APO Delights
About APO
Vision/Mission/Values
Archive of APO
Downloads
Go to Oi!
Go to vA!
 

 

Hi! Flora, Fauna  
Hi! Time Travel & Lapse / Hi! Plants
Artist: Wong Wo-bik
Artwork Location: Green House (Hi! Plants) and Rain Shelter at Mammal Enclosure (Hi! Time Travel & Lapse
 
"The Gardens has its distinctive features at different times of the year, just as its mornings, afternoons and evenings that attract different types of visitors. For me, the best time to visit is in the morning when I can enjoy the breeze and tranquility, punctuated occasionally by calls of birds and animals, sounds of plants tapping one another, or peals of children's laughter. It reminds me the space where I am in, is real. It is also an oasis which stands independently in the hustle and bustle of the city."
 
As a child, artist Wong Wo-bik and her family with friends and relatives outside Hong Kong were frequent visitors of the Gardens. To her, the Gardens is filled with childhood memories. Although details are rather hazy now, Wong still recalls the feelings she had about those bygone days. Years have flown by and Wong is back in the Gardens again. Together with several photographs from the past, she hopes to document the plants and the Fountain, a popular meeting place, in the Gardens, letting her to revisit and rethink the old days. Wong's two sets of artworks, the wide-screen immersive videography displayed at the Rain Shelter and image plus plant installation displayed at the Green House are not simply a description of things, but more importantly, a new observation and narration of her personal experience of the Gardens. The people and events at different times from the past to the present are still worth ruminating.
 
Artist Biography:
Wong received her BFA degree in Sculpture and Printmaking from the Columbus College of Art and Design, and MFA degree in Photography from the Tyler School of Art, Temple University in the United States. She has a long and active career as a photographic and media artist who explores the aesthetic of the cityscape through the application of still and moving images. Wong is one of the founding members of the Hong Kong Photographic Culture Association. She was also the fellowship recipient of Asian Cultural Council and Institute of International Education in 1993 and 1995. She was awarded the "Certificate of Commendation for Outstanding Contributions to the Development of Arts and Culture" from the Secretary of Home Affairs, Hong Kong in 2010 and the "Hong Kong Women Excellence in the Six Arts (Visual Arts)" from Hong Kong Federation of Women in 2013. Latest solo exhibitions include Cities of Exchange: Liverpool/ Hong Kong during the LOOK/17 International Photography Festival held at Open Eye Gallery, United Kingdom in 2017 and A Sense of Place - A Touch of Xiangshan at One Station, Taiwan in 2019.
 

 

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 Web for All

亮點節目
關於我們
理想/ 使命/ 信念
APO 資料庫
下載
返回 油街實現
返回 香港視覺藝術中心
 

 

邂逅!市中森  
《邂逅!時間旅遊與更替》/《邂逅!植物》
藝術家:王禾璧
作品位置:溫室(《邂逅!植物》)及哺乳類動物區避雨亭(《邂逅!時間旅遊與更替》)
 
「香港動植物公園春、夏、秋、冬四季均各具特色,而早、午、晚吸引不同的訪客,我則比較喜歡早上到訪,享受那清風及寧靜,偶然聽到雀鳥或動物叫聲,或植物拍碰音響,或小孩子的笑聲,感覺身處真實的空間,這裡也是個獨立於繁雜中的一個綠洲。」
 
香港動植物公園是藝術家王禾璧小時候和家人及來自遠方的親朋常常同遊的地方,對她來說是一個充滿童年回憶的地方。雖然那時的記憶已經很模糊,但當中的一點一滴到今天還能感受往日的種種情懷。時間飛逝,藝術家再次走進公園,希望記錄公園內的植物及受歡迎的噴水池,並配合從前的舊相片,為逝去的時光作一次回顧及想像。她的兩組藝術作品——在避雨亭展出的浸入式闊銀幕錄像創作及在温室展出的影像與植物裝置——不只是對事物作單純的描述,更重要的是對公園和其個人經歷重新進行一次觀察和敍述。從過去到現在,不同時期的人與事,仍然值得回味。
 
藝術家簡歷:
王禾璧獲美國哥倫布藝術與設計學院藝術學士學位,主修雕刻及版畫,另獲美國費城天普大學泰勒藝術學院藝術碩士學位,主修攝影。多年來她從事攝影與媒體藝術,藉各種靜態與動態意象探索城市景色的美學。她是香港攝影文化協會的創會會員,也是1993年亞洲文化協會和1995年國際教育協會的獎學金得主。 2010年,獲香港民政事務局局長頒予「藝術和文化發展傑出貢獻獎狀」,表揚她積極促進文化藝術活動發展的成就。 2013年,獲香港各界婦女聯合協進會頒發「香港六藝卓越女性獎——視覺藝術界別」。近年舉辦過的主要個展包括2017年在英國Open Eye 畫廊舉辦的LOOK/17國際攝影節「Cities of Exchange : Liverpool/Hong Kong」及2019年在台灣藝站展出的「地方之感:香山點滴」 。

 

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 無障礙網頁