Upcoming Events

Home>   Music Activities  >   Upcoming Events  >   2022 Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra Annual Concert ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’

2022 Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra Annual Concert ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’

Untitled Document

A Step-by-Step Music Journey with Strings of Picturesque Stories 

 

2 January 2022 (Sun) 3pm
Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall

 

The Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra (HKYSO) will perform under the batons of Music Office instructors Dr. Joseph Kam and Tsang Yin-yu at 3pm on 2 January 2022 in Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall. Together with the Hong Kong Youth Strings, HKYSO will reconstruct the imaginary trajectory of the Russian composer Modest Mussorgsky’s kaleidoscopic Pictures at an Exhibition by a variety of string performing techniques; Music Office instructors Yeung Kin-man (Violin) and Lau Kwan-nok (Viola) will share the stage with HKYSO to perform Mozart’s graceful and elegant 1st movement from Sinfonia Concertante, K. 364. HKYSO will also lead the Music Office Junior Symphony Orchestra to turn new pages for music lovers at the beginning of the year with strings of illustrious classical melodies.

 

Other Performing Groups
Music Office Junior Symphony Orchestra
Hong Kong Youth Strings

 

 

Conductors
Dr. Joseph Kam
Tsang Yin-yu
Soloists
Yeung Kin-man (Violin)
Lau Kwan-nok (Viola)

 

Sponsored by
Parsons Music Foundation

House Programme
(Coming Soon)

$95 $75 $55

 

Tickets are available at URBTIX from 2 December
Half-price tickets are available for full-time students, senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and the minder, Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients

 

Enquiries
Ticketing Enquiries: 3761 6661
Credit Card Telephone Booking: 2111 5999
Internet Booking: www.urbtix.hk
Programme Enquiries: 2796 1003/ 3842 7784

Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra (Strings) and
Music Office Junior Symphony Orchestra (Strings and Percussion)
Overture to Idomeneo Wolfgang Amaedus Mozart/ arr. McCashin
Finale from Symphony No. 5 (Themes from the Fourth Movement) Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky/ arr. Holmes
Conductor: TSANG Yin-yu
Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra
Sinfonia Concertante, K. 364 Wolfgang Amaedus Mozart
I Allegro maestoso
 
Violin: YEUNG Kin-man
Viola: LAU Kwan-nok
Conductor: Dr. Joseph KAM
~Intermission ~
Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra (Strings) and Hong Kong Youth Strings
Pictures at an Exhibition (arranged for strings) Modest Mussorgsky/ arr. Cohen
Conductor: Dr. Joseph KAM

Programme and artists subject to change without prior notice

Dr. Joseph Kam
Dr. Joseph Kam, a violist, violinist and orchestral conductor, graduated from the University of Michigan, where he obtained his Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees. He received several awards and scholarships from the University, including Graduate Merit Award, Humanities Award, Rackham Block Fellowship and School of Music Tuition Grant. During his tenure in the University, he was appointed as the Graduate Student Instructor for teaching viola performance. He was also appointed as a viola faculty in the Interlochen Music Festival (Michigan, USA).

As an active conductor, Dr. Kam launched his conducting career since his debut with Metropolitan Youth Orchestra in 2005. He has been the conductor of Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra (HKYSO) since 2007, and under his baton, HKYSO collaborated with world renowned pianist Lang Lang at a UNICEF fundraising concert in 2010. He led the HKYSO to perform in Shanghai Expo in the same year, and conducted a joint concert of HKYSO and Ural Youth Symphony Orchestra in 2015 International Music Festival EURASIA in Yekaterinburg, Russia with high acclaims. He conducted the Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinu in Czech Republic in summers from 2013 to 2015. In 2017, he made his debut in the Adelphi University Auditorium in Long Island, New York State, and conducted the Adelphi Symphony Orchestra. In 2017, Dr. Kam led the Hong Kong Youth Strings to participate in the 8th International Youth Music Festival in Bratislava, Slovakia with a huge success. He was awarded a special prize for winning the Best Orchestral Conductor.

