APO Delights
About APO
Vision/Mission/Values
Archive of APO
Downloads
Go to Oi!
Go to vA!
 

 

Hi! Flora, Fauna  
Forest Walk, Healing Talk
Artist: Human Ip
Artwork: Plant Appreciation Map
 
"How long is a piece of string? The Gardens was the first public park which opened in 1871, where flowers have bloomed, leaves have fallen and century-old trees with buttress roots have stood for longer than the life of you and me. Would you like to take a break, and read their stories?"
 
Artist Human Ip brings a sketchbook to explore the Gardens to capture as drawings the unique forms of its flora from different angles as well as to document in words the growth of these plants from their cultural and scientific perspectives. Pieced together into a plant map, these illustrations and anecdotes guide visitors on a custom-designed tour of this forest in the city. In the short walk, visitors can perceive through their different senses the existence of each old tree, each flower, each leaf and even each dew drop at close range. Nestled in the embrace of nature, one may be inspired by the plants' tenacious vitality. 
 
Artist Biography: 
Ip is a painter and writer who won the novel champion for "Youth Literary Awards" in the open category. Using illustrations and text, her interest in exploring natural ecosystem is embedded in her works which are of elegancy and delicacy. Her works have been published in various newspapers and magazines, picture books and poetry collections, and displayed at exhibitions. Her publications include In Search of Flora in 2014, In Search of Flora 2 in 2016, In Search of Fauna in 2017 and Hermit in situ in 2019. Latest exhibitions include Flora and Fauna in the Urban Jungle in the Hang Seng University of Hong Kong in 2018, In the hills- Notes on Hong Kong Plants and Animals in the Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong in 2019 and The Practice of Everyday Life at Oi! in 2020.
 
Download here:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Plant Map Tour:
(Text provided by Human Ip)

1. Scarlet Dombeya (Dombeya wallichii)
 
You are now in the Visitor Centre. Right in front of you is the Fountain, and you can see the spray that moistens the air around it. This is probably the spot where you can command the most panoramic view of the Gardens. 
 
Exit the Visitor Centre and take a few more steps forward. On your left are tall Y-shaped Traveller's Trees, thus named for its cup-shaped leaf sheaths which can hold ample water to quench the thirst of travellers in the desert. Under the Traveller's Trees, you will see a cluster of shrubs – this is the first of the beauties on the list I am going to introduce to you. 
 
Do they blossom?
 
They are called Scarlet Dombeya, also known as Pinkball.  Every year they bloom gloriously without fail from December to March. The fluffs of hanging flowers in lovely pastel pink remind one of hydrangea in a bridal bouquet. The dense verdant branches are a favourite hiding place for birds. The Scarlet Dombeya is a kind of nectar plants with a sweet scent. That is why when it is in full bloom, it can attract lots of bees and butterflies to come for its nectar. 
 
Set among heart-shaped leaves, its demure pink tugs at my heartstring.
 


2. Formosa Sweet Gum (Liquidambar formosana) 
 
Turn around, follow the map and walk towards a rather winding and upslope stretch of the path.
 
Now in front of you are two rows of tall trees standing erect. Their dark brown tree trunks feature pretty and intricate patterns and their leaves are palmately trilobed. Some of the trees bear a tag that gives their name – Formosa Sweet Gum.
 
Would they appear red or green in this season? The leaves of Formosa Sweet Gum generally begin to turn red, dry up and fall off towards the end of December; come humid misty March, verdant shoots will sprout anew.
 
The wind blows off withered leaves which in turn nourish the soil. Towards the latter part of the viewing season for this species, leaves are more numerous on the ground than on the trees. Why is this tree "sweet"? Try pick up a Sweet Gum leaf that is reddish brown and crispy dry, crush it lightly, hold it in your palm and smell it. A waft of sweet scent will greet your nostril, and you will know why it has got this name.


3. Dendrobium
 
Now take a leisurely stroll through the Sweet Gum trail.
 
