Community Programmes

Home>   Music Activities  >   Community Programmes  >   Roving Exhibition - Carnival Samba

Roving Exhibition - Carnival Samba

Untitled Document

 

Author: Dr. Connie Wong (PhD in Ethnomusicology, University of California, Los Angeles, USA)

 

Over the course of 300 years of Portuguese colonial history, Brazilian culture has become an extravagant piece of artwork. Music has been interwoven with various art forms and manifested in various aspects. Samba, in particular, is one of the essential pieces, with a long and rich tradition. It is a unique art form of singing and dancing.

 

From the 16th to the 18th centuries, roughly four to five million enslaved Africans were brought in as forced labour to the continent of Latin America, including Brazil. In their displacement, their distinctive music, dance and other cultural practices placed a significant share in the musical melting pot, in which there were local Brazilian and European elements. Under such influence, samba is the mixed musical genre.

 


  Please click the following tabs to kick off your samba journey now!

 

Root of Samba

Arrow
  • The root of samba traces back to Angola and Congo in Africa. The word “samba” is likely derived from a Bantu word “semba”, representing a symbolic body movement termed “belly bump” between dancers in a circle-dance. When one dancer invites another to the circle, the belly-bump contact connects the two dancers together as one, which is considered spiritual and holy.
  • This distinctive tradition was later referred to as samba de roda (circle-dance samba) as it was practised by uprooted Africans who lived in the State of Bahia (the Northeastern region of Brazil) during the 17th century. The dance was generally performed by women. They liked improvising their choreographic movements of the feet, legs and hips in the circle while singing and clapping hands together.
  • The Africans were later brought into Rio de Janeiro, the former capital of Brazil, as labourers at the end of the 19th century. Samba has gradually changed since that time.【Note: Brazil relocated its capital to Brasília in 1960.】
India Map
[Image 1]
Map of Brazil
India Map
[Image 2]
Samba de roda (circle-dance samba)

Samba Schools

Arrow
  • At the beginning of the 20th century, samba became urbanised. Urban samba developed and flourished in Rio de Janeiro, especially in favelas, the hillside slums where enslaved Africans and their descendants resided. This unique location played an important role in the development of samba.
Favela in Rio de Janeiro
[Image 3]
Favela in Rio de Janeiro

 

  • Although urban samba was first perceived as a vulgar dance by the mainstream society, it was greatly appreciated and captivated by the middle-class for its glamorous performance style with vibrant music and dance.
  • By the end of the 1920s, many talented performers had formed their samba communities or associations, which were later referred to as escolas de samba (samba schools). The oldest and the most famous samba school in Rio de Janeiro, Mangueira, still thrives today.

[Video 1]
Mangueira

Mangueira is a traditional samba school established in Rio de Janeiro nearly a century ago, with green and pink as its official colours. A percussion rehearsal by the school is seen in this excerpt.

[Video 2]
Império de Casa Verde

Império de Casa Verde is another famous samba school established in São Paulo in 1994, with blue and white as its official colours. This excerpt features a percussion rehearsal by the school.

Urban Samba

Arrow

Musical characteristics of urban samba:

  • Melody: Lyrical melodies and melodic lines are similar to pop songs.
  • Lyrics: They cover various topics, such as nationalistic sentiment, romantic relationships, gender roles, political views, etc.
  • Form and structure: Strophic form presented in call-and-response.
  • Rhythm: In 2/4 time, with polyrhythms and syncopations; a distinct groove is created.
  • Harmony: Simple and functional harmonies, with a major focus on lyrics and melodies.
  • Language used: Mainly sung in Portuguese.
  • Transmission method: Mostly by oral tradition without written scores; yet, there are scores in new compositions today.

Carnival Samba

Arrow
  • The golden age of urban samba was the 1930s. The word “samba” is a generic term, which is nearly synonymous to Brazilian popular music; it has been commonly used in Brazil even until this day.
  • There are many different styles of samba. Its sub-genres include samba-canção (samba song) and samba-choro. These sub-genres are mainly played in bars, ballrooms and night clubs. In addition to using guitars, performers use other percussive instruments as well (see the section of “Major Instruments” below).

