Skip To Content
 
 

Perseid Meteor Shower 2021

The Perseid meteor shower is one of the meteor showers that boasts the best condition for observation this year, and the estimated peak would be at around 3 to 6 am on August 13. It is estimated that the zenithal hourly rate (ZHR) of the meteor shower can reach 100 during the peak period. The neglectable influence of the moonlight also provides an excellent observation condition. However, due to other factors such as light pollution from the city, observers in remote areas of Hong Kong might only see 20-30 meteors during the peak even in fine weather.

Radiant of Perseid meteor shower
In mid-August, the radiant of the Perseid meteor shower will rise in the northeast at about 10 pm. More meteors should be seen when the radiant is higher above the horizon. The best observation time would be at around 4 to 5 am on 13 August. It is recommended to observe the meteor shower from 10 pm on 12 August until the dawn of 13 August.

The parent body of the Perseid meteor shower is a comet called 109P/Swift–Tuttle. When it travels through the Solar System, a large amount of debris is left. When the Earth passes through these debris in space as it orbits around the Sun, a large amount of debris falls into the Earth's atmosphere, forming a meteor shower. Since these debris are from the same origin, all meteors emanate from the same point called the radiant. When the radiant of the meteor shower is in the constellation Perseus, we call this meteor shower as the Perseid meteor shower.

Information about the peak of Perseid meteor shower 2021:

Date and time Zenithal Hourly Rate*
3am to 6am, 13August 100

* The zenithal hourly rate (ZHR) is the extrapolation hourly rate of meteors observable in an extremely dark and wide sky with the radiant located at the zenith. As some meteor showers have very short peak periods, observers sometimes extrapolate the number of meteors observed in ten and a few minutes to an hourly number in proportion. Therefore, the zenithal hourly rate cannot be regarded as the actual number of meteors visible in one hour. Yet, it can be used as a meaningful comparison between the activity of different meteor showers. Some meteor showers can be as inactive as having single digit zenithal hourly rates. There are "three major meteor showers" (Quadrantid meteor shower, Perseid meteor shower, and Geminid meteor shower), which have the ZHRs reaching 100 or even higher values, and hence worth watching.

(Source: International Meteor Organisation)
 

Best local observation time Expected maximum number of meteors within one hour
4 am - 5 am, 13 August City outskirts1 Nearby countryside2 Remote area3
3 8 19

1Region where stars brighter than magnitude 3 are visible (about 100 stars) and with an unobstructed view of about 60% of the entire sky.
2Region where stars brighter than magnitude 4 are visible (about 300 stars) and with an unobstructed view of about 70% of the entire sky.
3Region where stars brighter than magnitude 5 are visible (about 1,000 stars) and with an unobstructed view of about 80% of the entire sky.
For information about star magnitude, please check the online education resources of the Space Museum.

Perseid meteor shower online streaming

The Hong Kong Space Museum will livecast the Perseid meteor shower from 10 pm on 12 August to 12 am on 13 August through its YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/hkspacem

Here are some tips for watching the Perseid meteor shower:

  1. There are still a certain number of meteors around the peak period. 1-2 days before and after the peak period is also suitable for observation as long as the weather is fine.
  2. Meteors do not necessarily appear near the radiant, and most of the meteors are dim. Observers should choose a site with a large unobstructed view and low light pollution. Staying away from other light sources can help your pupils dilate and increase their sensitivity to light.
  3. Basically, a telescope is not required as meteors are better observed by naked eyes. You may bring along with you a star-map, a red torch, a deck chair and a sleeping bag or blanket. Please observe stargazing manner and refrain from using excessive light as this will affect other stargazers.
  4. To photograph meteors, a camera with long-exposure function and a wider angle lens are essential. After focusing on starlight, point the camera to the zenith or the darkest area on the sky and set an appropriate aperture and ISO value (such as F2.8 or lower, ISO 800 or higher, depending on the design of the lens and camera, as well as the nearby environment). Then select the time of exposure based on whether a star tracker is used. In general, a longer exposure gives you a higher chance of capturing unexpected meteors. For long exposure you may consider stepping down the aperture to say, F4 or F8 and ISO value to 400 for better image quality. The star image distortion due to camera shaking can be solved by using a remote control or the self-timer function on the camera.

