Web Content Display Web Content Display

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Photo Courtesy NASA

In addition to some large celestial bodies such as planets, dwarf planets, moons, asteroids and comets, our solar system also contains countless meteoroids and dust. When these small bodies enter the Earth's atmosphere at high speed, visible light will be emitted by air molecules being heated, forming what we called a meteor or shooting star. There are many meteoroids falling towards the Earth every day but most of them are too dim to be seen. We can only observe them in a dark area.

Since modern technology is still not capable of detecting meteoroids, meteor observation is almost a random attempt. Meteors often appear as sporadic lonely streaks that traverse somewhat random paths in the sky. However, there are some certain dates throughout the year where meteors appear more frequently and regularly. We call this repeatable meteor phenomenon as a "meteor shower".

When the Earth meets the meteoroids left behind by a comet (some meteor showers have a parent of other celestial bodies but not comet) in the solar system, a meteor shower occurs. Comets are mostly composed of ice. They travel in the solar system periodically at very high speed. As they approach the Sun, the thermal radiation of the Sun peels off their surface materials, leaving a tremendous amount of meteoroids in their orbits. Therefore, multiple meteor streams are formed across the solar system. When the Earth encounters one of these streams, thousands of the meteoroids dash into the Earth's atmosphere, causing a meteor shower. Since the meteoroids share almost the same orbit with their parent comets, when they enter the Earth as meteors, they will originate from a certain point in the sky known as the "radiant". A meteor shower has a unique parent comet (but some comets can cause two meteor showers). It is named according to the constellation where the radiant of the meteor shower is located. For example, when the radiant sits at the constellation Perseus, we call the corresponding meteor shower event as the Perseid meteor shower.

The number of meteors of a meteor shower event is related to the number of meteoroids left by its parent comet. Meteoroids can be refilled when a comet is returned every time, but since comets have different lifespans, and the meteor stream can be perturbed by the gravitational force of the planets (especially Jupiter), it is difficult to predict how a meteor stream will behave when the Earth  comes across it. Thankfully, after years of observation, astronomers are able to understand the characteristics of the major streams, thereby making reasonable predictions. For instance, there were several Leonid meteor showers known in the history that happened to be separated by 33 years, such as November 1833, November 1966 and November 1998 (including 1999 and 2001 too). This is due to the fact that its parent comet 55P/Tempel-Tuttle has an orbital period of 33 years. Therefore, it is anticipated that the next large-scale Leonid meteor shower will occur again near 2032, but the number of meteors in other years will be minimal.

 

The term zenithal hourly rate (ZHR) is used by astronomers to describe the activity of a meteor shower. It is the extrapolated hourly rate of meteors observable in an extremely dark and wide sky with the radiant located at the zenith. As the peaks of some meteor showers are very short, observers sometimes extrapolate the number of meteors observed in ten and a few minutes to an hourly number proportionally. Therefore, the zenithal hourly rate cannot be regarded as the actual number of meteors visible in an hour. Yet, it can be used as a meaningful comparison between the activities of different meteor showers. For example, there are three major meteor showers every year, namely the Quadrantid meteor shower, the Perseid meteor shower and the Gemini meteor shower, which have the maximum ZHRs reaching 100 or even higher. Meanwhile, the maximum ZHRs of some weak meteor showers can be as low as some single digits.

Shower Activity
(D/M-D/M)
Peak
(HKT-D/M)
Zenith Hour Rate
(ZHR)
Suggested Observation Period Local Observation Condition*
Quadrantids 28/12 - 12/1 4/1, 04:40 120 4/1, 01:00 – 06:00 Excellent
Lyrids 14/4 - 30/4 23/4, 03:00 18 22/4, 21:30 – 23/4, 01:00 Fair
η-Aquariids 19/4 – 28/5 6/5, 16:00 50 7/5, 02:00 – 04:45 Fair
Southern δ-Aquariids 12/7 – 23/8 30/7 25 30/7, 21:00 – 31/7 05:00 Favourable
Perseids 17/7 - 24/8 13/8 100 Poor
Orionids 2/10 - 7/11 21/10 20 21/10, 22:30 – 22/10, 04:00 Favourable
Leonids 6/11 - 30/11 18/11, 07:00 10 19/11, 00:00 – 02:00 Unfavourable
Geminids 4/12 - 17/12 14/12, 21:00 150 14/12, 19:30 – 23:00 Unfavourable

Source of data: International Meteor Organization

* Local Observation Condition is divided into five levels, which are "Poor", "Unfavourable", "Fair", "Favourable" and "Excellent". The observation condition is mainly affected by moonlight and the position of radiant:

Moonlight: Bright moonlight can obscure the relatively dim meteors. Since the number of faint meteors is much larger than that of the bright ones during a meteor shower event, the observation condition will become more unfavourable when the peak is closer to the day of the full moon.

Position of radiant: Radiant refers to the point in the sky where the meteors appear to originate, but it is not necessary for the meteors to start appearing from that point. When the radiant is near the horizon, many meteors will appear below the horizon where we cannot see. When the radiant rises to a higher position, we will be more likely to see the meteors that share the same origin and appear in any direction. Just like sunrise and sunset, the position of the radiant depends on the Earth's rotation. The radiant of some meteor shower events cannot reach the zenith at night, making it less favourable for observation.