[Video 3]
Ainda Mais

Samba-canção (samba song) is another important sub-genre of samba. This excerpt features Ainda Mais, a samba song written by famous singer-songwriter Paulinho da Viola. Performed by singer Adriana Moreira and her band at Boteco da Dona Tati in São Paulo.
【Note: This video was filmed by a scholar during a field trip to Brazil.】
  • Among others, there are two sub-genres associated with Carnival (or Carnaval), including samba-enredo (themed samba) and samba-carnavalesco (carnival samba).

[Video 4]
História Pra Ninar Gente Grande

Samba-enredo (themed samba) is an important sub-genre of samba developed in the 1930s. This excerpt features História Pra Ninar Gente Grande, an award-winning song by samba school Mangueira in the 2019 Carnival which demonstrates the said samba sub-genre. Performed by singer-songwriter Moacyr Luz and his band “Samba do Trabalhador” at Renascença Clube in Rio de Janeiro.
  • In 1934, the local authorities officially made Carnival an annual national event, which has symbolised Brazilian national identity. To make Carnival more appealing, the government encouraged vivid presentation of performances where elaborately costumed dancers danced, musicians sang and played original music compositions on colourful and decorative floats.
  • The Brazilian Carnival is seen as the world’s largest Carnival celebration, which is a gigantic, 4-5 day non-stop “party” held from Friday of Pre-lent to the morning of Ash Wednesday in February or March in Rio de Janeiro every year.
  • Many samba schools participate in the annual Carnival championship. One of them is selected as the winner, judged on criteria such as choreography, music arrangement, extravagant costumes and magnificent design of the towering float.
  • Each participating samba school sets its own theme and has hundreds of performing sambistas (samba performers), including composers, singers, musicians, dancers and samba baterias (batteries of samba percussion). They spend half a year to a year on the preparation for the Carnival championship.
A colourful and decorative float at Carnival Samba
[Image 4]
A colourful and decorative float at Carnival Samba

 

Elaborately costumed dancers performing at Carnival Samba
[Image 5]
Elaborately costumed dancers performing at Carnival Samba

 

[Video 5]
Carnival Samba 2020

Vying for the Carnival championship, six samba schools (including São Clemente, Vila Isabel, Salgueiro, Unidos da Tijuca, Mocidade and Beija-Flor) are featured in this excerpt.
  • Samba is popularised not only in Carnival or other similar events, but also in orchestral works. Contemporary composers tend to add samba elements to their compositions, typical examples of which are Heitor Villa-Lobos’s Chôros No. 10 (1926) and Ernani Aguiar’s Sinfonietta Seconda: ‘Carnevale’ (2002).

Major Instruments

Arrow

According to the system of “Classification of Musical Instruments” proposed by musicologists, Erich Moritz von Hornbostel and Curt Sachs, the percussive instruments of Carnival Samba can be divided into three major categories:

(A) Membranophone: a musical instrument which produces the sound while a stretched membrane vibrates.
(B) Idiophone: a musical instrument in which the sound is produced through movements such as striking, shaking, rubbing and scraping on a solid surface.
(C) Aerophone: a musical instrument in which a column of vibrating air produces the sound.

(A) Membranophone

Surdo
[Image 6]
Surdo

Surdo (low-pitched drum)

  • The literal meaning of the Portuguese word “surdo” is “deaf”. This instrument is expected to reach its extreme loudness as it plays.
  • There are three different sizes.
  • The surdo player is responsible for playing duple metre, which acts as a timekeeper and gives a rhythmic foundation of the whole ensemble.。

Repinique
[Image 7]
Repinique

Repinique (tenor drum)

  • It originated in Africa and acts as a leading instrument, especially in the opening and ending sections.
  • It also directs the ensemble to play in unison.
  • The repinique player sometimes does improvised solos.

