Stop
Play
Extend

Foreward

Between the Light and Shadow in Architecture

When considering the aesthetics of montage, Eisenstein believed that film and architecture, both being artistic expressions that value structure, are the closest: films are composed of shots, whereas buildings are constructed with bricks.

When you watch a movie, you first encounter the characters and the story. Simultaneously, you experience the time and space through the surroundings; architecture is an integral part of cinematography that one cannot ignore. Architectural entity can be individual or collective, it can exist independently, extend into the landscape of the community, or even reach the skyline of a city. The significance of architecture lies in its ability to reflect religious, racial and class identities, visions of an ideal life, as well as the relationship between human beings and nature.

"Architecture films" can be understood as films that consciously present architecture as an indispensable element. Be it a documentary that surveys the history and culture of architecture, a feature film inspired by architectural anecdotes, or a new form of work that is based on aesthetics, architecture films give rise to an enhanced aesthetic experience by combining two types of art. With the help of composition, cinematography and narratives, threedimensional structures come to life through the two-dimensional format of a film.

Hong Kong Architekture Film Festival (HKAFF) is most likely the first architecture film festival in Asia. Within the framework of "Architecture X Film", HKAFF has selected five new and old feature films and four documentaries of various lengths, among which include classics and novel works. Exploring architecture through films, and enjoying films through architectural aesthetics: this festival aims to enhance the visual sensitivity of the audience, and to encourage local productions to put more emphasis on their depiction of architecture.

Hong Kong films have always been documenting the growth of our city. In the 1980s and 1990s, films frequently featured local elements such as floor-to-ceiling glass, views from rooftops overlooking the city, as well as tong lau and public housing estates. Driven by the awareness of identity in post-millennial independent films, the uniqueness of community became an important consideration in the development of plots. In recent years, Hong Kong films have entered a challenging period. With the reemergence of eclecticism, the depiction of urban landscape has become obscure. Perhaps now is the time to regain our city's recognition, to raise architectural sensibilities, and to polish Hong Kong films. I sincerely hope that HKAFF can contribute to this vision.

Programme Curator
Bryan Chang

Board Member,
Film Culture Centre (Hong Kong)

Please click here to view the promotional trailer

暂停
播放
延伸

前言

建筑景物 光影触及

爱森斯坦思考蒙太奇美学时,认为电影与建筑最亲近,两者皆是重视结构的艺术形式;电影由镜头组成,建筑则以砖头建成。

看电影时你先看见人物、故事,同时你看见景物,感觉着时间空间,在那里,不能忽略建筑的角色。建筑的视觉或是个性化或是集体性、独立或延伸演成小区地貌,及至城市天界线,它存在的意义,触及宗族和阶级的身份认同、理想生活的憧憬,以及人与自然环境的关系投射。

所谓「建筑电影」,是建筑自觉存在于电影中,两种艺术互掺,必然有更超越的展现。不独是考察建筑历史文化的纪录片,也有启发自建筑人事的故事片,以及从美学出发的新形式作品,总之,是看见建筑之美:无论是一个画面构图、一个穿越空间的手摇镜、一次人在景物的叙述,三维光影在二维本质的电影里活现过来。

这极可能是亚洲第一个建筑电影节。因「建筑X电影」之名,香港建筑电影节选来五出新旧剧情片,四出长短不一的纪录片,有公认经典也有新颖作品,以电影发掘建筑,也从建筑美学欣赏电影,期盼提升观众的触觉,亦希望鼓励本地创作,加强对建筑美态的描写。

香港电影从来没有停步去记录这个城市的成长,自上世纪八、九十年代,落地玻璃俯瞰及天台远眺是港产片的独特景观,唐楼及屋邨生活经常性捕捉,千禧后在独立电影探讨身份意识带动下,小区特性成为故事脉络发展一个重要考虑。近年,香港电影亦进入身份困顿期,折衷主义再度抬头,城市景观不时被模糊想象,此刻,或许是好时机:重拾城市自重,加注建筑自觉,好好去打磨香港电影。仅此希望香港建筑电影节能够为这个愿景出一分力。

节目策划
张伟雄
电影文化中心(香港)董事
 

按此查阅宣传短片