Dr. Kam is currently Senior Music Officer of the String Section of the Music Office, and a violin and viola faculty of the Music Department in the Chinese University of Hong Kong.
Dr. Joseph Kam
   
Tsang Yin-yu
Tsang Yin-yu is a violinist and orchestral conductor. Under the supervision of Lo Chu-tung, she obtained her Diploma in Performing Arts (Music) and Bachelor of Music with Honours in the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.

Tsang started her career as a conductor in 2009. Since 2015, she has been an active participant of conducting workshops and festivals organised by institutes including the International Conducting Institute and the New York Conducting Institute, and engaged in a number of conducting activities such as the International Masterclass Berlin and the International Conducting Workshop and Festival. She was trained by renowned maestros including Kirk Trevor, Donald Schleicher, Paul Nadler, and Professor Johannes Wildner.

She made her debut with the Berlin Sinfonietta in 2018 at St. Lukas-Kirche der Berliner Stadtmission, and guest conducted the Advanced String Orchestra of the Preparatory Center for the Performing Arts of Brooklyn College in the same year. During her tenure as a conductor of Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra (HKYSO) from 2017 to 2019, she led the Orchestra to perform at the Australian National Maritime Museum in Sydney at the Australian International Music Festival in 2019.

Tsang is currently Music Officer of the String Section of the Music Office, a conductor of the Music Office Junior Symphony Orchestra and the manager of HKYSO.

Tsang Yin-yu
Yeung Kin-man (Violin)
Yeung Kin-man began his violin studies under Ayako Ichimaru at the age of 8. He attained DipABRSM and continued his study under the tutelage of Albert Cheng Yue and Ivan Chan at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. He obtained Diploma in Performing Arts (Music) and Bachelor of Music, and was a recipient of the Hong Kong Vienna Opera Ball Scholarship, the First Initiative Foundation/Yam Pak Charitable Foundation Scholarship, and the HSBC HKAPA Mainland China Study Programme Scholarship.

Yeung was a freelance tutti player in the Hong Kong Sinfonietta between 2015 and 2019. He also performed with music groups including the City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong, Hong Kong New Music Ensemble, Handel Collegium (Tokyo), and the local Baroque orchestra Cammer Musicus. He was the concertmaster and a soloist of the Hong Kong Chordophonia, a music group founded by local young talent.

As the violinist of the Doyle Piano Trio, Yeung joined the trio’s debut in 2020 at the Hong Kong City Hall, playing Joaquín Turina’s Circulos and piano trios by Beethoven and Schumann. The group gave a piano trio concert with choreography at the French May Arts Festival in 2021, performing Fauré’s Piano Trio and Vask’s Plainscape.

Yeung was the former concertmaster of the Hong Kong Youth Strings and the Island Youth Strings of the Music Office. He is currently a violin instructor and conductor of the New Territories Youth Strings of the Music Office.
Dr. Joseph Kam
   
LAU Kwan-nok (Viola)
Born and raised in Hong Kong, Louie Lau Kwan-nok has been an active orchestral player both at home and in the United States for more than nine years. He obtained his Master’s degree in viola performance at the Boston Conservatory at Berklee in 2018 under the guidance of Professor Lila Brown.

While pursuing his study in Boston, Lau was awarded full scholarship for the professional fellowship programme by the Hawaii Performing Arts Festival in 2017. He also performed at the Grafenegg Festival in the following year in Austria under the baton of Maestro Leon Botstein. He remained an active and diverse musician in the Boston area after graduation. Previous engagements include a joint conference performance, contemporary compositions recitals, a middle-east music charitable concert, and collaboration with Chinese singer Tia Ray. After returning to Hong Kong in 2019, he collaborated with local music groups including the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble, Gustav Mahler Orchestra, and Pan Asia Orchestra.