Tarol
[Image 8]
Tarol

Tarol (snare drum)

  • The drum has wire-covered strings (snares) stretched across its surface.
  • As the drumsticks hit the drum, the snares vibrate and produce a buzzing sound.
  • The tarol player is responsible for playing the basic rhythms while rhythmic accents and tremolo are added as the music continues.
Pandeíro
[Image 9]
Pandeíro

Pandeíro (Brazilian tambourine)

  • It originated in Europe.
  • Its diameter is about 8 to 12 inches. Jingles or “cymbalettes” are attached in a row to the rim of the drum.
  • Timbre varies with different applications of touch, strength and parts of fingers and palm.
Tamborím
[Image 10]
Tamborím

Tamborím (small tambourine)

  • It originated in Africa and Portugal
  • Its diameter is about 6 inches. The only difference between pandeíro and tamborím is that there are no jingles on tamborím.
  • The tamborím player uses a small drumstick to hit the surface of the instrument and plays syncopated rhythms
Cuíca
[Image 11]
Cuíca

Cuíca (friction drum)

  • It is considered as the most distinctive instrument in the samba percussion ensemble.
  • Cuíca is similar to other drums in appearance; however, it is a one-headed drum, with a rod attached to the centre of the drumhead.
  • The player uses a piece of cloth to rub the rod with one hand, while pressing the skin on the outer side.

(B) Idiophone
Agogô
[Image 12]
Agogô

Agogô (double bell)

  • It originated in Africa.
  • The instrument comprises a lower bell and a higher bell.
  • The player uses a drumstick to hit the bells.
Rêco-rêco
[Image 13]
Musical scraper

Musical scraper

  • It originated in Africa.
  • The instrument is made of bamboo or steel.
  • The player uses a stick to rasp the scraper.
Ganzá
[Image 14]
Chocalho

Chocalho (shaker)

  • It originated in Africa.
  • The instrument is a wood or steel instrument attached with two to three rows of jingles.
  • The “back and forth” shaking motion produces different rhythmic accents and dynamics.

(C) Aerophone
Apito
[Image 15]
Apito

Apito (whistle)

  • It acts as a “conductor” in the ensemble. Musicians and dancers change their respective patterns when the whistle commands.
  • It is particularly important in an outdoor Carnival, where verbal instructions are barely heard.

Development of Samba: Overview

Arrow

Samba has been developed into many sub-genres among different regions and cities in Brazil. In the process of globalisation, it has turned into many hybrid genres. Here are the recent developments of samba from the 19th to the 21st centuries:

 

Period Major Development
Late 19th century After the 1888 abolition of slavery, an influx of enslaved Africans migrated from the State of Bahia to Rio de Janeiro. During that time, samba had gradually changed to its urban versions.
Early 20th century “Urban samba” flourished in favelas in Rio de Janeiro.
1920s Urban samba became standardised, and many sub-genres were developed, including samba de morro (hillside neighbourhood samba).
1928 Samba communities established escola de samba (samba schools), which performed street parades and joined the carnival championship.
1930s It was the golden age of urban samba. Many kinds of sub-genres developed, including samba-enredo (themed samba), samba-carnavalesco (carnival samba) and samba-canção (samba-song).
1934 Carnival officially became an annual national event. Samba schools legally registered with the government.
Late 1950s The advent of bossa nova in Rio de Janeiro became a new revolution of samba. Bossa nova includes the elements of samba, guitar accompaniment with syncopations, a subdued vocal style and harmonic influence on classical music and cool jazz. Antônio Carlos Jobim’s The Girl from Ipanema is one of the best examples.
Early 1960s Samba jazz emerged.
1960s - 1980s A kind of backyard style samba called pagode (informal party samba) emerged, which has become commercialised since the 1990s.
1980s Samba reggae appeared and developed in the city of Salvador.
1990s Sambalanço emerged as a new variation of samba with pop music elements.
2005 Samba de roda (circle-dance samba), a Bahian antecedent of Brazilian’s national music and dance, was proclaimed by the UNESCO as a Masterpiece of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity (i.e. the present Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity).
21st century - the present Samba is globalised and commercialised. New fusions of samba have emerged, such as bossa-funk-samba and Afrosambabeat.

[Video 6]
Berimbau

Samba jazz is a sub-genre of samba emerged in the early 1960s. This excerpt features Berimbau, a piece of samba jazz music written by jazz guitarist Baden Powell. Performed by guitarist Zé Paulo Becker and his band “Semente Choro Jazz” at Dumont Arte Bar in Rio de Janeiro. Berimbau, a single-string percussion instrument that originated from Angola, is now commonly used in samba.

