Upcoming Events

Home>   Music Activities  >   Upcoming Events  >   Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Annual Concert “East-West Convergence - A Portrait of Folk Tunes”

Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Annual Concert “East-West Convergence - A Portrait of Folk Tunes”

Untitled Document

 

9 January 2022 (Sun) 3pm
Sha Tin Town Hall Auditorium

 

Lead by the Music Office faculty Tsui Ying-fai and Kwok Kin-ming, the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra (HKYCO) will share a variety of eminent Chinese and western masterpieces, including the ancient melody Moonlight on the Spring River featuring a leading Pipa, Guarding the Frontier on Horseback by Tong Leung-tak, The Night of the Torch Festival by Kwok Hang-kei and Camel Bells of Xinjiang by Zhang Lie, in addition to the adaptations of widely acclaimed Antonín Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances and Ralph Vaughan Williams’s English Folk Song Suite, immersing the audience in the poetic charm of the folk tunes from the east and the west. Don’t miss the chance!

 

House Programme
(Coming Soon)

 

Programme

Guarding the Frontier on Horseback (Erhu Ensemble) Tong Leung-tak
Conductor: Tsui Ying-fai
The Night of the Torch Festival (Plucked-string Ensemble) Kwok Hang-kei
Conductor: Kwok Kin-ming
Moonlight on the Spring River Ancient Melody/ arr. Tong Leung-tak
Leading Pipa: Leung Ka-lok
Conductor: Kwok Kin-ming
Slavonic Dances, Op.46, No.4 and 8 Antonín Dvořák/ arr. Tsui Ying-fai
Conductor: Kwok Kin-ming
~Intermission~
Grapes are Ripe (Erhu Ensemble) Zhou Wei/ arr. Chin King
Conductor: Tsui Ying-fai
Camel Bells of Xinjiang (Percussion Ensemble) Zhang Lie
Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra Percussion Ensemble
English Folk Song Suite Ralph Vaughan Williams/ arr. Wong Ching-yin
i. Seventeen Come Sunday
ii. My Bonny Boy
iii. Folk Songs from Somerset
 
Battle on Taihangshan Wang Liping/ arr. Tong Leung-tak
Conductor: Tsui Ying-fai

Programme and artists subject to change without prior notice

香港青年中樂團相片

 

Established in 1978, the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra (HKYCO) is one of the flagship music groups trained and managed by the Music Office. With members aged 25 and below, recruitment of the HKYCO is held through open audition in April every year.

 

Over the past four decades, the HKYCO has performed in major events such as the Hong Kong Arts Festival, the Festival Fringe, the Hong Kong International Youth Arts Festival, and the “Music of the Dragons” concert in celebration of the 5th anniversary of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. They were invited to perform in the live broadcast “Caritas Charity TV Show” in 2014 and 2021, and the variety shows in celebration of the 66th and the 69th anniversaries of the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 2015 and 2018. These highly acclaimed performances were also joined by celebrities. The HKYCO celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2018 with the performance of a 90-member alumni orchestra, joined by renowned percussionist and Music Office alumnus Chin Kwok-wai, under the baton of Ho Man-chuen, former Music Officer of the Chinese Section of the Music Office.

 

The HKYCO has also played the role of music ambassador of Hong Kong and toured extensively, from neighbouring Macao to Malaysia, the UK, France, Australia, the USA, and Canada. Since 2000, the orchestra also toured to the Mainland and Taiwan. In 2000, the HKYCO visited Beijing and Xi’an on a concert performance and music exchange tour titled Tour to the Ancient Cities. In 2007, the orchestra participated in folk music festivals of Nanjing, Wuxi and Jiangyin in Jiangsu province and gave three well-received concerts in the festivals. The HKYCO made its Taiwan debut at the 2011 Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival in Taichung Changhua. The orchestra also performed in Shanghai and Shenyang music conservatories in 2016. In 2018, the orchestra embarked on an invited Singapore tour, in which they exchanged with local young musicians, and staged a highly acclaimed joint performance with the Singapore National Youth Chinese Orchestra.

 

Conductors

Tsui Ying-fai
Tsui Ying-fai obtained his bachelor’s degree with first-class honor and master’s degree (Ethnomusicology – Chinese Music) in the Chinese University of Hong Kong and has studied ethnomusicology in the University of Pittsburgh, USA.

Tsui has been active in the field of Chinese music as a conductor. Since 2000, he led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra to perform in Beijing and Xi’an, Jiangsu, Shanghai, Shenyang and Taiwan; and the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Plucked String Orchestra to perform in the Aberdeen International Youth Festival in Scotland, UK in 2005. Besides his official conducting duties in the Music Office, Tsui also conducted in concerts of numerous local Chinese orchestras and was invited to conduct in the Taipei Youth Chinese Orchestra Concert in Taipei. He was also invited to serve on the adjudicating panel of the National Chinese Orchestral Contests in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the Chinese orchestra contest of the Singapore Youth Festival and dizi contest of the Macao Young Musicians Competition.

