硕士学位,主修中乐指挥,师承着名指挥家阎惠昌教授。2011年,他于第一届「国际中乐指挥大赛」获得季军及香港优秀青年指挥奖。

 

郭氏先后获邀指挥多个乐团,当中包括香港中乐团、吉林省民族乐团、上海飞云民族乐团、澳门中乐团、香港演艺学院中乐团等;2013及2018年获香港中乐团的邀请,担任音乐会指挥。2015年获吉林省民族乐团邀请,前赴长春担任音乐会指挥;2016年获上海飞云民族乐团及宏光国乐团的邀请,前赴上海担任两团联合音乐会指挥;2017及2022年获香港演艺学院邀请,担任演艺中乐团音乐会指挥;2019年获澳门中乐团邀请,前赴澳门担任音乐会指挥。

 

2005年,郭氏指挥香港青年弹拨中乐团出访英国苏格兰,参与「鸭巴甸国际青年节」演出;2011年,指挥香港青年中乐团首次出访台湾,参与「当代国乐节」演出;2016年,指挥香港青年中乐团于上海及渖阳作巡迴演出,并与渖阳音乐学院民乐团举办「聚集.两地情」联合音乐会;2018年,指挥香港青年中乐团于新加坡作演出交流。

 

郭氏现为音乐事务处中乐组高级音乐主任,并担任香港青年中乐团及音乐事务处导师中乐团指挥。

Kwok Kin-ming
 

二胡独奏

李幸臻
李幸臻生于香港,自幼学习钢琴,七岁开始学习二胡,师从张广陞及张伟锋,屡获香港学校音乐节比赛及多个音乐比赛奖项。李氏现为香港演艺学院中乐系硕士一年级学生,随周翊主修二胡及魏冠华双主修板胡。近年来,李氏参与多个表演艺术团体,如香港演艺学院中乐团、香港青年中乐团、香港道乐团、乐乐国乐团等,并随团到新加坡、澳门、上海、渖阳及吉林等地作巡迴表演。

 

李氏现为香港青年中乐团的乐团首席及2022-23年香港赛马会音乐及舞蹈信託基金奖学金得主。

Li Hang-tsun

门票: $100 $80 $60

 

11月18日起于城市售票网发售

全日制学生、六十岁或以上高龄人士、残疾人士及看护人、综合社会保障援助受惠人士可获半价优惠

音乐会招待六岁或以上人士

 

票务查询: 3761 6661

信用卡电话购票: 2111 5999

网上订票: www.urbtix.hk

节目查询: 2796 1003/ 3842 7784

 

持票人必须遵守最新的《预防及控制疾病》规例及康乐及文化事务署辖下表演场地的入场及开放安排

音乐会场刊
(即将推出)

 

立即追踪
音乐事务处音乐会系列Facebook和Instagram,紧贴本处音乐会的最新资讯!

ImageImage