Web Content Display Web Content Display

网络内容顯示 网络内容顯示

网络内容顯示 网络内容顯示

圖片提供 NASA

太陽系內除了有行星、矮行星、衞星、小行星和彗星等大型天體外,還充滿著數之不盡的流星體和塵埃,當它們高速闖進地球的大氣層時,會將空氣分子加熱並使其發出肉眼可見的光芒,成為我們所見的流星。每天都有為數不少的流星體闖進地球,但絕大部份皆十分暗淡,只有在漆黑的地方才有機會看到它們。

現有的科技仍然無法偵察流星體,因此觀測流星一般也只能靠運氣。平日在夜空出現的流星並無規律可言,所以稱之為「偶發流星」。然而,一年之中有某些固定日子的流星數量總是較多,出現時更呈現一定規律,於是我們以「流星雨」命名這種重覆出現的流星現象。

流星雨之所以出現,是因為地球碰上了彗星(亦有些流星雨的母體是彗星以外的小天體)在太陽系中留下的流星體。彗星主要由冰塊構成,它們會在太陽系中週期性地快速穿梭,當接近太陽時,太陽的熱輻射會令它們的表面物質脫落,將大量流星體殘留在它們的軌道上,於是在太陽系內就出現了多個流星群。當地球在太空中經過某一個流星群時,大量流星體落入地球的大氣層,形成流星雨。由於這些流星體和其母體彗星有大致相同的軌道,當它們進入地球時,就會由天空中一個被稱為「輻射點」的位置散射出多顆流星。不同的流星雨現象都有不同的母體彗星(亦有些彗星可以創造兩個流星雨現象),而流星雨是根據輻射點所在的星座位置命名,例如當輻射點位於英仙座時,我們就將該流星雨稱為英仙座流星雨。

流星雨的流星數量和其母體彗星在軌道上留下的流星體數量有關,雖然彗星於每次回歸時都會補充新的流星體,但彗星有不同壽命,加上流星群會受太陽系中其他行星(特別是木星)作出不同程度的干擾,令我們難以準確預測地球會經過怎樣的一個流星群。天文學家經多年的觀測,大致掌握了一些主要流星群的特性,因此也可大致作出一些預測,例如歷史上有數次獅子座流星雨爆發都剛好相隔約33年,包括在1833年11月、1966年11月及1998年11月(亦包括1999年及2001年)等,原來這跟其母體彗星「坦普爾-塔特爾」的33年公轉週期相關,因此相信在2032年左右將有機會再次出現大規模的獅子座流星雨,但其他年份的流星數量則相當稀少。

天文學家在描述流星雨的「雨量」時,會以「天頂每小時出現率」表達,這是假設一名觀測者在極黑及毫無遮擋的天空下,並當流星雨輻射點位於天頂位置時,所能見到流星數目的一小時外推數。由於部份流星雨的高峰期十分短,觀測者有時會將十數分鐘所觀測到的流星數量按百分比外推成一小時的流星數。因此,天頂每小時出現率的數值並不能視作一小時內實際可見的流星數,但卻可以有意義地比較不同流星雨之間的「雨量」。例如,每年有三個比較主要的流星雨現象,分別是象限儀座流星雨、英仙座流星雨及雙子座流星雨,它們的最高天頂每小時出現率大約為100左右。部份「雨量」較低的流星雨,其最高天頂每小時出現率則只有個位數字。

 

 

流星群 活躍期
日/月 - 日/月
高峰期
(香港時間)
日/月
天頂每小時出現率 建議觀測時段 本地觀測條件
象限儀座流星雨 28/12 - 12/1 4/1, 11:40 110 4/1, 03:30 – 06:00 普通#
天琴座流星雨 14/4 - 30/4 23/4, 09:00 18 22/4, 22:00 – 23/4, 05:00 極佳
寶瓶座η流星雨 19/4 – 28/5 6/5 50 -- 惡劣#
寶瓶座δ南流星雨 12/7 – 23/8 30/7 25 30/7, 02:00 – 05:00 較差#
英仙座流星雨 17/7 - 24/8 13/8, 15:00 – 22:00 100 13/8, 22:00 – 14/8, 05:00 良好#
獵戶座流星雨 2/10 - 7/11 22/10 20 21/10, 23:00 – 22/10, 05:30 極佳
獅子座流星雨 6/11 - 30/11 18/11, 13:00 10 18/11, 01:00 – 05:30 極佳
雙子座流星雨 4/12 - 20/12 15/12, 03:00 150 14/12, 20:30 – 15/12, 06:00 極佳

資料參考:國際流星組織

*本地觀測條件是以月光於高峰期的影響及輻射點高度是否有利於香港作評估,共分為「極佳」、「良好」、「普通」、「較差」及「惡劣」五級。

月光:明亮的月光會蓋過相對暗淡的流星,但在一次流星雨事件中,暗淡流星的數量遠遠多於明亮流星,因此當流星雨高峰期愈接近滿月的日子時,觀測條件就會愈差。

輻射點位置:輻射點是流星從天空中向外散射的發源處,但流星卻未必由輻射點區域開始出現。當輻射點靠近地平線時,相當數量的流星皆出現在地平線之下,令我們無法看見。只有當輻射點愈高,我們才愈有機會看到出現在四面八方,但源頭相同的流星。輻射點的高度受地球自轉(跟日出日落原理相同)及觀測者地理位置影響部份流星雨的輻射點不能升到空中較高的位置,包括適宜在更高緯度地區欣賞的象限儀座流星雨及英仙座流星雨,因此這些流星雨的觀測條件最多亦只能達至「良好」級別(這類流星雨以#表示)。然而,高ZHR數值的「良好」或「普通」流星雨比低ZHR數值的「極佳」流星雨更為值得觀測。

网络内容顯示 网络内容顯示