Those with a sharp eye would notice the Bronze Statue of King George VI at the top of the steps. The original statue in this location was that of Sir Arthur Kennedy, the seventh Governor of Hong Kong, but it was transported to Japan and smelted during the Japanese Occupation.
 
Turn right at the end of the Sweet Gum trail, and you will reach the Green House which houses mainly rare herbaceous species such as bromeliads and carnivorous plants. Yet the most glamorous of all are the orchids.
 
The Dendrobiums are probably blooming at this time of the year. In Chinese culture, the orchid is one of the Four Noble Ones, the other three being plum, chrysanthemum and bamboo. In as early as the Spring and Autumn period (770 – 476 BCE), Confucius once remarked that "The orchids grow in the woods and they let out their fragrance even if there is no one around to appreciate. Likewise, men of noble character will not let poverty deter their will to only abide by high principles and morals." Orchids grow in the mountains where they are not noticed, but they still let out a sweet fragrance, thus truly worthy of the name of the virtuous "Noble One".
 
In Hong Kong, native dendrobiums in the wild have become very rare due to illegal uprooting, so much so that they approach being "extinct in the wild". In a similar vein, in contemporary society, those with "noble" character are also becoming few and far between.
 
 


4. Burmese Rosewood (Pterocarpus indicus) 
 
As you leave the Green House, you can almost see immediately this stately Burmese Rosewood. It is easily identifiable as it has a tag on it.
 
The Burmese Rosewood is one of the most treasured wood materials in the world. There's a saying that "one inch of Burmese Rosewood is worth one inch of gold". Due to non-stop logging, the Burmese Rosewood has been included in a list for protection by the International Union for Conservation of Nature. This wood is purplish black and lets out a faint sweet scent. It features beautiful grain patterns with a sheen, and has a quaint, deep aura about it. In China, this wood was used in as early as the last decades of the Eastern Han Dynasty (189-220). In Gu Jin Zhu (Notes to Things Old and New) by Cui Bao of the Jin period, the Burmese Rosewood was described like this, "Zitan is grown in Funan; it has a purplish colour, hence its name." Zitan literally means ‘purple rosewood', and Funan is Phnom, which is Cambodia today. 
 
The Burmese Rosewood has a well-developed root system with buttress roots at its base, anchoring it firmly to the ground.  But not all Burmese Rosewood trees are as fortunate as the one in this "urban forest", as it is still strong and healthy at 100 years old - due to a huge commercial demand, the average Burmese rosewood usually cannot make it past adulthood before it is cut down.
 


5. Thitmin (Podocarpus neriifolius) 
 
Turn right at the "Aviary" sign, and you will see the hornbills which have been designated an endangered species. In another aviary, eye-catching American flamingos on slender long legs and making low cackle-like calls.
 
Then stroll down to the dark green octagonal Pavilion constructed out of cast-iron pillars with a wooden roof.
 
Take a seat on the stone bench and let the cool sensation give you a zesty lift. On the railings are old photographs which depict Hong Kong in the past 100 years. If you look carefully enough, you will notice in front a Thitman tree which is quite rare in Hong Kong. The tree has a beautiful form, with flaky, taupe-coloured bark scales. One special feature of the tree trunk is the wave-like pattern, with the curved lines resembling at times surging waves and at times ripples at the rim of a lake.
 


6. Camphor tree (Cinnamomum camphora)
 
Continue a few steps downwards, and you will see the massive Camphor tree just a little distance from the Pavilion. 
 
Chinese Herbal Materia Medica gives the origin of the Camphor tree thus, "The wood grain shows a lot of patterns, and hence the name zhang". The grains are clear and the wood is heavy and hard. It lets out a strong camphor scent which has a cooling effect. Its pungent smell wards off insects and prevents rotting; it can also clear away mildew and dampness. It has been deemed a valuable wood species since ancient times.
 