Apart from being a performer, Lau is also an avid music educator. Enrolled by the Berklee College of Music to its teaching fellowship programme for 2018-19, he joined the El Sistema-inspired Josiah Quincy Orchestra Programme as a teaching artist.

Lau is currently a viola instructor and conductor of the Kowloon Youth Strings of the Music Office.
LAU Kwan-nok (Viola)

最新活动

Home>   音乐活动  >   > 最新活动 2022香港青年交响乐团周年音乐会「图画展览会」

2022香港青年交响乐团周年音乐会「图画展览会」

Untitled Document

一步一画一故事.「弦」犹在耳

 

1月2日(星期日)下午3时
香港文化中心音乐厅

 

香港青年交响乐团在音乐事务处导师甘浩鹏博士及曾燕瑜的带领下于2022年1月2日下午3时在香港文化中心音乐厅演出。乐团将联同香港青年弦乐团以变化多端的弦乐演奏技巧重塑俄国作曲家穆索斯基《图画展览会》充满绚丽色彩的声色历程;音乐事务处导师杨健文(小提琴)和刘坤诺(中提琴)亦会与乐团演绎优雅流畅的《降E大调交响协奏曲,K. 364》第一乐章;音乐事务处少年交响乐团并与乐团擕手演绎脍炙人口的古典旋律,为一众乐迷于新的一年展开新页。

 

其他演出乐团
音乐事务处少年交响乐团
香港青年弦乐团

 

 

指挥
甘浩鹏博士
曾燕瑜
独奏
杨健文 (小提琴)
刘坤诺 (中提琴)

 

贊助
Parsons Music Foundation

音乐会场刊
(即将推出)

$95 $75 $55

 

12月2日起于城市售票网发售
全日制学生、六十岁或以上高龄人士、残疾人士及看护人、综合社会保障援助受惠人士可获半价优惠。

 

查询
票务查询: 3761 6661
信用卡电话购票: 2111 5999
网上订票: http://www.urbtix.hk
节目查询: 2796 1003/ 3842 7784

香港青年交响乐团(弦乐)及音乐事务处少年交响乐团(弦乐及敲击)
《伊多美尼奥》序曲 莫扎特/ 麦卡辛
终曲,选自《第五交响曲》(主题选自第四乐章) 柴可夫斯基/ 贺姆斯
指挥: 曾燕瑜
香港青年交响乐团
降E大调交响协奏曲,K. 364 莫扎特
I 庄严的快板
 
小提琴: 杨健文
中提琴: 刘坤诺
指挥: 甘浩鹏博士
~中场休息~
香港青年交响乐团(弦乐) 及 香港青年弦乐团
图画展览会 (为弦乐团而编) 穆索斯基/ 高安
指挥: 甘浩鹏博士

节目及表演者如有更改,恕不另行通知

甘浩鹏博士
甘浩鹏博士身兼中提琴手、小提琴手及指挥,毕业于美国密歇根大学音乐学院,并先后在该校取得音乐硕士及音乐艺术博士学位。甘氏在学期间获奖无数,包括密歇根大学研究院优异奖、人文成就奖、拉克哈姆研究生奖学金及音乐学院学费补助金。甘氏在密歇根大学进修期间,获委任为研究生导师,负责教授中提琴演奏。他亦获美国密歇根因特洛肯音乐节主办单位委任为中提琴导师。

甘氏经常担任指挥,从2005年首次担任香港青少年管弦乐团指挥起,开展其指挥生涯。自2007年起担任香港青年交响乐团指挥,并于2010年联同乐团首度与国际着名钢琴家郎朗合作,于联合国儿童基金会慈善演奏会中演出。2010年带领乐团于上海世博演出,亦于2015年俄罗斯叶卡捷琳堡举行的国际欧亚音乐节中,担任香港青年交响乐团和乌拉尔青年交响乐团的联合演出指挥,大获好评。2013至2015年暑假期间曾指挥捷克博胡斯拉夫‧马尔蒂努管弦乐团。2015年首次于纽约州长岛艾德菲大学演奏厅演出,指挥艾德菲交响乐团。2017年带领香港青年弦乐团远赴斯洛伐克参加第8届布拉迪斯拉发国际青年音乐节,荣获「最优秀乐团指挥特别奖」,成绩斐然。