Epilogue

Arrow
  • For local Brazilians, samba creates a sense of national identity; for Afro-Brazilians, samba gives a complex sense of marginalised identity, mixing African descendants, “Brazilian-ness,” and residential segregation. This “samba identity” reflects the longstanding problem of the marginalisation of low-income classes who live in favelas. In summary, samba exemplifies a marginal music that has gradually turned into a national symbol.
  • Brazilian Carnival is a major source of income through tourism, and contributes to the local economic growth. In recent years, the culture of Brazilian Carnival has been promoted worldwide as well. For example, in Asia, Asakusa Samba Carnival is one of the biggest events on Japanese calendars. The Latin Carnival in Taipei also attracts thousands of attendees. In addition, there are famous samba schools performing at Hong Kong Chinese New Year Parade.
  • As Brazilian Carnival has been fostered in different places and countries, people are inspired and pleased to embrace this vibrant culture as part of their amusement. For samba music makers, they are encouraged to contribute a wide spectrum of new elements to their music and create a new dynamic in musical styles. It is our hope that it moves into a new direction and inspires musical imagination of the world music culture across the board.
Asakusa Samba Carnival in Japan
[Image 16]
Asakusa Samba Carnival in Japan
Samba performance at Hong Kong Chinese New Year Parade
[Image 17]
Samba performance at Hong Kong Chinese New Year Parade

English editing (arranged by Dr. Connie Wong): Allan C.L. Cheung

Supplementary information on images and videos

社區音樂推廣活動

Home>   音樂活動  >   社區音樂推廣活動  >   民族音樂巡迴展覽 – 森巴嘉年華

民族音樂巡迴展覽 – 森巴嘉年華

Untitled Document

 

著:黃愛恩博士 (美國加州大學洛杉磯分校民族音樂學博士)

 

在巴西的文化領域裡,因着三百多年被葡萄牙殖民地主義的洗禮,編織了富有獨特個性的音樂風格,構成一幅色彩斑斕的圖畫,「森巴」(samba) 更是其中一塊不可或缺的砌圖,以歌舞形式呈現文化藝術。

 

回顧歷史,十六至十八世紀期間,葡萄牙人引入大量非洲黑奴 (估計多達四百萬至五百萬人) 到拉丁美洲 (包括巴西) 工作,黑奴把他們的非洲音樂、舞蹈與當地文化融合交流,因而衍生了既有非洲、又有巴西和歐洲特色元素的音樂舞蹈藝術。

 


 歡迎按以下欄目,展開你的森巴之旅!

 

森巴的由來

Arrow
  • 「森巴」(samba) 起源於非洲的安哥拉 (Angola) 和剛果 (Congo),並相信是由非洲土語「semba」一詞演變出來,意思是指舞者透過「碰碰肚臍」(belly bump) 這個神聖動作,跟着身體的擺動來邀請對方融為一體,合跳土著舞蹈「環形舞」(circle-dance)。
  • 17世紀,環形舞被稱為「森巴環形舞」(samba de roda),流行於黑奴聚居地區東北部,特別是巴伊亞州 (State of Bahia) 一帶。舞者以女性為主,她們除了以拍手和唱歌伴隨環形舞外,也會即興舞動足、腳及臀部。
  • 19世紀末,隨着黑奴解放,大量黑奴遷往巴西當時的首都里約熱內盧 (Rio de Janeiro),長久伴隨着他們的森巴音樂舞蹈藝術在這時展開蛻變。【註:巴西於1960年遷都巴西利亞 (Brasilia)。】
India Map
[圖片1]
巴西地圖
India Map
[圖片2]
森巴環形舞

森巴學校

Arrow
  • 20世紀初,森巴音樂在巴西里約熱內盧成熟發展,變得城市化,成為「城市森巴」(urban samba)。當時的非裔巴西人 (即黑奴的後裔) 聚居在山區貧民窟,他們在這塊藏龍臥虎之地開闢了另類天空。
里約熱內盧的貧民窟
[圖片3]
里約熱內盧的貧民窟

 

  • 他們的森巴舞初時被主流社會視為一種庸俗的舞蹈,但其獨有的表現形式 - 輕快的音樂節奏配合熱情洋溢的舞步,漸漸吸引中產階層注意,並開始得到他們的接納和欣賞。
  • 1920年代後期,在貧民窟中孕育了不少出色的表演者,他們在社區組織多個森巴團體,後統稱為「森巴學校」(escolas de samba)。直到現在,「曼格拉」(Mangueira) 為里約熱內盧最歷史悠久及有名的森巴學校。