Every tree, like humans, is a separate entity. This tree is trilobed, with other vegetation thriving on it-the verdant and delicate stems and leaves suggest they may be flowers of the dendrobium. The lower part of the tree trunk shows signs of a cracked tree hole, so it must have suffered a wound and later healed. Time has healed the wound, leaving a unique grain as the scar. The sturdiness of a tree helps other species to thrive.
 


7. Kassod Tree (Senna siamea)
 
Now go through the Time Tunnel and look at the photos taken in the garden over the past hundred odd years. Then follow the map to find the Kassod Tree some distance away. It has four forks and its leaves are small and delicate. Fern are growing on it.
 
The literal meaning of the Kassod Tree in Chinese tie dao mu, is "iron chopper tree". There are two versions for the origin of its name. The first is that the name should be a homophone which means "rail-track bed wood", as it was often used for laying the rail track because of its sturdiness and weight.
 
The other explanation highlights its impenetrable density: even an iron chopper cannot cut it open. If we are to give it a personified character, we can say this species is "defiant to the very end". Even when it is being sawn, it puts up a last struggle with its physical property by letting out an allergen that can cause irritation to the eye and skin. That is why when arborists are cutting the Kassod Tree, they need to put on goggles to prevent the splinters from entering their eyes.
 


8. White Jade Orchid Tree (Magnolia × alba)
 
Our walk is about to end. Go straight ahead along the level path for another five minutes and you will be leaving the grounds of the Gardens. But don't leave yet!  Slow down and take in the lush vegetation around you and their interesting details. Even though you think you are looking at just greenery around you, there are subtle shades of green to it.
 
At the exit is a White Jade Orchid Tree. Over a hundred years old, it has a sizable crown with dense verdant leaves, and an impressive height. This tree has stood proudly for over a century, thriving in this narrow gap of a breathing space between a complex configuration of city and forest.
 
White Jade Orchid blossoms emit a sweet fragrance. This makes them a favourite natural perfume worn by Chinese women of South China, a habit that still stands to this day. Yet, flowers do not bloom for human purposes; they have their own cycles of growth. Herbaceous plants live for one year, subshrubs two or three years, arbors several decades, Camphor Trees several hundred years, and the Buddhist Pine up to 3,000 years. Three quarters of Hong Kong land are green zones while one quarter is developed areas where the concrete jungle spreads.  The "urban forest" where we are now can be likened to moss and lichen that thrive along the footprints of "civilisation" – its light rusty green hue tells the story of our city in a gracious and subtle way.
 
 


 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 Web for All

亮點節目
關於我們
理想/ 使命/ 信念
APO 資料庫
下載
返回 油街實現
返回 香港視覺藝術中心
 

 

邂逅!市中森  
《森中漫遊》
藝術家:葉曉文
作品:植物觀賞地圖
 
「庭院深深深幾許?1871 年 落成的香港動植物公園是本地第一個興建的公園。花開有時, 葉落有時,百年之樹扎根, 比你我生命更悠長。你願意稍事歇息,讀讀它們的故事嗎?」
 
葉曉文帶著寫生簿來到香港動植物公園探索,從不同的視角,以畫筆捕捉植物的獨有形態;從文化及科學的角度,以文字記錄植物在園中的成長故事。這些插畫與小故事串連起來,拼湊成一幅植物觀賞地圖,邀請觀眾沿著特別設計的路線在這個城市中的森林漫遊。在這短暫的旅程中,觀眾可近距離以不同感官感受每棵古樹、每朵花、每片葉、甚至每滴露水的存在。浸浴在大自然的懷抱裡,你或許會對植物的頑強生命力有所感觸。
 
藝術家簡歷:
葉曉文擅寫擅畫,曾獲「青年文學獎」小說公開組冠軍。她運用插圖與文字,把探索大自然生態系統的興趣融入作品中,畫風優雅細膩。她的作品見於多份報章雜誌、圖畫書及詩集,也於展覽中展出,出版書籍有2014年的《尋花》、2016年的《尋花2 —— 香港原生植物手札》、2017年的《尋牠 —— 香港野外動物手札》及2019年的《In situ隱山之人》。最近舉行的展覽包括2018年在香港恒生大學展出的「城市森林中的花與牠」、2019年在香港高等教育科技學院展出的「在山上:筆記香港動植物」及2020年在油街實現展出的「如果我們還有空間」。
 