跳至主要內容
 
 

2021年英仙座流星雨

英仙座流星雨是今年最值得欣賞的流星雨之一,其高峰期預計位於8月13日凌晨3時至6時。預測在高峰期間,流星雨的天頂每小時出現率可達到100,加上不受月光影響,觀測條件極佳。然而,受制於其他因素包括光污染等,即使在良好的天氣情況下,在本港偏遠地區的觀測人士於高峰期間每小時最多可能看到大約20-30顆流星。

英仙座流星雨輻射點
在8月中,英仙座流星雨的輻射點會在晚上10時從東北方升起,隨著輻射點位置升高,流星的數量亦會隨之增加,觀測人士可把握8月12日晚上10時至8月13日黎明前觀測,而最佳觀賞時間為8月13日凌晨4時至5時。

英仙座流星雨的流星來自其母體彗星109P/斯威夫特-塔特爾。彗星在太陽系穿梭時會留下大量碎片,當地球在太空中經過碎片群時,大量碎片一同落入地球的大氣層,形成流星雨。由於這些碎片源頭相同,所有流星都會從同一位置輻射而出,我們稱該位置為輻射點,而當輻射點位於英仙座時,我們就將這流星雨稱為英仙座流星雨。

2021英仙座流星雨的高峰期資料如下:

日期及時間 天頂每小時出現率*
8月13日凌晨3時至6時 100

*天頂每小時出現率是假設一名觀測者在極黑及毫無遮擋的天空下,並當輻射點位於天頂位置時,所能見到流星數目的一小時外推數。由於部份流星雨的高峰期十分短,觀測者有時會將十數分鐘所觀測到的流星數量按百分比外推成一小時的流星數。因此,天頂每小時出現率的數值並不能視作一小時內實際可見的流星數,但卻可以有意義地比較不同流星雨之間的「雨量」。部份流星雨的天頂每小時出現率只有個位數字,而每年都會有「三大流星雨」(象限儀座流星雨、英仙座流星雨及雙子座流星雨)可達至接近100以至更高的數值,故才特別值得欣賞。

(資料來源:國際流星組織)
 

本地最佳觀賞時間 預期一小時內最大流星數
8月13日
凌晨4時至5時
市區邊緣1 鄰近郊區2 偏遠地區3
3 8 19

1肉眼可見三等或以下的恆星(約100顆星),全天視野達百分之六十的地區。
2肉眼可見四等或以下的恆星(約300顆星),全天視野達百分之七十的地區。
3肉眼可見五等或以下的恆星(約1,000顆星),全天視野達百分之八十的地區。
有關視星等的資訊,可瀏覽太空館的網上教育資源

英仙座流星雨直播
香港太空館會於8月12日晚上10時至12時期間於網上直播是次英仙座流星雨,歡迎屆時於太空館的YouTube頻道收看:
https://www.youtube.com/hkspacem

要觀賞英仙座流星雨,不妨參考以下的建議:

  1. 在高峰期前後仍有一定的流星數量,只要天氣情況理想,高峰期前後1至2天亦適合觀測。
  2. 流星不一定出現在輻射點附近,而且大多數流星並不明亮,觀測人士應選擇天空視野廣闊及光污染程度低的地點觀測。觀測時應盡量避開其他光源,讓眼球瞳孔有機會擴張,增強對光線的敏感度。
  3. 流星只需用肉眼觀看即可,無需借助望遠鏡。觀測時可帶備星圖、紅光電筒、地蓆或摺椅,並注意觀星禮儀,切勿在觀星地點胡亂照明,以免影響其他觀星人士。
  4. 如要拍攝流星,需配備有長時間曝光功能的相機及較廣角的鏡頭。利用星點作對焦後,對準天頂或天空中最為黑暗的區域,將光圈及感光度調至合適數值(例如F2.8或以下,ISO 800或以上,需視乎器材的設計及現場的環境而定),並視乎有否使用追星裝置,選擇合適的曝光時間。一般而言,曝光時間愈長則愈有機會拍攝到突如其來的流星。如打算長時間曝光,可考慮收細光圈(例如F4/F8)或感光度(例如ISO 400),以提升照片質素。善用遙控或延遲拍攝功能,更可避免因相機晃動而令星點影像變形。