Introduction

 

The Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens is the oldest park in the territory.  Built in 1860 and partially opened in 1864, the Gardens was fully completed and opened to the public in 1871, with Mr Charles Ford appointed as its first Superintendent in the same year.  Used to house an assemblage of native plants for collection and research in its early years, it had been known as the Botanic Gardens.  Since 1876, the Gardens has been building its zoological collection comprising birds and mammals.  In 1975, it was officially renamed as the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens.  The Gardens is also nicknamed by locals as “Bing Tau Fa Yuen” (“Bing Tau” means the head of soldiers and “Fa Yuen” means garden) because it was the site of the Government House from 1841 to 1842 and at some time in the past, the Governor also served as the Commander of British Forces in Hong Kong.

The Gardens, with an area of 5.6 hectares, is surrounded by Garden Road, Robinson Road, Glenealy and Upper Albert Road, and divided into the eastern and western parts by Albany Road.  The two parts are connected by a pedestrian subway.  The eastern part, known as the Old Garden, provides children’s playground, aviaries, a green house and the fountain terrace garden, whereas the western part, or the New Garden, is mainly home to mammals and reptiles.

On top of the zoological and botanical attractions, visitors may also enjoy a stroll down the heritage trail to explore five special features of historical importance, namely the Stone Pillars, the Memorial Arch, the Bronze Statue of King George VI, the Pavilion and the Fountain, and savour the stories of the Gardens.

Fountain
Fountain
Bronze Statue of King George VI
Bronze Statue of King George VI
Memorial Arch
Memorial Arch
Stone Pillars
Stone Pillars
Pavilion
Pavilion

Park Map

Background 2

Top

簡介

 

香港動植物公園是本港歷史最悠久的公園,1860年動工興建,1864年局部開放,1871年全面落成並開放予公眾參觀。同年,福特先生獲委任為公園首位園林監督。公園早期以蒐集和研究本地植物為主,故名植物公園。自1876年起,公園陸續飼養雀鳥及哺乳類動物,後於1975年正式易名為「香港動植物公園」。園址於1841至1842年為督憲府所在地,而總督兼任駐港三軍總司令,人稱「兵頭」,故公園又俗稱「兵頭花園」。

公園佔地5.6公頃,坐落花園道、羅便臣道、己連拿利和上亞厘畢道之間,雅賓利道貫穿其中,使公園分為東、西部分,兩者由一條行人隧道連接。公園東面部分稱為「舊公園」,設有兒童遊樂場、鳥舍、溫室及噴水池平台花園;西面部分稱為「新公園」,主要是哺乳類和爬蟲類動物的居所。

除了欣賞動植物外,遊人也可於園中的古蹟徑漫步,參觀五個別具歷史意義的景點,即石柱、紀念牌坊、英皇佐治六世銅像、涼亭及噴水池,細味公園的故事。

噴水池
噴水池
英皇佐治六世銅像
英皇佐治六世銅像
紀念牌坊
紀念牌坊
石柱
石柱
涼亭
涼亭

公園地圖

背景 2
Top