在此下載:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

植物觀賞地圖路線:
(文字由葉曉文提供)

1. 吊芙蓉 Dombeya wallichii
 
你現在身處遊客中心。正前方有噴水池,水珠潤澤著附近的空氣,這大概是香港動植物公園裡最開揚的一個景觀了。
 
走出遊客中心前行幾步,往左面看,那些高大的Y型樹,就是旅人蕉。由於葉鞘呈杯狀,能貯存大量水液,供旱漠旅人提供緊急水源,故而得名。在旅人蕉底下,你會遇上一大叢灌木,這是第一種我想介紹的美人兒。
 
有開花嗎?
 
她們叫吊芙蓉,又名「百鈴花」,每年十二月至三月,總是順應季節盛放。一大束下垂的粉紅色花朵粉嫩可人,像新娘手捧的繡球。那茂密嫩綠的枝條讓鳥兒喜歡躲藏其中,她們也是蜜源植物,帶有香氣,盛花時吸引蜜蜂蝴蝶前來沾取花蜜。
 
掩映在心形葉下,粉紅色的羞答答的模樣,惹我憐愛。


2. 楓香 Liquidambar formosana
 
背過身,你跟著地圖所示,走向一小段稍為迂迴、微微上斜的路。
 
現在,你面前有兩列大樹,它們樹幹挺拔,深褐色樹皮上有著漂亮細緻的花紋。部分樹上掛有樹牌,標誌著他們的名字,叫楓香。楓香的葉子最具特色,呈掌狀三裂。
 
現在,它們是綠色還是紅色?一般而言,楓香樹於十二月底開始呈現紅色、乾枯、掉落,然後在煙雨濛蒙的三月,會重新長出碧翠的嫩葉。
 
風吹枯葉落,落葉生肥土。賞楓季節後期,地上的葉子往往比樹上的多。為什麼楓香有個「香」字?你試試自地上拾起楓香葉,必須尋找紅啡色的、乾枯薄脆的葉子,將之輕力揉碎,捧在掌心,揍近鼻子,一陣清新的淡香飄然而至,這就是「楓香」名字的由來。


3. 石斛蘭 Dendrobium
 
慢慢走過楓香的甬道。
 
眼力稍好的話,沿途會看見樓梯上有英皇佐治六世的銅像,原本立在這裡的雕像並不是他,而是香港第七任總督堅尼地爵士;可是於香港日占時期被運往日本熔掉。
 
楓香之路的盡頭往右轉,就能夠通往溫室。溫室內所種植多是嬌貴草本:鳳梨科、食蟲植物⋯⋯最裡面花姿招展的是蘭花。石斛蘭大概也正在開花。中國文化中,蘭花作為花中「四君子」(其餘為梅、菊、竹),早在春秋時代,孔子曾說:「芝蘭生幽谷,不以無人而不芳,君子修道立德,不為窮困而改節。」蘭花於深山無人識,卻依舊散出幽香,是不折不扣的守德君子。
 
在香港野外,原生石斛因為非法採集而變得極其罕有,甚至面臨「野外滅絕」的風險。 「君子」在此世代,也屬鳳毛麟角了。


4. 紫檀 Pterocarpus indicus
 
離開溫室之後,你幾乎馬上能看見這棵高貴碩大的紫檀。樹上有牌,你可以辨認得到。
 
紫檀是世界名貴木材之一,有人以「一吋紫檀一吋金」形容。由於不斷被砍伐,現時被列入《國際自然保育聯盟》的保護名錄內。木材色調呈紫黑色,微微有芳香,深沉古雅,有光澤美麗的紋路。中國早於東漢末期開始使用紫檀木,晉・崔豹《古今注》指出:「紫檀木,出扶南,色紫,亦謂之紫檀。」
 