[影片1]
曼格拉

「曼格拉」(Mangueira) 是里約熱內盧的一所傳統森巴學校,有近一百年歷史,代表顔色為綠和粉紅。此選段內輯錄了該校敲擊樂隊的排練情況。

[影片2]
綠屋帝國

「綠屋帝國」(Império de Casa Verde) 建立於1994年,是另一所著名森巴學校,位於聖保羅,以白和藍為代表顔色。此選段展示該校敲擊樂隊排練的情況。

城市森巴

Arrow

城市森巴的音樂特色:

  • 旋律:歌頌式,類似流行歌曲。
  • 歌詞:涵蓋不同內容,例如國家情懷、愛情、性別認同、政治觀等。
  • 樂段結構:分段曲式 (strophic form),歌者以對唱呼應的形式 (call-and-response) 來演繹。
  • 節奏:於二拍 (2/4) 的基礎上,重叠建立非洲音樂常用的「多重節奏」(polyrhythms),同時加插不少切分音 (syncopations),產生律動感 (groove)。
  • 和聲:簡單和弦,較注重歌詞和旋律。
  • 語言:通常以葡萄牙語演繹。
  • 傳授方法:傳統上以口傳心授的方式面授,沒有提供樂譜,但有些新作品則以樂譜記錄。

森巴嘉年華

Arrow
  • 1930年代是「城市森巴」發展的黃金時期。「森巴」一詞當時被普及使用,涵蓋着不同的巴西流行音樂風格。
  • 「城市森巴」出現了多個附屬風格,包括一般普羅大眾在酒吧、歌舞廳常接觸到的「森巴歌曲」(samba-canção) 及「森巴梳魯」(samba-choro)。音樂方面,除了常用的結他外,也用不少森巴敲擊樂器 (詳見以下《主要樂器》一欄)。

[影片3]
Ainda Mais

「森巴歌曲」(samba-canção) 是森巴音樂的一個重要附屬風格。選段內,歌手Adriana Moreira與樂隊在聖保羅Dona Tati酒吧表演由著名唱作歌手Paulinho da Viola譜寫的森巴歌曲《Ainda Mais》。
【註:學者於出訪巴西實地考察時的現場拍攝片段。】
  • 「城市森巴」眾多附屬風格中,「主題式森巴」(samba-enredo) 及「嘉年華式森巴」(samba-carnavalesco) 最廣為人知,它們經常於嘉年華中演出。

[影片4]
História Pra Ninar Gente Grande

「主題式森巴」(samba-enredo) 發展於1930年代,是森巴音樂的另一重要附屬風格。選段內的樂曲是「曼格拉」森巴學校在2019年森巴嘉年華的獲獎作品《História Pra Ninar Gente Grande》,屬「主題式森巴」風格,由巴西唱作歌手Moacyr Luz與組合Samba do Trabalhador在里約熱內盧Renascença俱樂部表演。
  • 1934年,當地政府正式把「森巴嘉年華」命名,並列之為年度國家慶典,藉此提倡巴西人對國家身份的認同。 政府更鼓勵演出者設計華麗的服飾、創作歌曲,並以五光十色的花車巡遊匯演方式,在巴西街頭展現。
  • 直到現在,每年二、三月期間,由四旬期前 (Pre-Lent) 的星期五晚開始,至聖灰瞻禮日 (Ash Wednesday) 早上,一連四或五日在里約熱內盧所舉辦的森巴嘉年華慶典乃國際盛事,亦被視為一個狂歡大派對。
  • 許多森巴學校每年都會參與森巴嘉年華,角逐比賽大獎。比賽在音樂表演、編舞、森巴服飾及花車佈置方面評分後選出優勝者。
  • 各參賽的森巴學校均自設主題,並派出數百位森巴表演者 (包括幕後作曲、歌唱者、樂手、舞蹈員及大型敲擊樂團團員) 施展渾身解數,籌備時間往往需要半年至一年。
森巴嘉年華花車奪目耀眼
[圖片4]
森巴嘉年華花車奪目耀眼

 

森巴嘉年華表演者穿上奇裝異服
[圖片5]
森巴嘉年華表演者穿上奇裝異服

 