Tsui has also worked as a tutor and research staff of the Music Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and has taught at the Music Department and the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. He published articles on Chinese instrumental music in publications, by the former Hong Kong Provisional Urban Council and the Education and Manpower Bureau, and in music academic journals in the US and the well-known Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.

Tsui is currently the Senior Music Officer of the Chinese Music Section of the Music Office and conductor of Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra, Music Office Instructors’ Chinese Orchestra and Music Office Junior Chinese Orchestra.
Tsui Ying-fai
   
Kwok Kin-ming
Kwok Kin-ming obtained the Master of Music degree with distinction from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, majoring in Chinese orchestras conducting, under the tutelage of Yan Huichang. Kwok was the second runner-up and awarded Outstanding Young Conductor in the Hong Kong International Conducting Competition for Chinese Music in 2011.

As a conductor, Kwok has been invited as guest conductor by many orchestras. In 2013 and 2018, he was invited as conductor at the concerts of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra. Kwok was invited to conduct the concert of Jilin Chinese Orchestra in Changchun in 2015 and the joint concert of Shanghai Feiyun Chinese Orchestra and Wang Kwong Chinese Orchestra in Shanghai in 2016. He was invited by the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts to conduct the concert of Academy Chinese orchestra in 2017. In 2019, he was invited to conduct the Macao Chinese Orchestra in Macao.

Kwok led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Plucked String Orchestra to participate in the Aberdeen International Youth Festival in Scotland, UK for cultural exchange in 2005 and the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra for the premiere music tour to Taiwan and participated in the Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival in 2011. In 2016, he led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra to tour in Shanghai and Shenyang, where the orchestra jointly performed with the Chinese Orchestra of Shenyang Conservatory of Music. In 2018, he led the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra to tour in Singapore.

Kwok is currently the Music Officer of the Chinese Music Section of the Music Office, supervising the Chinese instrumental training and conducting the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra and Music Office Children’s Chinese Orchestra.
Kwok Kin-ming

Tickets: $95 $75 $55

 

Tickets are available at URBTIX from 9 December
Half-price tickets are available for full-time students, senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and the minder, Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients
For ages 6 or above

 

Ticketing Enquiries: 3761 6661
Credit Card Booking: 2111 5999
Internet Booking: www.urbtix.hk
Programme Enquiries: 2796 7523/ 3842 7784

最新活動

Home>   音樂活動  >   > 最新活動 香港青年中樂團周年音樂會「中西民韻匯春江」

香港青年中樂團周年音樂會「中西民韻匯春江」

Untitled Document

 

2022年1月9日(星期日)下午3時
沙田大會堂演奏廳

 

香港青年中樂團將在音樂事務處導師徐英輝及郭健明的帶領下,演繹多首經典的中、西美樂,包括以琵琶領奏韻律悠揚的古曲《春江花月夜》,以及別具特色的湯良德《騎著馬兒守邊疆》、郭亨基《火把節之夜》及張列《西域駝鈴》等。樂團亦會呈獻改編自廣為流傳的西方民謠:德伏扎克《斯拉夫舞曲》及佛漢威廉士《英國民歌組曲》,中西民韻薈萃,讓觀眾感受不同的民族風情,樂迷萬勿錯過!

 

音樂會場刊
(即將推出)

 

節目

騎著馬兒守邊疆 (二胡齊奏) 湯良德
指揮: 徐英輝
火把節之夜 (彈撥樂合奏) 郭亨基
指揮: 郭健明
春江花月夜 古曲/ 湯良德
琵琶領奏: 梁家洛
指揮: 郭健明
斯拉夫舞曲,作品46,第 4 及 8 首 德伏扎克/ 徐英輝
指揮: 郭健明
~中場休息~
葡萄熟了 (二胡齊奏) 周維/ 錢璟
指揮: 徐英輝
西域駝鈴 (敲擊樂合奏) 張列
香港青年中樂團敲擊小組
英國民歌組曲 佛漢威廉士/ 黃正彥
i. 十七歲時星期天
ii. 我的愛人
iii. 薩默塞特民歌
 
大戰太行山 王立平/ 湯良德
指揮: 徐英輝

節目及表演者如有更改,恕不另行通知

香港青年中樂團相片

 

香港青年中樂團於1978年成立,由音樂事務處管理及訓練,是音樂事務處轄下旗艦樂團之一。樂團團員年齡均在25歲或以下,每年四月透過公開試音招募團員。

 

