Skip To Content
 
 

C/2012 S1 Comet ISON

Updates

During the passage to the perihelion on November 28, the comet broke up under the immense heat and tidal force from the Sun. Although the leftovers had once brightened up, it faded finally and did not live up to people's expectation as a great comet. Nonetheless, the comet had shed new light on the inner workings of this mysterious celestial body.

C/2012 S1 Comet ISON

 

C/2012 S1, also called Comet ISON, was discovered on 21 September 2012 by a telescope of the International Scientific Optical Network. It was found at a distance outside the orbit of Jupiter with a star magnitude of about 18.8. Astronomers predicted that it will pass the perihelion on 28 November 2013 (UT), skimming the Sun's surface at a mere distance of 1.2 million kilometres (about 2.7 solar radii). The initial estimation of the star magnitude of the comet at perihelion given by The Minor Planet Center of the International Astronomical Union is a jaw-dropping -14, surpassing that of the full moon (magnitude -12.8). A comet of such brightness is very rare. Therefore, Comet ISON has once been hailed the "Comet of the Century".

However, the brightness of Comet ISON increased less quickly than expected. According to the latest prediction, it will be brightest around perihelion at a star magnitude of around -4 to -6. Although the comet will be brighter than any star in the sky by then, it is too close to the Sun and can hardly be seen unless an extremely long and bright comet tail appears.
Comet ISON can only be seen before sunrise. This image shows the position of the comet in the sky near perihelion.

Position of the comet 45 minute before sunrise (green line)
Image: Position of the comet 45 minute before sunrise from 16 November to 10 December (green line).

Position of the comet at sunrise (green line)
Image: Position of the comet at sunrise from 26 November to 2 December (green line).

Comet ISON is at its brightest around 28 or 29 November. But as it is too close to the Sun, do NOT try to observe the comet nucleus at this time. Otherwise, the observer's eyes will be damaged by the intense sun glare. A bright comet tail may appear when the comet is near perihelion. Interested parties may visit the following Facebook Fan Pages to get the latest status of the comet:

Facebook page of the Comet ISON
https://www.facebook.com/ISON.hk

Facebook page of the Space Museum
https://www.facebook.com/hkspacem

跳至主要内容
 
 

C/2012 S1 光科网彗星

最新消息

彗星于11月28日通过近日点时,因抵受不住太阳的高温及潮汐力而分解。虽然解体后的物质曾一度发亮,但最终回复暗淡,始终未能成为众人期盼的世纪大彗星。但这颗彗星的出现,肯定能令天文学家对这种神秘的天体有更深的认识。

C/2012 S1 光科网彗星

 

C/2012 S1 光科网彗星是透过国际科学光学监测网 (International Scientific Optical Network)的望远镜于2012年9月21日所发现的,当时它位于木星的轨道以外,视星等为18.8等。天文学家预测它将在2013年11月29日通 过近日点,届时和太阳的距离将会非常接近,离太阳表面只有约120万公里(约2.7个太阳半径)。国际天文联会的小行星中心初时估计它于近日点时的亮度可 达到 -14等,亦即比满月(-12.8等)更为明亮!这种亮度等级的彗星难得一见,因此光科网彗星更被称之为「世纪彗星」。

可是,光科网彗星的亮度增幅比预期中慢,令其通过近日点时的光度只能达到-4至-6等左右。虽然这时彗星比天上任何的星星都还要光,但由于它和太阳非常接近,除非出现一条长长而且明亮的彗尾,否则难以看见。

需要于日出前才能观察光科网彗星,下图显示光科网彗星在近日点前后的位置:

彗星于日出前45分钟的位置(绿色线)
图:由11月16日至12月10日,彗星于日出前45分钟的位置(绿色线)。

彗星于日出时的位置(绿色线)
图:由11月26日至12月2日,彗星于日出时的位置(绿色线)。

虽然彗核在11月28、29日的光亮最高,但由于极之接近太阳,因此切勿于此时直接观察彗核,否则太阳的强光会严重伤害观测者的眼睛。彗星在近日点附近时可能会出现一条明亮的彗尾,有兴趣观测彗星的市民可到以下Facebook专页留意最新情况:

光科网彗星「Facebook」专页:
https://www.facebook.com/ISON.hk

太空馆「Facebook」专页:
https://www.facebook.com/hkspacem