[影片5]
2020森巴嘉年華

六所森巴學校 (包括São Clemente、Vila Isabel、Salgueiro、Unidos da Tijuca、Mocidade及Beija-Flor) 於選段內先後演出,角逐嘉年華比賽大獎。
  • 森巴音樂不限於大型節慶中出現,不少當代作曲家也把森巴音樂元素融入管弦樂作品中,例如:魏拉-羅伯斯 (Heitor Villa-Lobos) 於1926年所寫的作品《第十肖羅舞曲》(Chôros No. 10) 及阿吉亞爾 (Ernani Aguiar) 於2002年創作的《第二小交響曲:狂歡節》(Sinfonietta Seconda: 'Carnevale')。

主要樂器

Arrow

根據霍恩博斯特爾和薩克斯 (Erich Moritz von Hornbostel and Curt Sachs) 的樂器分類法,森巴嘉年華敲擊樂團的樂器主要分為三大類別:

(一) 膜鳴樂器 (membranophone):透過繃緊的膜振動發音。
(二) 體鳴樂器 (idiophone):透過樂器本身互相敲擊、碰撞、用手搖動或用小棒在堅硬的平面上刮動而發音。
(三) 氣鳴樂器 (aerophone):透過空氣振動而發音。

(一) 膜鳴樂器

Surdo
[圖片6]
低音大鼓 

低音大鼓 (surdo)

  • 葡萄牙語「surdo」字面直譯是「聾」的意思,即是樂手務求打出震耳欲聾的巨響。
  • 它分別有三種不同的尺寸,負責維持整個樂團的音樂速度及拍子的準確度。
  • 它也是二拍基礎拍子的主要樂器。

Repinique
[圖片7]
中音鼓

中音鼓 (repinique)

  • 源於非洲。
  • 它主要為樂曲開始及結束時的主導樂器,帶領樂團一起演齊奏。
  • 它有時候也會在段落中作即興演奏。

Tarol
[圖片8]
小軍鼓/響弦鼓

小軍鼓/響弦鼓 (tarol)

  • 因有鐵線在鼓面上,用一對鼓棒來敲打時會產生震動的「嘶嘶」聲。
  • 它除了負責基本拍子外,在樂句或樂段內也會加入重拍 (accents) 和顫音 (tremolo)。
Pandeíro
[圖片9]
巴西鈴鼓 

巴西鈴鼓 (pandeíro)

  • 源於歐洲。
  • 鼓面直徑約八至十二寸,小鐵片依附在整條鼓邊。
  • 透過不同手指及指頭力度、不同手掌的部位來敲打鼓邊或鼓面,從而產生不同音色。
Tamborím
[圖片10]
巴西框鼓 

巴西框鼓 (tamborím)

  • 源於非洲及葡萄牙,鼓面直徑約六寸。
  • 跟巴西鈴鼓最大的分別是它沒有小鐵片依附在鼓邊,樂手利用小鼓棒來敲打鼓面。
  • 它主要負責切分音的節奏。
Cuíca
[圖片11]
魁卡鼓 

魁卡鼓 (cuíca)

  • 它是一種仿聲鼓,森巴樂團裡最具特色的樂器。
  • 外型跟一般的鼓沒有大分別,只是其中一邊鼓面密封,鼓皮中央繫上一根棒子。
  • 樂手演出時,拿着一塊小布伸進鼓裡,跟該根棒子不斷磨擦,從而產生特別聲效。

(二) 體鳴樂器
Agogô
[圖片12]
牛鈴 

牛鈴 (agogô)

  • 源於非洲。
  • 由高、低鈴組成。
  • 樂手用小鼓棒敲打鈴而發出聲響。
Rêco-rêco
[圖片13]
刮胡/刮簧

刮胡/刮簧 

  • 源於非洲。
  • 由竹 (刮胡) 或鐵 (刮簧) 製成。
  • 透過小棒刮樂器的凹陷面而產生特別聲效。
Ganzá
[圖片14]
肖卡略

肖卡略 (chocalho)

  • 源於非洲。
  • 它是用木或鐵所造成的手搖樂器,並分別以兩排或三排的小鐵片串組合而成。
  • 前後搖動樂器便可產生不同的重拍和強弱節奏。

(三) 氣鳴樂器
Apito
[圖片15]
哨子

哨子 (apito)