它根係發達,樹腳有板根,感覺非常紮實。但並非每棵紫檀都如「市中森」這棵幸運,成長至百歲樹齡依然健康碩壯-因為商業需求殷切,一般紫檀往往未及長成大樹,已成為刀下亡魂。
 


5. 百日青 Podocarpus neriifolius
 
跟隨那個「雀籠」的牌子轉向右方,你會見到被列作「瀕危物種」的犀鳥,在另一個鳥舍,則會看到一堆耀眼的橘紅色美洲紅鸛,蹬著纖幼的長腿,發出低沉如鵝的鳴叫聲。
 
你徐徐向下踱步到深綠色的八角涼亭,它由精緻的鑄鐵支柱架組成,嵌上木質屋頂。
 
你坐上石椅,微涼的觸感令你精神一振。欄杆四周有一幅幅舊照片,訴說著香江百年風景。細意留意,前方有棵香港不常見的百日青。樹形優美,樹皮灰褐色,呈纖薄片狀。獨特是樹幹上一圈一圈的波浪,曲線蒼勁有致,有時像洶湧海濤,有時又像湖邊漣漪。


6. 樟 Cinnamomum camphora
 
你繼續往下走, 離開涼亭才幾步,會遇到那巨大的樟樹。
 
《本草綱目》解釋了樟樹名字的由來:「其木理多文章,故謂之樟」。樹幹上紋路分明,木質重而硬,有強烈的樟腦香氣,味清涼,有辛辣感,防蟲防蛀、驅黴防潮,由古至今,都被視為具價值樹種。
 
每棵樹都是獨立個體,像人一樣。這樹呈三指,上面附生著其他植物-小枝小葉玉石一般青翠,大概是石斛蘭花。樹幹下方有個斷裂的樹洞痕跡,代表它曾經受傷了,後來又痊癒了。時間是修補傷口的藥,癒合後留下獨特的紋路。樹的堅強,造就了其他物種的成長。
 


7. 鐵刀木 Senna siamea
 
穿過時光隧道,隧道內展示百多年來於公園內拍攝的歷史照片,不妨看看。過後跟著地圖走,會尋找到一棵與之有距離的鐵刀木,樹分四椏,樹葉纖細,上面長有蕨類。
 
關於鐵刀木的名字,有兩種說法:第一種,它根本並非叫「鐵刀木」,應該是「鐵道木」才對,因為質地又硬又重,以前常被用作鋪設鐵道,因此應該稱此樹為「鐵道木」。
 
另一說法是:它樹質堅硬,連鐵造的刀也難砍,因此叫「鐵刀木」。除了天生硬頸,直到樹木倒下、被宰割一刻,也不是省油的燈,它會用自己身體進行最後的反抗-因為它有敏感性,會刺激人類皮膚及眼睛,因此部分樹藝工作者用刀鋸這種樹時,需要戴上護目鏡,防止木碎入眼。


8. 白蘭 Magnolia × alba
 
旅程馬上就完結,沿著平路往前行五分鐘,你就會離開公園。請別急著離開,放慢步伐,看見四周植物豐盛又充滿細節,你以為全部都綠色,但綠色畢竟也有層次。
 
門口有一棵過百歲的白蘭,樹冠寬廣,葉色濃綠,這一棵尤其高大正直,在復雜的城市與森林隙縫中,茁壯屹立一百年。
 
白蘭花潔白芳香,中國南方女士常摘取花朵來佩戴在身。但事實上,花開不為誰,它們掌握自己生存的節奏。草本植物一年生,亞灌木二、三年,喬木數十載,樟樹幾百年,羅漢鬆有三千歲。香港有四分之三屬綠色地域,四分之一鋪著建築物。我們此刻身處的這座「市中森」,就像依旁文明的青苔和地衣,呈現出淡淡銹青色,優雅又含蓄地、訴說著我城的年月。
 
 


 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 無障礙網頁