甘浩鹏博士现为音乐事务处弦乐组高级音乐主任,并为香港中文大学音乐系小提琴及中提琴导师。
甘浩鹏博士
   
曾燕瑜
曾燕瑜是小提琴手亦是乐团指挥。就读香港演艺学院期间师从卢柱东,获颁授演艺文凭(音乐)及音乐学士(荣誉)学位。

曾氏从2009年开始专注于指挥事业,2015年起经常参加工作坊和音乐节,主办机构包括国际指挥学院及纽约指挥学院,参与的活动包括柏林国际大师班及国际指挥工作坊暨音乐节,先后获特雷弗、施莱莎、纳德勒、怀德纳教授等名师指导。

2018年,曾氏首度指挥柏林小交响乐团,在柏林城市使命教会圣路加堂演出,同年应邀担任布鲁克林学院演艺培训中心高级弦乐团客席指挥。2017至2019年间担任香港青年交响乐团指挥,2019年率团前往悉尼参加澳洲国际音乐节,在澳洲国家海事博物馆演出。

曾燕瑜现为音乐事务处音乐主任(弦乐),兼任音乐事务处少年交响乐团指挥及香港青年交响乐团的乐团经理。
曾燕瑜
杨健文 (小提琴)
杨健文八岁起学习小提琴,师从一丸绫子,及后考获英国皇家音乐学院文凭,入读香港演艺学院,随郑裕及陈浩堂继续学习小提琴,取得演艺文凭(音乐)及音乐学士学位,获颁香港维也纳歌剧院舞会奖学金、领贤慈善基金/任白慈善基金奖学金及滙丰香港演艺学院内地学习计划奖学金。

2015至2019年间,杨氏在香港小交响乐团担任自由乐手,亦曾与香港城市室乐团、香港创乐团、东京的韩德尔古乐团,以及香港的巴洛克乐团Cammer Musicus同台演出,此外亦为本地青年乐手创办的香港弦人担任乐团首席及独奏。

杨氏也是蠹鱼钢琴三重奏的小提琴手,该组合于2020年在大会堂首次演出,演奏图里纳的《循环》,以及贝多芬和舒曼的钢琴三重奏作品,2021年则在法国五月艺术节一场糅合音乐和舞蹈的演奏会中演出,演奏佛瑞的《钢琴三重奏》及瓦斯克斯的《平原景观》。

杨健文曾担任音乐事务处香港青年弦乐团及港岛青年弦乐团的乐团首席,现为该处小提琴导师兼新界青年弦乐团指挥。
杨健文 (小提琴)
   
刘坤诺 (中提琴)
刘坤诺是香港土生土长的管弦乐团乐师,活跃于香港和美国,拥有九年以上的舞台经验。2018年获波士顿伯克利音乐学院中提琴演奏硕士学位,师从布朗教授。

2017年,刘氏在留学期间参加夏威夷表演艺术节专业研究生计划,获全额奖学金。翌年前往奥地利参加格拉费内格音乐节,与着名指挥家波特斯坦合作 。毕业后继续积极参与波士顿地区不同类型的音乐活动 ,包括联席会议演出、当代作品演奏会、中东音乐慈善音乐会,并曾与内地歌手袁娅维合作表演。2019年回港后亦曾与香港创乐团、马勒乐团、泛亚交响乐团等合作演出。

除演奏外,刘氏亦热衷于教学。另外,刘氏入选伯克利音乐学院2018-19年度教学研究生奖学金计划,担任约西亚 ‧昆西乐团计划的艺术家导师,为弱势儿童提供音乐教育。

刘坤诺现为音乐事务处中提琴导师兼九龙青年弦乐团指挥。
刘坤诺