  • 它像一個敲擊樂團的指揮,當哨子一響時,樂手與舞者便轉換拍子或舞步。
  • 在戶外舉行嘉年華會時,現場氣氛及樂器聲響巨大,哨子的指令聲尤其重要。

森巴音樂發展概覽

Arrow

森巴於巴西的不同地區、城市發展出不同的附屬風格,在近年全球化影響下,更出現了混合風格 (hybrid genres)。森巴音樂在19至21世紀的重要發展概括如下:

 

時期 重要發展
19世紀末 隨着1888年奴隸制度廢除後,大量黑奴由巴伊亞州遷徙到里約熱內盧,森巴隨之開始演變。
20世紀初 森巴在里約熱內盧山區貧民窟孕育出來後,被稱為「城市森巴」(urban samba)。
1920年代 城市森巴開始定型,並發展出其他變種曲式,例如「貧民窟森巴」(samba de morro)。
1928年 森巴學校成立,並開始在嘉年華比賽中以花車巡遊方式表演。
1930年代 城市森巴的黃金時期,當時出現多個附屬風格,包括「主題式森巴」 (samba-enredo)、「嘉年華式森巴」(samba-carnavalesco) 及「森巴歌曲」(samba-canção)。
1934年 巴西政府把大型表演「森巴嘉年華」列為國家年度盛事,森巴學校成為政府合法註冊組織。
1950年代末 「巴薩諾瓦」(bossa nova) 在里約熱內盧出現,為城市森巴帶來革新。它結合了森巴、切分音結他伴奏、柔和歌唱風格,以及古典與酷派爵士和弦的元素。其中,「巴薩諾瓦之父」裘賓 (Antônio Carlos Jobim) 的《伊帕內瑪的女孩》(The Girl from Ipanema) 被視為最經典作品之一。
1960年代初 「森巴爵士」(samba jazz) 出現。
1960至80年代 「後花園」式輕鬆音樂「派對森巴」(pagode samba) 出現,90年起變得商業化。
1980年代 「森巴雷鬼」(samba reggae) 在城市薩爾瓦多 (Salvador) 出現及發展。
1990年代 「森巴蘭素」(sambalanço) 出現,加入了流行音樂元素。
2005年 「森巴環形舞」(samba de roda) 被列入聯合國教科文組織「人類口述和非物質遺產代表作」(即現時《人類非物質文化遺產代表作名錄》),成為世界級非遺項目。
21世紀至今 森巴全球化及商品化;出現了新興的音樂類型,包括「巴薩放克森巴」(bossa-funk-samba)、「黑人節拍森巴」(Afrosambabeat) 等等。

[影片6]
Berimbau

「森巴爵士」(samba jazz) 是森巴音樂的附屬風格之一,出現於1960年代初。選段內,結他手Zé Paulo Becker與組合Semente Choro Jazz在里約熱內盧Dumont Arte酒吧表演森巴爵士音樂《Berimbau》,樂曲由爵士結他手Baden Powel創作。Berimbau (貝林保琴) 是源於安哥拉的單弦敲擊樂器,常用於森巴音樂中。

結語

Arrow
  • 對於巴西人來說,森巴音樂蘊含國民身份意識;對於非裔巴西人,它更代表了非洲血統、混血兒、貧窮一族的身份確定及認同,但同時亦顯示低下階層被邊緣化的問題。總括來說,森巴音樂由從前的邊緣音樂演變成現在的國家象徵。
  • 森巴嘉年華暢旺了巴西的旅遊業,成為推動本土經濟的重要策略;森巴嘉年華也與世界接軌,在世界各地都有它的蹤影,亞洲區的日本淺草和台灣都曾舉辦大型的森巴嘉年華。每年在本港舉辦的「新春花車巡遊」,來自巴西的森巴學校亦不時為表演嘉賓之一。
  • 隨着森巴嘉年華在不同地域發展,森巴音樂除了成為大眾認識的娛樂活動外,森巴音樂人在創作中也嘗試融合不同元素和風格,炮製別出心裁的音樂,相信會為世界音樂文化繼續帶來新方向和啟迪。
image 16
[圖片16]
日本淺草森巴嘉年華
image 17
[圖片17]
香港新春花車巡遊森巴表演

圖片及影片附加資料