多年來,樂團培育了不少本港出色的中樂演奏家及教育家。自成立以來,樂團曾參與多項大型音樂演出,如香港藝術節、香港藝穗節、香港國際青年藝術節,以及2002年慶祝香港特別行政區成立五周年的「龍聲飛揚」萬人青年音樂會等。此外,樂團於2014及2021年應邀參演電視直播慈善節目「明愛暖萬心」;2015及2018年參與香港同胞慶祝中華人民共和國成立66及69周年文藝晚會,與一眾流行歌手攜手演出,獲一致好評。2018年樂團舉行慶祝成立40周年音樂會,邀請了音樂事務處中樂組前音樂主任,本港著名中樂指揮家何文川擔任客席指揮,與著名敲擊樂演奏家,亦是音樂事務處舊生錢國偉,以及由90多位前團員組成的舊生樂團與當屆樂團團員同台獻藝。

 

樂團亦肩負青年文化大使的角色,多次作海外交流演出。出訪地區遍及英國、法國、澳洲、美國、加拿大、澳門、馬來西亞等。自2000年起,樂團更踏足中國內地及台灣地區,包括2000年樂團往北京及西安作「古都之旅」交流演出;2007年分別於南京市「中國江蘇二胡之鄉民族音樂節」、無錫市「第三屆中國無錫.太湖國際民樂展」,以及江陰市「劉天華民族音樂節」共演出三場;2011年首度訪問台灣,在台中彰化舉行的「2011當代國樂節」演出;2016年往上海及瀋陽兩所國內著名音樂學院作交流演出。另外,於2018年應邀出訪新加坡,與新加坡國家青年華樂團聯合舉行名為
「青春薈萃」的音樂會,獲高度讚揚。

 

指揮

徐英輝 
徐英輝於香港中文大學取得一級榮譽學士及哲學碩士(民族音樂學 - 中國音樂)學位,亦曾於美國匹茲堡大學修讀民族音樂學。

徐氏熱衷於指揮工作,2000年起曾多次帶領香港青年中樂團前往北京、西安、江蘇、台灣、上海、瀋陽及新加坡等地巡迴演出及音樂交流;2005年亦曾帶領香港青年彈撥中樂團前往英國參加「鴨巴甸國際青年節」。除指揮音樂事務處屬下中樂團外,徐氏亦曾於本地多個中樂團擔任指揮,並曾於2014年應邀前往台灣於台北青年國樂團音樂會中擔任客席指揮。此外,徐氏曾應邀為新加坡青年節華樂團比賽、馬來西亞全國華樂大賽及澳門青年音樂比賽中擔任評委。

徐氏亦致力於音樂教學及研究工作,曾於香港中文大學音樂系、香港演藝學院音樂學院及科藝學院任教。徐氏亦曾為前香港臨時市政局及香港教育署、美國的音樂學術刊物及《嘉蘭世界音樂百科全書》撰寫關於中國音樂的文章。

徐氏現職音樂事務處中樂組高級音樂主任,亦為香港青年中樂團、音樂事務處導師中樂團及音樂事務處少年中樂團指揮。
徐英輝
   
郭健明
郭健明以優異成績畢業於香港演藝學院,獲音樂碩士學位,主修中樂指揮,師承著名指揮家閻惠昌。2011年,他於第一屆「國際中樂指揮大賽」獲得季軍及香港優秀青年指揮獎。

郭氏先後獲邀指揮多個樂團,當中包括香港中樂團、吉林省民族樂團、上海飛雲民族樂團、澳門中樂團、香港演藝學院中樂團等;2013年及2018年獲香港中樂團之邀請,擔任音樂會指揮。2015年獲吉林省民族樂團邀請,前赴長春擔任音樂會指揮;2016年獲上海飛雲民族樂團及宏光國樂團之邀請,前赴上海擔任兩團聯合音樂會指揮;2017年獲香港演藝學院邀請,擔任演藝中樂團音樂會指揮;2019年獲澳門中樂團邀請,前赴澳門擔任音樂會指揮。

2005年,郭氏指揮香港青年彈撥中樂團出訪英國蘇格蘭,參與「鴨巴甸國際青年節」演出;2011年,指揮香港青年中樂團首次出訪台灣,參與「當代國樂節」演出;2016年,指揮香港青年中樂團於上海及瀋陽作巡迴演出,並與瀋陽音樂學院民樂團舉辦「聚集.兩地情」聯合音樂會;2018年,指揮香港青年中樂團於新加坡作演出交流。

郭氏現職音樂事務處中樂組音樂主任,負責管理器樂訓練計劃,並擔任香港青年中樂團及音樂事務處兒童中樂團指揮。
郭健明

門票: $95 $75 $55

 

12月9日起於城市售票網發售
全日制學生、六十歲或以上高齡人士、殘疾人士及看護人、綜合社會保障援助受惠人士可獲半價優惠
音樂會招待六歲或以上人士

 

票務查詢: 3761 6661
信用卡電話購票: 2111 5999
網上訂票: http://www.urbtix.hk
節目查詢: 2796 7523/ 3842 7784